We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Breakfast was good if a little slow at busy times. Room was very small with small bed for two people. Bathroom also very tiny and shower head and cubicle needed renewing. Toilet was not very clean but there was a good range of soap/shampoos etc. Came down for breakfast on Monday morning to be told that weekend hours still applied as bank holiday - weren't told this on check-in. Otherwise staff helpful and quite friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    181
    72
    37
    20
See reviews for
137
141
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for one night to go to a wedding reception at a nearby venue. Good parking facilities. The reception staff were polite and helpful, and the room was warm and comfortable. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was adequate with plenty of towels and soaps/shower gels etc. The full English breakfast was plentiful and very good, so I imagine the food there overall would be good, although I didn't eat there in the evening. Found the rest of the staff that I met to be courteous and helpful. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed one night and initial impressions of front of hotel were not altogether favourable - on a busy road. However, room was very nicely decorated and although small, was comfortable. Good sized bathroom with full suite. Due to bad weather, decided to eat in the hotel which turned out to be a good idea - lovely meal in a very nice conservatory restaurant. Breakfast next morning was good, other than orange juice. All staff were friendly and helpful. Close to town centre and car parking on site. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddington
Level Contributor
465 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our first visit to this hotel very close to the centre of St Albans. Car parking at the rear is a real bonus for anyone visiting the city which suffers with far too many traffic lights, terrible traffic congestion and full car parks as it is an easy walk into the high street. A pleasant small bar area ( a bit slow service but ok when someone was around) and a very sunny bright restaurant/dining area. OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We hired this hotel for our Masonic Ladies festival and proved to be the right choice from the start. Staff were superb, nothing too much for them, they helped a great deal with the cabaret and therefore a successful night. Resident pianist/singer was perfect and then turned into DJ for later in the evening. We sat 60 people but could easily hold 180, the room was decorated very elegantly and would look great for any wedding as it had a beautiful garden and veranda areas. The food was excellent and choice was a perfect selection. Rooms were cosy but could do with a nip and tuck here and there, don't we all, but this added to the ambience and character of this well established hotel, well done to Joe and his team.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, uk
Level Contributor
401 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel on business as the company was hosting a meeting for several of our clients and potential clients.
St Albans is central to our clients in that area which is why we selected this hotel. Parking is to the rear of the hotel and struggled to get a parking place as another company was hosting a meeting also on the same day.
I arrived the evening before and had a nice welcome from the lady on reception and checked in promptly.
I joined my colleagues in the bar for a drink prior to dinner - food was good and an enjoyable meal - service to was very good.
I retired to bed and found the mattress very hard as was the pillows. Room was very warm but had to close the windows as you can hear the trains passing by very regularly. Heating came on early morning and the room was roasting.
Very small ensuite bathroom. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room. A couple of the lamps in the room didn't work which I reported. Breakfast was in a small room not the restaurant and tables very cramped - I ordered a full English breakfast which was ok.
What was most disappointing was the venue for our meeting in the conservatory - we ordered a projector and screen but this was not provided and we had to make do with a 32" tv - not ideal as you couldn't see the presentations from the back of the room.
Coffee on arrival was laid out in a room furthest from the meeting room which we had to show guests to going around the corridors and not through the restaurant as another company was using the top end of the room.
This room became available for lunch - buffet - which was served in the adjoining room (restaurant) - would have been nice to have put jugs of water on the table to have with the food - we had to ask for these and coffee.
All in all a fairly average venue and accommodation.
Future meetings will be held in a larger hotel where they have the rooms and facilities for our requirements.

Room Tip: I was in Room 18 which is at the back of the hotel - but you can hear the trains going by which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

1st day in the UK and we arrived rather tired, after a full day in and around St Albans; but what a welcome, wonderful staff and great restaurant, the entertainment was just so pleasant!!

Breakfast was the perfect English breakfast,
And enabled us to set off on our holiday, replete and satisfied,

What more can we say, clean and well appointed rooms, the bed was very comfortable ( most important on our 1st night)

We will be back, on our next holiday to the UK.

Tom & Colleen

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St Albans AL1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing