We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary rooms.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a professionally well run, clean, well equipped and comfortable hotel right in the middle of St Albans with, rarely for the town, free parking. The staff are all friendly, welcoming, efficient and helpful. The rooms are good, standard commercial rooms and are clearly well maintained. The only downside, if there is one, is that the all but £10.00 breakfast is vastly overpriced for what is on offer. On the other hand, meals at the next-door Cafe Rouge are, as you would expect from the chain, good value. There are plenty of cafes and other places to have breakfast in the centre and nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park at rear. All the rooms are reasonably quiet, the ones at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you received high customer service as our team work hard to ensure they offer excellent customer service and high standards are delivered to each guest.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we only use locally sourced items for our cooked breakfast cooked fresh each morning. I am sorry you felt the price was high and we have widened the choices available to provide what we believe is good value for the price charged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We couldn't fault this hotel for our overnight stay for a wedding yesterday. All the staff were pleasant and helpful and made for a very enjoyable stay. The location for town and cathedral is excellent, breakfast was varied and regularly replenished-would definitely recommend !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison23lufbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay. The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and I am pleased it was suitable for your needs whilst you were visiting, and hope you enjoyed the wedding!. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel on when you next return to St Albans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a business meeting here for people from around the country and couldn't have been happier. We chose it mainly because it was inexpensive, but were pleasantly surprised to find lovely rooms, all immaculate, good meeting facilities, a very good breakfast and excellent staff everywhere, especially in reception.
We went to the Cafe Rouge next door for dinner and were very well looked after there too.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you received high customer service
and were happy with our facilities for business meetings.
Our team work hard to ensure they offer excellent customer service and high standards are delivered to each guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stay at Clarion once / twice per month, overall my experience when I arrive from the reception team (especially Julia) is warming and friendly. They are efficient and helpful always making you feel at home. The location furthermore is spot on surrounding by lovely restaurants and chill pubs.

Room Tip: not near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay. The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and I am pleased it was suitable for you needs whilst you were visiting. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel on when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I visited here in mid 2013 on business and I came back in 2014 with my wife to enjoy the city. St Albans is full of history, great pubs, lots of places to eat, qauint shopping and lots of community events. We landed during the Pilgrims weekend, the folk festival and during the thriving market. The hotel is comfortable , clean and set in the heart of the city. Everything that you need to do in the City is only a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is very popular and breakfast was busy but the great and genuine customer service always found the way around every challenge . If you are staying in St Albans this hotel is the must stay hotel.

Room Tip: Second and third floor give good views from most rooms and allow you to open the windows with securi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for kind review.

Our team aim to provide exceptional customer service to all our guests and I am happy to read that you enjoyed ‘genuine customer service’ on your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Clarion Collection Hotel on your next visit to St. Albans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location for visitors to St. Albans. It is walking distance to restaurants, shops, the train into London, buses, and all the historical sites including the various Roman ruins and museum, the park, the cathedral and the three other historical churches, the clock tower, theatres and the oldest pub in England!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay.

The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and I am pleased it was suitable for you needs whilst you were visiting.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel on when you next return to St Albans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have stayed at the Clarion St Albans on numerous occasions for both business and pleasure. The Hotel has one of the best locations for the town in the area, being just opposite the cathedral and Verulamium Park and just a short walk to the shops and myriad of restaurants that St Albans has to offer.
All the rooms are clean, well-appointed and to a good level of decoration, my preference is for an even numbered room on the 2nd floor, as the views are generally nicer. The recent refurbishment of the reception area and bar has really improved the whole experience of staying at this hotel. All the staff are lovely and I always feel welcome when staying there. The breakfast is very nice, with a good selection of hot and cold items buffet style but with items such as eggs cooked freshly .
The hotel does not do its own evening meals but has a relationship with Café Rouge next door if you would like room service. However, St Albans has such a wide selection of restaurants all within easy walking distance that you are spoiled for choice on where to eat.
The only minor gripe is the parking, which is spread around the neighbourhood in 3 separate car parks. There is no shortage of it but it is a little confusing the first few times of visiting.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on the 2nd floor have the best view though can get a bit hot in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del8845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you received high customer service as our team work hard to ensure they offer excellent customer service and high standards are delivered to each guest.

We are here to cater for you needs and any special requirements you have we will endeavour to meet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
550 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
582 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
7.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing