We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food and service is really first class. Lots to see and do in St Albans. Thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good quality and service at a great price.

Room Tip: Ground floor luxury suite. Beautiful accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    178
    68
    36
    20
See reviews for
135
135
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed one night in this friendly hotel and had a pleasant room overlooking the garden. The room was a reasonable size with attractive bed cover and curtains. We especially enjoyed the pretty garden which has a pond with Koi carp in it. The lawns were well kept and pretty hanging baskets were everywhere.
We chose to dine in the hotel and liked the Italian food - the food being well cooked and attractively presented.
We slept well with good plump pillows and quiet night in spite of being near the railway line.
Nice breakfast too.
The staff are brilliant and I haven't enjoyed such good service for a long time. Many thanks for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tametiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed a week and enjoyed everything about it. Well there was a wedding that was somewhat loud. Mostly noise coming from people standing outside chatting. Management did have it end by midnight so not too late. You do need to be able to haul your suitcases upstairs, but I suppose they have lower level rooms. I enjoy the house atmosphere and the efforts they make to keep it a somewhat professional atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackTennyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Chose this for my daughters wedding and all I can say is ......
Excellent!! Value for money,food and a bar that didn't rob you !made to feel so special and Joe keep doing what you're doing. Probably one of the best hotels in St Alban

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I needed a hotel for the night before and after an all day event in the beautiful cathedral of St Albans and this proved to be just the job! From the friendly greeting on my very late arrival on night one I found everything to my liking. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and I felt very much at home there. True the room was "cosy" which means small, but it was very clean and extremely comfortable with all I could need, including tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities and toiletries. I was in one of the annexes, (a converted house) just a short walk from the main building where breakfast was served. This was of excellent quality, freshly cooked to order with a cold buffet spread as well. The in house Italian restaurant served food, to the same high standard and offered a special two course package for residents - £14.95 - with large choice - brilliant - there are also bar snacks available which looked appetising. The in house red wine was of very good quality for £15 and the whole package was excellent value for money. The restaurant is to be congratulated and is highly recommended. There is a large car park (not easy to spot the entrance in the dark though), a very pleasant Italian style garden with pond, and all the buildings beautifully festooned with brilliant hanging baskets at this time of year - all very pretty. I would recommend this hotel for any one who needs a base in St Albans - very good value for money all round. They also do wedding receptions - a nice venue for those I thought.

Room Tip: rooms in annexes may be quieter when wedding or other receptions are going on in main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorStoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and can honestly say I had the best sleep ever in a hotel. The twin room we had was a bit on the small side but very well furnished and high quality particularly the pillows which were deep and fluffy - immaculately clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast and reasonably priced bar menu. A more expensive option available in their on site Italian restaurant. Would recommend

Room Tip: Room 21 a bit small - ask for a bigger room if a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel offered a first rate service, the grilled full English breakfasts were delicious and attractively served. The room was exceptionally clean and well serviced. The manager in particular was very friendly and helpful, but all the staff were approachable and professional.
Parking is ample and the grounds, hanging baskets etc all reflect attention to detail. We shall use this hotel again without doubt.

Room Tip: All have double glazing, so noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georginamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St Albans AL1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing