We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff make this hotel a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic staff make this hotel a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I try and stay at the Clarion as often as possible when I travel for work, but make sure you book early as this is one of the most popular hotels in St Albans!

The rooms are lovely and the breakfast is really tasty, but the one thing that brings me back time after time is the staff. The staff at the Clarion are always friendly and I genuinely look forward to checking in. They cannot do enough to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are an absolute credit to the hotel.

I would definitely recommend you stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I am pleased to read that you are genuinely pleased with the high level of service that out staff offer and that they are continually offering the same high standard on a regular basis.

Ensuring that we make our guest stay as comfortable as possible is our main objective and I thank you for making Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans your hotel of choice when you are working in St Albans.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    205
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
108
198
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great service with all the staff and many laughs with the 3 ladies that are at check in in the evenings!

Book early as it does get booked very quickly.

Location is great and prices are good with a car park in the centre which is rare!!

Keep it up!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel and our Staff.

I am pleased that our reception team offer great service and you enjoyed your stay.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in Clarion Collection for almost a week, and we liked it so much, we didn't want to leave. The staff was very friendly, personable, and helpful. They all want to do their best, which really makes a difference! Location is fantastic and our room was very quiet and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

I am glad that we could make you stay more comfortable and that you didn't want to leave.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at this property for two nights over the 04 and 05 April with my partner whilst visiting friends in St Albans.
I was extremely impressed with the hotels standard, service and the rooms where extremely well appointed and you could tell that they've made significant investment throughout the hotel.
I usually would overlook Clarion / Quality / Comfort Hotels purely on previous experience but St Albans is certainly the exception. The rooms certainly rival those hotels of similar grading are as equally modeled on hotels of a higher grading.
We also received a favorable rate for both nights that we stayed, although it was room only it still offered good value.
I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciated our recent refurbishment which was completed Oct 2013.

I hope the high level of service you received from all the staff at Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans will change you view on the Choice Hotels brands

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were in St Albans for a friends birthday. The hotel was comfortable and convenient. The room was lovely and clean and the bed very comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and pleasant. Would definately stay again in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I spent a night at this centrally located hotel and found it well appointed with a comfortable bedroom, good breakfast and pleasant staff. The hotel is in an interesting refurbished Edwardian house that belonged to Samuel Ryder, a seedsman who used his fortune to found the Ryder Cup. One slight niggle, unfortunately common in all sorts of hotels, the handbasin drained away despite being plugged, which was nuisance for basic ablutions. But fine in all other respects.

Room Tip: Holywell Hill gets very busy with lengthy tailbacks, so a room at the front of the hotel might not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed here with my family after arriving in UK from oversees. The staff are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. Small but clean and well equipped room. The breakfast service is excellent value for money with staff more than happy to oblige every wish. There is no dinner service, but the hotel has a room service arrangement with Cafe Rouge next door. Although free, parking is a problem as there are only about 8 spaces next to the hotel. Fortunately, there is an over flow car park half a mile away, but it takes time if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: We were in room 325. It's small but adequate, facing a courtyard of maisonettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing