We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Very smart hotel twin room was upgraded very nice room. AC flat screen tv smart bathroom. booked through laterooms £40 a night cant beat that for 4*. Only down side was the bar area had no seating, all the tables and chairs had been removed to a wedding reception, and £7.50 for a glass of house rose was a OTT.
To eat we went up the road to The Three Hammers, lovely pub.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Very pleasing to read that you so strongly rate our deluxe rooms, and that you chose to share this with the Trip Advisor community, In relation to lounge being set up for a private function hence the lack of seating, you should have been taken to our other bar area and I have spoken to the team about this.

Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

The staff here are very friendly and warm, especially the reception team. I really thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would make another return. I would sincerely recommend anyone who wish to have a very good experience to come and stay at this amazing hotel. Everything is a 10 out of 10!

Thank you to all the staff and we really appreciate the stay as me and my boyfriend had an fantastic valentines experience!

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by thistle, and we really do appreciate your glowing recommendation, I will certainly pass your comments onto the entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.

Regards


Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I'm a regular guest at this hotel, and find the hotel very good. In my last review I commented the food on offer in the Bar let the hotel down, both in quality and in the menu offer. I'm vegitarian and the menu was short on choice. Recently the menu has been improved, with a much better choice of food all round. Where as before I didn't feel I could recommend the Bar, for food, I'm now comfortable in doing this.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are either towards the back of the hotel, or overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Your comments regarding the new menu make for a great read, the team are delighted that as a regular guests you have noted the improvement’s, in regards to our vegetarian options our central team achieved approval from the Vegetarian Society, I will also pass your feedback on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

stayed at The Thistle on Sat 2nd Feb having booked by third party internet booking company.

When I presented my confirmation number on computer print-out at the a the Hotel we were told they had no record of the booking, I was informed they had rooms but at non internet rate, the Manager was then summoned but instead of apologising and giving us the room, he made us wait half hour in the cold reception area until he could contact the booking agency, however in the end and still unable to contact anyone he booked us in (he should have honoured internet booking with reservation number in first place).
The breakfast was very greasy and the room cold, the waitress informed us it was so cold when she started she had to turn up the heating as people had complained, not me this time.
The hotel itself is not too bad, a 3 star with a spar is what I would call it, no delux as stated, but if you want to stay at a very good hotel a three star one that is cheaper with bigger rooms with a far better breakfast there is one just up the road.

Room Tip: no tips because even the super delux is not all that large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Clearly we have failed to provide you with a satisfactory experience, I have personally looked into this matter and I can quite understand your less than favourable review. The lack of a booking in our system is a real concern and we are currently looking at why this occurred, thank you for highlighting this matter.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Arrived to lovely receptionist Micheala, V professional. Got free upgrade on room which was nice and was a bargain of a stay! Room really clean, room was warm and heating/air con worked well. Bathroom tad too warm for my liking and couldnt work out how to adjust this. Bed really comfy with good pillows. Did not really utilise any other staff or hotel services.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim-Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke, and secondly thanks for taking the time to share your experience, having spoken to Michaela personally I know she is delighted with your comments.

Thanks also for the comments regarding the upgrade and room cleanliness, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Our company recently held a seminar at this hotel. Our event was a complete success due to the fact of how the hotel staff handled our event. They were very efficient and attentive.

We would definitely return to do another event in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to share your positive experience with the Trip Advisor Community, the team is delight by your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Our family of four adults and two children stayed here for a family celebration for two nights from 22 - 24 Jan 2013. We found it to be a superb hotel. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The evening meals are excellent, and nothing is too much trouble. The leisure facilities are great and most enjoyable.
There's ample free parking for guests and its easy access able to the m1 and m25.
Reception staff are very welcoming and the restaurant staff ( James) are brilliant.
Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for sharing your recent experience, its great to have such a positive assessment of our hotel and we thank you for yours custom.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future, James seems to be getting mentioned on a regular basis and I am sure he will be delighted by your comments.

Many thanks

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
554 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £51 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing