We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I together with our younger son and his partner stayed at this hotel on the night of 9th August 2014. The reception staff were very helpful and couldn't have been more obliging.
The room for my wife and me was clean and comfortable but we would have preferred a larger one. All the expected soaps/shampoos and good quality towels were provided.
Car parking was a bit of a problem. There was limited space at the hotel and the exit was partially blocked by a 4x4 during our entire stay. My son was on crutches and when he arrived no parking spaces at the hotel were available. His car had to be parked some 400 yards from the hotel.
Breakfast was good with good range of options available. Overall pleasant stay and very reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Our team are here to ensure you have a comfortable stay and we are always happy to offer any additional help you may require. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and offering your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    205
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
108
197
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at the Clarion Collection in St Albans for a business trip and if I go back to this part of the world, I will stay there again.

The staff were fantastic, the breakfast EXCELLENT and my room was spotless. I had a very comfortable stay which represented excellent value for money.

My only niggle was the parking. There was a *very* small car park at the hotel which was difficult to manoeuvre into. There is an over flow car park but as a lone female in an unfamiliar town, I ended up doing a painfully slow and embarrassing 27 point turn to get into the only remaining space rather than doing the 5 minute walk on my own.

Overall a very positive experience! I'd recommend this place to any potential business travellers and if I go to this part of the world for fun, I would spent my own money on a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skunkerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Our team are here to ensure you have a comfortable stay and we are always happy to offer any additional help you may require. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and offering your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent hotel, so quiet and relaxing for a city break, with staff so professional and helpful. A short walk into the shops with the cathedral just opposite. St Albans is a fantastic place to visit with a lot of history and a dirct train service into the heart of London.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saundersfoot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent stay. I am pleased it was suitable for your needs whilst you were visiting.

The Hotel has an excellent location within the St Albans City Centre and we are also within close proximity or easy reach of a variety of attractions as well as London.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel when you next return to St Albans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and certainly would agree it's a perfect choice for visiting St Albans. The reception staff were amazing, so friendly and welcoming with clear instructions regarding the parking. Yes it's a little walk to the car park but for a city centre hotel it's incredible to get free parking so who's complaining. The room was ready for us even though we arrived early, it was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. As it was a warm night I suppose air conditioning would have aided restful sleep but despite this we were fine with the thoughtful free standing fan located in the wardrobe. We didn't open the windows which might have helped air flow but being in the centre of St Albans we were concerned about noise; neither of us heard street sounds in the night, a very good sleep on a comfortable bed. Breakfast was efficient and served by one of the helpful reception staff, we enjoyed the buffet and thought the "eggs cooked to order" a nice touch. It was good value and all of us would use this hotel again if visiting St Albans.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Cafe Rouge adjacent to the hotel and had no problems with street noise in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you were pleased with our facilities and service.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we only use locally sourced items for our cooked breakfast, cooked fresh each morning. Thank you for commenting on how you enjoyed your breakfast and your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed 8 nights at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans and had a splendid time. Staff were always--at any time of day or night--available and courteous, and the building is clean and welcoming. The bar area and lounge is a great place to sit, drinks at the bar are reasonably priced, and the "full English" (breakfast) is great. We loved our room, which was spacious and provided everything we could have expected, and you can't--CAN'T--ask for a better location than right in the heart of St Albans. Highly recommended! Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you were pleased with our facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here on business as I was working in St Albans for a fortnight. I had been in a couple of different hotels in st albans in my first week and had pretty poor experiences with both of them. I booked the clarion collection for a change and was glad that I did. It was just what I wanted in a hotel - modern, clean, friendly staff and excellent location. It's very reasonably priced for the quality. I met two receptionists who were both great and made time for me when I needed anything. The room service from cafe rouge was also excellent. There were no extra fees to have it delivered to your room which is often the case in hotels. I ordered almost every night and the food was at my door within 30 minutes. If I am ever in the St Albans area again I wouldn't hesistate to book here again. Lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hm289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you received great customer service as our team work hard to ensure they offer excellent customer service and that high standards are delivered to each guest.

We are here to cater for you needs and any special requirements you have we will endeavour to meet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Extremely pleasant hotel, very professional and the staff are very efficient. Room quality was superb. My only grumble was there is no air con in the room, and given the recent temperatures made it very uncomfortable sleeping at night. Other than that this hotel is fantastic, and located in a fantastic area. The facilities are fantastic, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely positive, I am happy to read that you were pleased with our facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing