We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were in St Albans for a friends birthday. The hotel was comfortable and convenient. The room was lovely and clean and the bed very comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and pleasant. Would definately stay again in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    221
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
118
220
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I spent a night at this centrally located hotel and found it well appointed with a comfortable bedroom, good breakfast and pleasant staff. The hotel is in an interesting refurbished Edwardian house that belonged to Samuel Ryder, a seedsman who used his fortune to found the Ryder Cup. One slight niggle, unfortunately common in all sorts of hotels, the handbasin drained away despite being plugged, which was nuisance for basic ablutions. But fine in all other respects.

Room Tip: Holywell Hill gets very busy with lengthy tailbacks, so a room at the front of the hotel might not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed here with my family after arriving in UK from oversees. The staff are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. Small but clean and well equipped room. The breakfast service is excellent value for money with staff more than happy to oblige every wish. There is no dinner service, but the hotel has a room service arrangement with Cafe Rouge next door. Although free, parking is a problem as there are only about 8 spaces next to the hotel. Fortunately, there is an over flow car park half a mile away, but it takes time if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: We were in room 325. It's small but adequate, facing a courtyard of maisonettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

well it looked a nice hotel, when i arrived 23rd March at 8pm after a 4 hour drive from manchester I couldn't find anywhere to park.

I thought I would get a warm reply and directions, unfortunately no I was met with a very huffy, rude, irritated receptionist who seemed to think it was some sort of idiot for not knowing there was not a car park any where nearby.

I appreciate now this is an old town with narrow roads and not every hotel has a car park directly outside. I called when i was near and was directed down a long dimly lit one road st round the back , no signage to say anyway along it. Accidentally parked in a residents space and had to move, and even after another phone call it still was not clear. Eventually I found some signs that said 'customer parking only' but for what business , no name of the hotel. I had to google the sort of curly red logo that was on the sign and matched it to the clarion logo on their website ! no explanation of this by the rude, ignorant receptionist.

I was made to look like a fool and an imbecile for not understanding their parking procedures and allocation turns out there were 3 bays dotted around and back of this hotel - she was hopeless at explaining , no signage outside and awful staff.

Inside the hotel the signage problems carried on, no signs where reception is ??? what is going on here !

simple rule of being a hotelier - be courteous to customers - we are paying , and put plenty of signs up

never again - sack the receptionist she needs to go !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckymonkeymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a 1 night break on Saturday 22nd, as we spent our wedding anniversary in St Albans. The check in process was simple, and we found the car park without any problems at all, essentially just round the back. The room was very pleasant and clean, and the bed very comfortable. We had a lovely night out in St Albans and returned to the hotel bar for a couple of drinks before settling down for the night ; reasonable prices and nice ambience. I would recommend this hotel and it is extremely convenient for all the shops, bars and restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieBoySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max41
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is good. On arriving 4 hours early than check in time to enquire about how the free parking system worked at that hotel,we were immediately asked if we'd like to check in there and then as our room was ready. The staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried, receptionist running off at one stage to get my husband a glass of water as he coughed a little. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the decor is fabulous. Rooms were comfortable, clean and again decor was good. A great hotel at a great price. If ever in St Albans again I would go straight to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel45ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for two nights last weekend in the lovely st albans and this hotel did not disappoint. Reception staff were friendly and efficient . Room was clean, quiet and the bed so comfortable with lovely thick mattress cover. Decor lovely throughout any lovely ambience. Breakfast staff were so cheerfull and friendly. Decaffeinated coffee was fab and breakfast in general was of good quality and plenty of choice. If there was one small moan it would be that we were not informed of a choice of eggs but the scrambled egg from the buffet was perfect and I loved the mushrooms. The hotel is right on the edge of the town centre so is perfectly placed for a 2 minute stroll to the main shops. Well done clarion, it is rare to find a hotel that's perfect !

Room Tip: Think they are probably all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tristy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
538 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
572 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing