We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle Nook sauna rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Thistle Nook sauna rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Not the worst hotel but dated. The food in the restaurant was lovely although the breakfast in the morning was not. The swimming pool was out of service so didn't use the leisure facilities which was disappointing. The rooms however where a absolute sweat box. The heating was off but the heat was intense!! So bad that I couldn't sleep leaving me tired for my meeting the next day. I spoke to a woman who stayed in the same corridor who said the exact same!! I think the next time I'm in St. Albans i will give it a miss. I can not imagine the heat when the weather is good outside!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Unfortunately we had to close the pool at the time of your stay without notice due to a plant fault, this has now been resolved.

In regards to the cooling of bedrooms, all our Deluxe Rooms do come with Air Conditioning as standard and we have fans available on request for other room types.

Perhaps you could contact me directly at the hotel, and allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    219
    181
    102
    85
See reviews for
133
256
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The staff at the thistle St. Albans were wonderful-so friendly and really could not do enough for us. Even as we walked around they asked how our day was and was everything ok. We requested a quiet room as previous reviews recommended we ask for this and the room was quiet-nothing of the major road could be heard from where we were. Our deluxe double room was very nice and of adequate size. the bathroom clean and modern. The only downside was the bed and pillows. The bed being rock hard and the pillows cheap and lumpy, resulting in my using the cushions with the pillowcase over them.
The hotel itself was very easy to find, plenty of parking. The decoration was nice, although some parts a little dated. The buffet breakfast was fresh and tasty-nothing was too much trouble if you asked for it.
I cannot stress how great the staff were again and obviously have had lots of training in customer service as they were so friendly and helpful-management keep hold of them as they make the hotel!,,

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Liddy8703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for firstly choosing to stay with us at The Noke and secondly for sharing your favourable experience with the TA Community.
Very pleasing to read that the team were the highlight, I will certainly pass on your kind comments.
Sorry that the pillows were not to your liking, we do however offer a “pillow menu” this way you can choose a preferred pillow type, just ask reception and this we be more than happy to arrange this for you.

I do hope to welcome you once again and thanks again for the feedback.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
469 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Needed a place to stay last minute and the Thistle was available. Pleasant looking hotel although snow showing its age. An obvious (new paint fumes) paint job in the public areas try hide an aging property. Quick and pleasant check in. Room is drab to say the least. Poor shower, plastic shower curtain on straight rail (hygiene??). Poorly fitting curtains in bedroom did not block out daylight, grubby window. Uncomfortable bed..a double but barely. Lots of small things not quite right, but the room had a safe, which is good. Needed a quick sandwich before going out. The roast beef delivered was fatty and inedible. Even the waiter agreed with me…this was taken off my bill but not the coke that went with it. So much for customer service. Breakfast was standard buffet fare. Good, large and safe parking lot. Free wifi for 30 mins. All in all, this hotel is nothing special. I’d like to rate this place as average which would suggest I would stay again. I won’t hence rated as poor.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the detailed feedback, very disappointed to read that your overall experience left you feeling the need to arte us as poor. We will however look into each point raised by you and use this to improve our guest experience.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Albans hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was our first visit to a Thistle Hotel. We visited for the Easter break and paid for a deluxe room that was of fair and standard hotel quality. We did request a quiet room and it was so, we were nor disturbed at all. The Hotel describes the bathroom for this category of room as deluxe we found the bathroom of no more than just adequate size it was fresh and clean however, only suited to single occupancy at all times and very warm so best to keep the door open when showering!

It is in the restaurant that the hotel excels, we enjoyed a good breakfast and very good dinner the food was near perfect, the wine of a reasonable price. Would we revisit maybe.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and on holiday from a hectic working week and wanting specifically to unw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharleyTerryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for sharing your experience, very pleasing to read so many positives regarding the general quality and cleanliness of the hotel along with such a glowing report on the restaurant and breakfast.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Where do I begin? The Thistle St Albans is advertised as I high end hotel in a great location and with top quality food. How wrong can they be!?
The first problem we noticed is where the hotel is located. It is sat right on a busy roundabout straight off the motorway and your view is a petrol station. Upon arrival you have to walk through the bar area to get to your room which is not a good start. Don't get me started on the rooms. On the thistle website it shows nice clean modern rooms, I don't know where they are but we didn't see any. We changed rooms three times due to dirty carpets, headboards and bathrooms. We were then upgraded to a deluxe room which wasn't much better. Still old and tired and not separate shower and bath like described on the website. The final problem was the room service, the chap that answered the phone could not understand english as I could not understand him. This resulted in our order being late, incorrect, cold and poor quality. Upon checking out we brought up all of our issues with the reception and all we got was a sorry and I hope it doesn't happen next time. We will not be going back to Thistle again. It is overpriced, dull, low quality, old, tired and in need of a serious overhaul.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattk235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. We used the conference facilities and I found those fine. The boardroom comfortable and baring in mind it is right on a busy roundabout it was soundproofed, but throughout all I could here was the music from the lounge below which was really annoying. The bedroom I had was lovely and very clean. The bed extremely comfortable with lovely bedlinen but no matter what I did the room was so warm I struggled sleeping. The room had a beautiful bathroom but boy was it small. However, the water was piping hot and great pressure with nice toiletries. Our lunch and breakfast meals were lovely. Our evening meal was okay, with for me with dietary requirements very limited choices and the service was so slow. I also found it cold in the bar/restaurant area too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception area is very small and cramped. As a previous comment says the rooms are not really sound proofed so I could hear the occupant in the room next door. The hotel is impeccably clean which was really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback, with so many positives this really is appreciated, in terms of improvements needed as noted by you we will certainly look into these areas.

Thanks again

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaillard, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We knew the Hotel of old when it was called The Noke. We anticipated being extended because of the pictures. The price seemed very reasonable at £119 for 2 nights in a double with em suite. Whilst' the room is very pleasant, with TV, tea making facilities etc, our first problem was the rooms were not sound proofed and you heard people, doors, loos from each side of you and above. Early hours of the morning when you thought it was going to quietness down, it did not. Banging of doors, wardrobe doors numerous times, talking etc. We suffered 2 nights of loss of sleep. Showering in the mornings was a nightmare, if someone anywhere down the line flushed a toilet or turned a tap on, you got scalded. Breakfast was extortionate and some fruit and tomatoes were still hard. Evening meal prices were unbelievably expensive and absolute rubbish. Would have got more flavour going to a pub. Price of wine (screw top), mediocre to say the least was around £20 a bottle. The second night, we were extremely tired and did not feel like getting in the car and driving into St. Albans so decided to try the restaurant again. I ordered a garlic pasta dish with pesto and cream (£17.50) for a small amount, it was so salty I might just as well have had a plate of salt. Sorbet to follow, 3 small spoonfuls sitting on slices strawberries which were hard, sorbet was mediocre. Another hungry, sleepless night. Our total bill was over £248! We complained to Thistle Hotels who were very apologetic and would look into it. Offered us a free meal and a bottle of wine at one of their hotel's. once bitten, twice shy as they say. I would like to say that the Receptionist and the evening Waitress were extremely pleasant and helpful. Lastly, if you want Wifi you have to sign up with a company called signature to get 30 minutes free, after that you pay.
UK land line calls were charged at 0.60p per minute.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Clearly you have been left extremely frustrated following your stay with us, each of your points have been discussed with the relevant departments, we really do take all feedback seriously and look to learn from our guest experience.
Very pleasing to read that despite of your general dissatisfaction you felt that the receptionist and waitresses were helpful.

Kind Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing