We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wedding To Remember”
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wedding To Remember”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our son has already posted a review on his wedding experience at this fantastic hotel. We can only reiterate everything he has written.
We first attended a wedding reception at The Ardmore House Hotel 5 years ago and were so impressed by the venue, the exceptional food and friendly staff that when our son announced his forthcoming wedding we immediately thought of Ardmore House Hotel. It was everything we could have wished for, for such an important occasion. This is such an intimate hotel in a lovely setting close to the town centre of St Albans with pretty gardens. The reception room looked stunning in gold and cream with tables immaculately set - the food was exceptional with so many guests commenting on the quality and quantity and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendlier. We would highly recommend anyone getting married in the future to consider Ardmore House Hotel - we know they wont be disappointed and will be left with memories of a wonderful day at this little gem of a hotel. Our biggest thanks to all the staff who made our son's wedding day so very special and unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    186
    80
    39
    25
See reviews for
146
150
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We attended a wedding here a week ago and just loved the gardens! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were to fantastic, clean and very pretty. The food was perfect, I asked for no sauce with my steak and they where happy to help. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Another short but good stay at the Ardmore. Best st Albans hotel by far. Plenty of parking, warm welcome and comfortable rooms. Perfect for local area or London. Bit warm but its not Wales!

If you cant face London traffic then use train 10 mins walk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Murch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We attended a wedding at this hotel and what a beautiful gem it is. The gardens are gorgeous, the food tasty and the staff -friendly and funny. I know the bride and groom were really pleased with the service they received. What a find!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_W825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Recently had a wedding reception at this hotel. Everything seemed to be too much trouble. They really spoilt my special day, all of my guests were complaining. The staff were grumpy and snapping at the guests, there was no champagne, flowers or even a Snickers in our room! Because the hotel were tight and wouldn't pay out for more staff- my guests were late for the ceremony, i could go on and on but i just wish I could turn back time...

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarissacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This will be the easiest review that I have ever had to write as The Ardmore House Hotel was the venue for our amazing wedding. From the start we felt attached to this beautiful hotel by the owners and their attentive, friendly and helpful staff. It is like one big family here and if you ever want to stay in a hotel where you feel immediately at ease then this the place for you. Apart from a hotel and just a place to stay this is the place where we had no hesitation in booking for our wedding. The beautiful grounds and the recently refurbished bridal suite were just scratching the surface. The food is second to none in St Albans with a chef that has graced the kitchens of the finest restaurants in St Albans.

Our wedding ran as smoothly as you could imagine with everything going to plan from the day we first visited the hotel to the morning we left the hotel. In fact even though we knew it would be wonderful it exceeded our expectations. So many of our guests commented that the food was the best they had ever had at a wedding and it was one of the many reasons we chose this fabulous hotel.

We had seen several hotels in the area and The Ardmore was the only choice for us as we felt it was going to offer the full wedding experience for us and all of our guests and they didn't let us down. How this hotel is not number 1 for hotels in St Albans is a surprise to me as it is without doubt the finest in St Albans.

You can also dine here any evening and would be the perfect venue for any function. We will be back whenever we want to eat out in style. The best food you will find anywhere in St Albans and value for money is remarkable.

I don't really have any more that I can add. Just a faultless experience and I couldn't recommend a place any higher.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olly333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night late August. The room was comfortable and scrupulously clean. The only minor issue was that the hotel backs on to the railway. Whilst well sheltered by trees, the brief noise of passing trains could be heard. On a hot evening with the window open this could disturb some guests. However, we were not unduly concerned.

As it was Sunday, the restaurant was closed but we discovered a superb Italian restaurant within easy walking distance.

Breakfast was magnificent. The Ardmore Full English was excellent. There was more than adequate choice for anyone wanting a light, continental breakfast.

In conclusion, we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and, if staying in St Albans, it would be our first choice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canals56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,228 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.1 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
572 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St Albans AL1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing