We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here on 24/8/13 for 1 night. Staff were very friendly and helpful at reception. We had breakfast which was excellent - fresh and plenty of choice. Tip = We had breakfast included with our through Laterooms.com otherwise its £14.95. But even if you choose not to have the breakfast there's a petrol station across the road. Rooms were clean and spacious too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We visited the Thistle Hotel for a family event, and found it relatively welcoming, with the facilities clean and well-maintained. The food served - an afternoon tea and later a buffet - was of average quality, although most of the buffet consisted of various deep-fried and battered snacks, with no vegetarian option. When this was brought up they promptly brought out a bowl of chips - hardly adequate for the vegetarian members in our party.

Staff were in general happy to help, and eager to display their commitment to the hotel and good service, but at times were over attentive, tending to hover around tables which was rather off-putting. Overall, our visit was pleasant, although nothing that we would choose over any other hotel or guest house in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We took advantage of a Thistle special offer and stayed two nights at The Noke, and it was a perfectly good stay. We had a deluxe room with a view over the garden, and the room was very comfortable - clean, air conditioning, comfortable bed, and spacious. All the staff we spoke to were great, particularly at breakfast, and everyone we walked past held doors open and said good morning. We were a little worried when we checked in as we realised they were holding a wedding, and we assumed there would be noise, but the room we had was on the opposite side of the building so we didn't even notice it! The free Wi-Fi was also very welcome!

Car parking is free for guests, and St Albans is only a 10 minute drive away. We found The Noke to be a great base for visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laesning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Stayef on business. Well equipped gym. Very basic room but surfices. Get rid of horrid plastic bin in bathroom. Cheap and nasty. Good food and reasonable prices in bar. Only problem was fierce aircon so didnt hang around the bar once i had eaten. The only gripe is that the only sky tv is in the bar. I arrived at 1pm hoping to watch some of the ashes cricket to be told that the bar was locked and didnt open until 4pm. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Unless it's a holiday It is unusual for me to spend more than a night or 2 in a hotel, but a recent period of 5 weeks filming just outside St Albans meant that I spent 14 nights in the Thistle over the last couple of weeks.

The weather was incredibly hot, but the deluxe rooms have great air conditioning which was much appreciated. Fellow cast members who stayed in other rooms without air conditioning had to asked to change rooms, and remarked that the standard rooms weren't really up to much. The deluxe rooms are nice, and although they have a wardrobe and hanging space, they have no drawers and that most irritating thing is that all the plugs are next to the desk across the room away from the bed. When will hotels learn that most of us use our phones as alarms and need to plug them in by the bed - especially when you have to be up at 6:30 AM each morning for filming. An added note is that the hotel zone alarm system is exceptionally unreliable. Myself and another actor both experienced automatic alarm calls at 320 and 3:30 AM in the morning. Very little apology in my case from reception other than the reception is concerned printing out my correct alarm call for 6:40 AM - an alarm call that never came. We also had several nights when the fire alarm went off. Again we were just told it was a system fault. Not brilliant when you're trying to sleep.

There are some great members of staff in the hotel. The lady who ran the breakfast room was brilliant, even on the morning when the breakfast room was overrun with 140 Japanese tourists all getting breakfast at 7 AM. The receptionist who dealt with my own error (I left a bag in reception on the day I checked out and had to ring up and have it couriered back to London) was also great. Slightly less pleasant were the receptionist and his colleague at the health centre. Weekday nights the health centre is open until 10 PM with last admission at 9 PM. On Fridays this changes to a ridiculously early time of 8 PM, so getting into the hotel after work means you're denied a swim.

The reception area is rather cramped, and belies the spaciousness of the hotel, and once you got over the carpet-designed to give you headaches or induce sickness, the rest of the hotel is reasonably well fitted out, if a bit dated.. Some great meals on offer in the bar and restaurant, there were very very irritating charge of £5 for a tray delivery for any room service order. Surely service is part of why we are in a hotel and what we are paying for. It bumps up the price of food which is otherwise very reasonable.

Location on a roundabout half a mile from the M25 is not the most scenic, but it is incredibly convenient if you're just stopping off. All in all not a bad hotel. Given that our accommodation was paid for by the film company, I'm not sure how expensive it is to stay here, but you can get a rate on a par with a premiere inn then it's certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business. I had a meal in the bar area, which was nice. I also took advantage of the pool and sauna.

The room was nice and clean and modern, with no road noise which was a nice surprise.

I asked for a wake up call for 6:50am. In fact, the call came at 2:05am. I was not impressed. The idea of a hotel is to allow a good nights sleep, which I didn't get. When I mentioned this to the girl on reception the next day all I got was "yes, we are having some issues". No apology.

This was my first of many trips I will need to make to the area. It is a shame my stay was tainted - the hotel is in a perfect position.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPettifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights - 3rd & 4th August as was attending an event nearby. The hotel was booked by our organisation and it was a really good choice.
Rooms: It wasn't clear if we were in a standard or delux room but we had air conditioning so I guess it was a delux. The room was lovely, very well presented, a good size, very comfortable & clean. 2 single beds & another bed set up for the younger child.
Breakfast: Lovely choice, buffet style which was included in our price. A made to order breakfast choice was also available at a cost.
Bar: Lovely bar/food area, ordered food on the Sat night and it was very nice.
Staff: Very friendly and willing to help out with places to visit etc.

There isn't much within walkign distance but a taxi into St Albans only took 10 or 15 minutes. St Albans is worth a visit - a lovely town

Overall I would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
550 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £51 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing