We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel, and base for London sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel, and base for London sightseeing”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and used the hotel as a base for visiting central London we drove to burnt oak tube station approx 10 miles away and travelled by tube.

I booked the hotel online and got a great del that worked out at £45 a night. (room only) For that money the hotel and the room is perfectly adequate, after all we only planned to sleep there. The hotel does offer leisure facilities which I did not use but looked ok. We did not have breakfast as it was way to expensive at £16 per person, there is a Starbucks right across the street which was handy. Was I bit concerned with some of the negative reviews but found the hotel to be fine for my trip. If you plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel or do not have a car this may be a little basic and remote. If you just need a place to stay that offer good value then book up!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    227
    184
    107
    87
See reviews for
137
262
33
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

An attractive hotel on the outskirts of the town. It represents excellent value, the staff were friendly and polite. The buffet breakfast was of good quality and very varied, from design your own muesli, cold meats/cheeses, through to the old stalwart of bacon and eggs!
We had a triple room which in fairness was only just big enough, but given we spent so little time in the room, was academic. It has to be said the room was looking a little tired, but was clean nontheless. The ensuite bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and tonnes of hot water. The communal spaces were very nice too. One lounge has huge settees/chairs which were great for having a drink and reading the paper. The onsite fitness suite was very good. Looks like a small fortune has been spent. A smallish pool, jacuzzi and steam room are all available to use as part of the room rate. There was a gym too, but we didn't get round to using that!!
We used this hotel as a springboard into London, parked the car at Stanmore tube station (just over 10mins away, £1.50 all day parking), then a zone 5 tube ticket (£8/adult, £3/child), the heart of London just over half an hour away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarksonClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Owner at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at Thistle St Albans. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2011

In February we held our wedding at this hotel and we would not have changed a thing. We decided to plan our wedding within 5 months and could not fault support we received. The day went really smoothly, food was great, venue perfect and was well supervised by Krystal the wedding planner. Our family are still talking about the event. Great value for money.

Best day of our lives so far and we would like to thank the hotel for helping to make it happen.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebennetts46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Owner at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this really positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed you stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My husband and I were looking for a venue that we could have a Civil Ceremony and the Noke ticked all the boxes. When we went for the first viewing in October 2009 we immediately fell in love with the place. Krystal was our Wedding Co-Ordinator and was on hand to answer any questions or queries we had. What I liked was that there were no hidden costs in having our wedding/reception there. Obviously we had to pay extra for the ceremony to the local registrar but we did not have to pay extra to hire the Noke Lounge it was all included in the price unlike other hotels in the area, only a deposit of the full price when booking which is to be expected.

We were able to have a menu tasting session 2 months before and I had a few queries and the waiter that was looking after us spoke to the Chef who offered something else for us to try which was no trouble to him.

On the day of the wedding, 29.12.10, the hotel looked beautiful, better than I could have expected, we brought in our own balloons and table confetti but all the staff had put it out for us. The Noke Lounge was beautifully decorated for the ceremony (in the evening it turned into the area for the disco) and the Noke restaurant where we had our wedding breakfast was just perfect, the staff had worked hard to make sure that everything was in place.

We decided to have the speeches before the meal which again was not a problem to the staff. We held them in the Oak and Advocado restaurant, the only problem is that this restaurant is open to the residents of the hotel and I had noticed a couple of guests listening in to the speeches but in the grand scheme of things was not a major issue and it was something we knew could possibly happen as Krystal told us, Our day was tailored to our needs and Krystal had listened to what we wanted and guided us in the right direction if needed.The staff were helpful and were in the background so you didnt know they were there and everything ran perfectly and smoothly and not once did my husband and I think 'Oh this hasnt been done, or that hasnt happened'. The food was lovely on the day and all our guests said how lovely it was, any catering needs ie veggies or Gluten Free were taken into account and catered for.

The Noke is the perfect Wedding venue and Krystal and all the staff made our Special Day EXTRA Special. We shall be going back there on our first Wedding Anniversary for dinner which was part of the wedding package but I am sure we will be back there before then for the Sunday Cavery's or a meal in the Oak and Advocado restaurant.
We had guests coming from afar for our wedding and they were more than impressed with their stay and there were no complaints. The rooms were clean and tidy, obviously my husband and I opted for the Bridal Suite which was very nice.

I would definately recommend this hotel if you are thinking of having your wedding there, in fact I have done that! The staff are friendly and helpful and Krystal certainly knows her job and an absolute asset.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Stayed in this hotel last night as part of a birthday treat. After reading the reviews, was slightly concerned what we were letting ourselves in for.
First impressions were good, the outside I pleasent and there is plenty of parking. The reception staff were friendly and check in was smooth. The public areas are clean and Around the hotel staff are friendly and helpful.
Our room was in the first floor, we booked a standard room and it was just that. The rooms have all the basics you need, with a good size tv. The rooms are quite dated though and could do with a spruce up. The beds are comfy though... People have talked about being cold, we were quite the opposite, we were both very hot, even with both windows open!!!
We went to the leisure centre and used the jacuzzi, pool and sauna (steam room broken) the leisure facilities were all clean and tidy, and a lovely extra.
Breakfast was good, was not cold at all, and had great choice. If you pay on the day it's £16.95.
This hotel could just do with a good spruce up and an update, we got a good cheap deal, but if I had paid full price I would have been disappointed purely because if the room, it was just very dated, also there are smoking rooms and we could smell smoke coming into our room which isn't the nicest!! I think it's more of a 3star!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We booked for partners birthday - looked OK on website but when we arrived we found an incredibly tired and tatty venue - I tried to book flowers for the room 2 days in advance but no-one replied to my email. The room was very dark and tired and the bed rock hard and impossible to sleep on. Bathroom smelt of damp and the sink was cracked.
It's too far from anywhere else to go for a meal if you want to have a drink and the prices in the hotel are quite high for the quality of food and drink.
Other guests were noisy into the early hours, floodlights were left on outside so birds were tweeting all night and we could hear the people talking in the next room.
Worse still was that we booked on line and paid extra for breakfast only to be told we hadn't 'upgraded' so couldn't have a cooked breakfast - apparently we'd paid £12 or £15 each (I can't remember exactly how much) for a continental breakfast in the bar! That was real insult to injury and the last straw as far as I was concerned - it felt like a complete rip off as the upgrade would have been another tenner each.
Thankfully we only stayed one night and it totally ruined the whole birthday experience.
I couldn't recommend anything about this place except the staff who were really nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60dragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Albans hotels

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Excellent service
Excellent food
Very comfortable room although you could hear traffic noise
Great location

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan180301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,181 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
529 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing