We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for business travel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 for one night on business. First downside is I found parking an issue and had to park quite a while away in a pay and display as I could not see a car park from the front. The walk was not too bad however but could be with lots of luggage. The reception areas and bars are well presented. Rooms are very clean, of a good size and quiet. Breakfast was very good, staff are friendly. No issues if I needed to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wokingjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay. The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and I am pleased it was suitable for your needs whilst you were visiting.

Please do contact us regarding parking before your next visit, as we have three car parks (which are free for guests to use during their stay), the furthest of which is only a few minutes' walk away. The car can be parked at the side of the hotel to drop off luggage before you drive to the car park if this would be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel on when you next return to St Albans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    214
    55
    15
    6
See reviews for
111
208
23
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is lovely ... Great building ,very friendly staff and a fab breakfast . My room was of a good size and had everything you would want .The night I stayed was a very warm muggy night ....the room had a fan and as I was on the 2nd floor , I was able to leave my windows open which helped keep the room cool . The location was fab for what I needed and I would definately book the hotel again .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay. The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and I am pleased it was suitable for your needs whilst you were visiting. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel on when you next return to St Albans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Summary

Good Location, Good Rooms, Good Service.

Positives

Reception staff all friendly
Good Wi-fi connection
Clean rooms with decent TV and large double beds
Great location to walk into nearby shops and restaurants
Added benefit is the parking for guests.

Negatives

Only issue is no air conditioning in the rooms

Room Tip: make sure sure are on the first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you received high customer service as our team work hard to ensure they offer excellent customer service and high standards are delivered to each guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked the Clarion because of its very close proximity to the centre. This was a 'historical / cultural' break, concentrating on the Cathedral, the roman ruins and museum. Given it is in the centre of town, the Clarion has a number of car parks. The one I was directed to was very easy to find, relatively secure and close to the hotel. So no issues there. Our room was on the south side of the hotel, adjacent to the very busy road and hill leading up to the town centre. There is a pedestrian crossing just outside the front of the hotel. This means that on a busy Friday evening the crossing alarms can be heard going off at regular intervals. That said, our double room was very comfortable, especially the bed and linen. The shower was extremely effective. We did not actually book a breakfast rate or use the cocktail bar as there is so much choice available elsewhere on the hotel's doorstep. A very minor hiccup: we did not get a paper delivered on the Saturday morning, but when this was pointed out, the staff quickly apologised and we were not billed for it in any event. Again not a drama or issue.

Room Tip: Probably better to get a odd numbered room, so north side, which may prove quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarcat158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay. The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and I am pleased it was suitable for your needs whilst you were visiting. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel on when you next return to St Albans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very friendly and attentive staff, comfortable and clean rooms, breakfast excellent and good choice many restaurants within easy walking distance, in view of the cathedral, the car park can be difficult with not too many spaces and tight to manoeuvre, the cocktail bar is bright and comfortable air conditioned with a good drinks choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you received high customer service as our team work hard to ensure they offer excellent customer service and high standards are delivered to each guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The good bits: Stayed for 4 nights over the weekend, very close to bustling city centre, but surprisingly quiet room at back of Hotel (314) which was a good size with shed loads of storage. The bathroom was spotless, and there's lashings of water from both the shower and the basin, with very nice hand wash gels and the like provided. The staff in all departments were extremely friendly, courteous, and efficient, and the cleaners deserve special praise as they did an excellent job of returning the room to pristine condition each morning. Easy walk up the hill for all local eateries and the Cathedral is a must see no matter how long you stay. Parking is very limited, but we were lucky and always found somewhere on the site to leave the banger (although there is a local arrangement with a space a short walk away if you're not so fortunate) staff were happy for me to slot my car into any

The not so good bits: no plug in basin, eventually replaced, but wouldn't hold water, and neither would the bath. The heat on the top floor was almost unbearable, and the bathroom was like a sauna. I couldn't figure this out at all as the ground floor seemed ok??. what made this worse was the room has no aircon; and when I mentioned the oppressive heat to reception they very quickly asked if there was a fan in the wardrobe; suspect they knew this to be an issue, but why not have it fixed?? Could have done with a small fridge in the room to keep the water / milk cold (my wife hates the UHT stuff they give you) Black mould round the edges of the window frames, and condensation inside the double glazed panes. TV remote was worse than useless at times refusing to work even from the bed right in front of it. Breakfast was so so, with cool dry bacon, watery eggs, drying out beans, and what tasted like microwaved mushrooms, sausages were fab though!! (we tried it on the first morning and subsequently went to JK's sandwich shop, up to lights on hill and turn left, 50 yards on the left. great hot food, full English or breakfast baps etc, lovely courteous capable staff, and good VFM..) If the breeze was in the wrong direction you can't open the windows in 314 without a nose full of cooking smells from the adjacent Café Rouge extractor.

And finally; when will hotels realise they need to have more consideration for smokers which my wife and I are? No outside shelter which really gets up my nose.... how different could it be if they thought a bit more, and even put up a nice little canopy or suchlike just outside somewhere. I consider this to be some what inconsiderate, unlike other hotels I use regularly which are supposedly in the "budget" category, and have clearly thought about these things...

All in all this is not a bad place, but there are some "rough edges" I really didn't expect for the price and the star rating. I guess the issues appear to be very much "first world problems" but having stayed in some extremely good hotels, one is always in danger of comparison and unfortunately Clarion collection simply didn't measure up on enough fronts to encourage me to stay there in future without some significant improvements.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 314 unless you like it unfeasibly hot, with a sauna instead of a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback on your recent stay.

I am happy to read that you received high customer service as our team work hard to ensure they
offer excellent customer service and high standards are delivered to each guest.

Normally all snagging issues are resolved on the day before guests check in, I am sorry on this occasion this was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed one night here and it was so convenient to just walk out of the door to explore the Abbey, Roman ruins and the town itself. St. Albans is a thriving town, quite busy, but has some wonderful cafes and restaurants. Checkin and checkout was quick and receptionist very pleasant. Bedroom was very well appointed, beautiful bathroom with good water pressure in the shower. Also nice to be able to make a cuppa if desired. Lookout from the bedroom was not too good and it was a little warm, but we used the fan which was in the closet. We were not bothered with any road noise. This is a historic building and taking that into consideration, there were no down sides to our visit. Also enjoyed the conviviality in the bar, but didn't stay for breakfast - had that at the PeaHen up the street. St. Albans deserves more than one night's stay and we will remember that when we reserve here again.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room for cooler comfort, or higher room for less noise, but it will be warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggs192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay. The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and I am pleased it was suitable for your needs whilst you were visiting. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel on when you next return to St Albans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing