We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, easy access to London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, easy access to London”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stay at this hotel regularly, it is a very nice hotel, the rooms, certainly those I have stayed in are very good. There are some smaller rooms in the hotel but as far as I know all are of a good standard.
The position of the hotel is good, if you have transport. A ten minute drive to either St Albans or Radlett Rail stations, both offer regular 20/25 minute journey into kings Cross/St Pancrass.
St Albans city centre, an old Roman town, is worth a visit and is a 5 minute drive (£8/£10 Taxi ride) away, it's worth a look and has a good number of restaurants.
I can't comment on the Restaurant, as being vegetarian, the menu is limited, I find the Bar quite expensive.
Lastly, the staff at the Hotel are superb and to my mind, as a regular guest, the making of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawadsaleem, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by Thistle, we are glad that you always enjoy staying with us , and you find our team very helpful at all times. I was sorry to hear about the Menu prices and the choices however our new winter menu is shortly about to launch with better choices and price bands so please bare with us.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback.
we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fawad Saleem
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    224
    182
    106
    85
See reviews for
135
261
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at this hotel. So colourful on arrival with an excellent display of flowers outside the hotel. We had a twin-bedded room, cleanliness was excellent throughout with food at a good standard. We were on a Berrys Coaches trip to Bletchley Park on one day, with the Royal Gunpowder Mills on another day so the people on the coach all ate together with a menu of three choices for each course, eg melon, carrot and coriander soup or mackerel as a starter. Only downside was the drinks were a typical London area hotel cost, eg 1 bottle of beer £4.50, gin and tonic £4.25!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawadsaleem, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by Thistle, we are glad that enjoyed your stay and the complements about the floral decorations are mcuh appreciated, at the same time you mentioned about the team being friendly, helpful and that your dinner was well received we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fawad Saleem
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We came Stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night, when there was a big wedding also going on, the staff were polite and friendly even though they were obviously busy, and our meal in the restaurant was freshly cooked to order, and was very good value for money. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were so impressed that we are considering it as a venue for our daughter's wedding!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawadsaleem, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by Thistle, we are glad that enjoyed the hospitality, and that the team were friendly, helpful and that your dinner was well received.
I was delighted to hear that after staying with us you are considering our venue for your daughters wedding. If there is anything i can personally do to get this arranged for you please contact myself or our dedicated M&E sales team at the hotel and we can arrange a meeting with yourselves to showcase what packages we offer for weddings and disscuss your requirements. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fawad Saleem
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Had a super Friday night stay. The food was lovely and the restaurant staff extremely attentive. The room was spacious, clean and modern. All the hotel staff were efficient and friendly. The leisure centre was great. The breakfast was varied and delicious. Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawadsaleem, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by Thistle, we are glad that enjoyed the deluxe room, and that the team were friendly, helpful and that your breakfast & dinner was well received we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fawad Saleem
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the thistle st Albans after attending a friends wedding that was held close by.
We had a fantastic stay.
All staff very polite and helpful.
Room was lovely and clean and well maintained.
Food in the resturant was very nice a reasonably priced.
Breakfast buffet was lovely and fresh.
I would highly recommend the hotel to any one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawadsaleem, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by Thistle, we are glad that enjoyed the deluxe rooms, and that the team were friendly, helpful and that your breakfast was well received we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fawad Saleem
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Lets just say I'm glad I'm not paying out of my own pocket to be here! As business meeting venues go there must be better places around here. The hotel needs a complete facelift. Some of the staff could do with re-training. The only redeeming feature was the gym/spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khuram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Perhaps you could contact me at the hotel to discuss your feedback in some detail, as your remarks make for a disappointing read, and give me little to respond to.

Kind Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Albans hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel on four separate occasions during late sping / summer 2012 whilst working in St Albans. The hotel is easy to access on the south of the town near the M25. It has standard bedrooms and slightly higher price renovated rooms. The latter have better beds, better decor, better bathrooms. Some of the standard rooms are located close to the kitchens and can be noisy. The hotel has a small leisure suite with a pool which is fine for relaxation but not really large enough for laps. Good range of breakfast options. I have not used the restaurant for dinner but you can eat in the bar. Menu includes (oddly) some Malaysian food options.

Room Tip: Ensure your room does not face the kichens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for choosing to stay at The Noke during your recent visits to St Albans, thanks also for mentioning the benefits of paying a little extra for a Deluxe Room, your comments regarding the location of standard rooms being near to the kitchen surprises me as all bedrooms are some distance from the kitchen. The leisure club is as mentioned by you great for relaxing as the sauna, steam room and spa pool really are appreciated by our guests. Also pleasing to read that you enjoyed our varied menu and yes we do like to offer a wide range, thanks again.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing