We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit dated, terrible shower!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel reception suggests a modern hotel, but once you get into your room, its clear they haven't been updated for a while. Although clean, the bathroom had seen better days and there was mould around the window. The shower was pretty terrible - they could do with replacing. Also food was pretty rubbish. Staff however were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arundec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Very pleasing to read that our team were friendly and helpful during your recent stay, your feedback will be shared with them.

We are in the process of updating bedrooms, having completed 24 standard rooms, we also have 42 deluxe rooms which I am confident would be to your liking.

Regarding the bathroom windows that require attention, these have indeed seen better days and I have introduced a rolling maintenance plan to tackle the wear and tear that you mention.

Your mention that the food was not to your liking, and It pleases me to say that we will be implementing a new summer menu in April so I would like to think this will be well received.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by Thistle, and your comments are much appreciated.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We recently stayed here for just 1 nite after a wedding. The wedding itself was a wonderful day but our experience of staying at the hotel was shocking.

On arrival to check in at 3pm we were told a room wasn't ready, and we weren't the only people left waiting.

The room was worn and as a previous reviewer wrote the window frames were surrounded by mould. The room was so stuffy and the window couldn't be opened, but the worst thing is definitely the lack of sound proofing. We could hear every little noise from our neighbours, there's a constant banging of doors and then becasue the windows are so flimsy the birds woke us up as soon as dawn was breaking. At one point in the nite we tried to call reception because the noise coming from one of our neighbours was beyond a joke but conveniently the phone wouldn't connect to reception!

After a sleepless nite we headed down to breakfast, queued for 20 mins with no apology from the staff or recognition of us waiting. When we did eventually get a table and headed to the buffet there were no glasses for water/juice, no bowls for cereal, the water and juice containers were empty, the bread basket was empty and most of the hot food was down to the last dregs - and this was with 45 mins still to go on breakfast being served. I asked the staff on numerous occassions to restock but when we finished most things were still missing.

Based on our experience I would not recommend this hotel if you want to get any rest or expect a decent level of service!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with the Trip Advisor community.

The age and fabric of the building clearly does not justify the poor levels of service you experienced at breakfast, thanks to your detailed feedback I have investigated all of the issues raised by you and have personally spoken with the Food and Beverage Management team, and reviewed our operating procedures to deal with particularly high levels of guests following on from Weddings.

It was very pleasing to read that the Wedding was to your liking and this will be passed onto the team.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Having read several reviews before coming to this Hotel I was uncertain of what to expect. But from the moment i walked throught he door it was as stated, 4 star all the way. The room was large and clean and had everything one should expect from a 4 star hotel. I did not eat at the Hotel that night but had breakfast on the Sunday morning, buffet breakfast, but dishes not piled high thus topped up frequentley, thus the food was hot, only niggle was the toaster, you had to put the bread in twice.
Would i stay here again, Yes and I am hopefully booked in at least twice more in the next 6 weeks

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellepee1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Noke by Thistle, as with all feedback this will be pased onto the team.

Your comments reagrding the toaster were not alone and I am pleased to say that we are in the process of improving our breakfast offering part of this will be a upgraded toaster.

On behalf of the team thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Thistle, St Albans for a company work event. It was hugely disappointing, from the ability to do the basics such as Wifi access, the attitude of the staff to the ability to pay the bill at the end.

The food in the restaurant was poor - including the re-cycling of the same desserts for lunch to dinner.

the only redeeming feature were the bedrooms which we of a good standard.

Overall really poor value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 442George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Clearly we have failed to deliver a satisfactory experience on your recent stay with us, please accept my personal apologies for this.

We really do welcome all feedback and as this allows us to focus on specific areas that require improvements.

Regarding Wifi, unfortunately our providers had a major technical issue during the week of your stay that beyond our control, and I personally followed this up with them, this meant the system was down for 4 hours.

Our Restaurant Menu is designed as a all-day menu used at both lunch and dinner, I am sorry if this lead to confusion referring to your point on recycling.

It pleases me to read that you enjoyed our bedrooms and I will pass all of your comments on to the rest of the team.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had our wedding at the Noke in October 2011 and couldn't have been happier

Not only were the staff amazing, the place looked lovely, everything ran smoothly and the food was top notch

The wedding planner Krystal is on hand to guide you through all the planning and takes care of everything. I can't speak highly enough of her...she was very professional throughout and on the day transformed the dining room into our wedding reception with flowers from the florist, chair covers and our extra decorations. I couldn't believe the room when I saw it, it was perfect!

We also had our wedding ceremony at the hotel in the Noke lounge. It was very small and intimate holding 60 guests and meaning everything was all in one place so nice and easy!

At the rear of the hotel we had our photographs in the grounds. They are more grounds and space than you think behind the hotel and the trees made a lovely backdrop for our photos and they looked amazing

During the reception the staff were great and everything ran very smoothly. The waiters were very attentive and the food was lovely especially when catering for over 60 guests. Everyone commented on how nice the food was.

We stayed the night in the honeymoon suite which is an amazing room, just what you need after a long wedding day!

Most of our guests stayed for one or two nights in the hotel. The basic rooms very a bit tired but the next tier up were lovely and more modern- and you get what you pay for! If the rooms were booked online a few months in advance they are especially good value!

All in all we have nothing but good things to say about our wedding at the Noke. It was a lovely experience and we will always have fond memories of it

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your extremely positive experience with the Trip Advisor community.

It gave me great pleasure to pass on your comments to the team especially Krystal, who as noted by you takes great pride in her work.

Since your wedding we have had an additional 24 standard rooms refurbished, these are the ones you refer to as basic and we plan to have more improvements made over the coming year.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I had a terrible stay. The room was supposed to be a delux one. The air con (only form of heating) did not work, the tv showed a porn channel, you can hear next door talking and using their bathroom. Very very poor! If you would like to eat - I suggest you use the petrol station or Starbucks opposite the hotel as the food is less than acceptable.
I stupidly read the reviews after we stayed, but was interested to note that I only read the first 20, they all say the same, but the management responses are from five different people. There are clear issues here that don't seem to get resolved despite the constant promises from several managers. The only positive was the small blonde girl on reception that was so pleasant despite our complaining.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your recent experience, the level of detail provided by you was most helpful.

Our deluxe rooms are all equipped with Aircon units and we are in the process of upgrading these. All of our rooms offer a selection of Freeview channels.

Since your stay we have introduced an enhanced restaurant menu offering and have invested additional training with our kitchen brigade to improve our guests experience.

Thanks for highlighting our friendly receptionist I will personally pass on your comments.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

To say I am disappointed with this venue is an understatement. We had been looking at venues for a few weeks and after being shown around, discussing prices, catering and dates we decided to go ahead and book. We called the hotel to officially book the date who asked us to come in and drop the deposit off, which we did. We booked a DJ, sent out invites and had prices for bands quoted for using this as our venue. It turns out they had quoted me the wrong price and instead of honouring it they have cancelled our event and left us with no venue. We have had around 5 conversations with the hotel regarding the date etc so I find it pretty hard to believe the so called manager when he said they have suddenly decided to do 'maintenance' work on this date. I just hope we can find somewhere else in such a short amount of time to hold the party. Wish I had never dealt with this company...extremely poor customer service and has caused much aggrovation and upset. DON"T DEAL WITH THEM THEY HAVEN"T GOT A CLUE WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
545 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £50 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing