We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
rawcliffe
2 reviews
“Wonderful Family Break”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Fabulous 3 night stay at the Ardmore House Hotel, from a very warm welcome from the friendly staff to the cleanliness of the room and hotel everything was first class. The breakfasts were excellent as were the meals in the restaurant, with an extensive menu that suits all tastes. We would definitely stay again and would recommend, the children were made very welcome and didnt want to leave! Ideally located for the lovely city of St. Albans and just a 20 minute train journey into London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    179
    72
    37
    20
See reviews for
136
141
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Me and my husband stumbled across this hotel on our travels and we were very pleased we did!! When we checked in we were advised they were doing a Valentines 3 course meal and we decided to book a table. The restaurant is a fabulous addition to this hotel and we were not disappointed. The food was nice but the waiter (wish we had taken his name) made our meal with his true Italian hospitality!
Overall this was a great find and made our travels very enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi_Jeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bushey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel looked welcoming on arrival.The staff were very helpful and happy.We were in room 19 up a small flight of stairs.The room itself was small but comfortable and clean.We had booked a valentines meal in the restaurant in advance and weren't disappointed. The meal was fantastic and made all the more special with a live singer .At breakfast we had a choice of cereals jams etc or a full English.Again the food was very good and staff pleasant.If I had to grumble it would be that the hotel looked tired in places.


Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jason j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for me and my husband for a valentines treat! We had a lovely three course meal which was very good dining, accompanied by pianist and singer who was very good. We stayed in room 19 a double en-suite which although small for a double was very comfortable and clean so no complaints. We had a hearty cooked breakfast the next morning which was fresh and served by lovely friendly staff. We will definately stay again! Mainly because all the staff are very welcoming and friendly but also because the food was tasty and good value for money. Thank you Ardmore for a wonderful stay :)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. The family room was very spacious. The breakfast was good however the people serving it could do with smiling! It is very well placed for the main shopping area, theatre etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckfastleigh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here for just one night but would of loved to have stayed longer,comfortable room,nice warm feeling throughout whole of hotel,superb safe off street parking,great breakfast and the price just £70.00 for a twin room for myself and wife now that's what I call value.Room was spotless beds comfy and bathroom perfectly adequate at this price,would not hesistate staying here again,thankyou to all the staff.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 twin with ensuite very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

really nice family run home. all a bit quirky but staff are really friendly and the rooms whilst a little old fashioned are really clean, beds are super comfortable and linen and towels really nice. I will stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
548 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St Albans AL1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing