We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Hot/Dated Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Hot/Dated Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends in St Albans.

The hotel is a reasonable distance form St Albans centre by taxi, the cost between centre and hotel was less than £10. Parking at the hotel was easy and not charged for.

Stayed in a Standard Room. Room was fairly small in size but offered good storage and work areas.

Sampled the 24 Hour Room Service Menu at approximately 2AM. The presentation of the food was poor compared to other hotels I have recently stayed in. The Prawn starter I had only had about 4 small Prawns. In addition, despite ordering a large bottle of mineral water, no drink glass was provided with the Room Service tray, let alone ice.

Shower pressure was very low. Some of the fixtures in the bathroom appeared old. For example, the Mira Shower had yellowed plastic.

Reception staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.

The main issue I had with the hotel was despite the outside temperature only being approximately 15 degrees, the room temperature was extremely hot to the point that it made it hard to sleep. It was possible to open a window but not enough to cool the room. If I was to stay here again, I would have to have a room with Air Conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    218
    180
    102
    85
See reviews for
130
255
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for one night for a charity ball. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Standard room was not available so had superior twin. I could not see why it was any better than a standard room. The valance on one of the beds was ripped and hanging down and the duvet cover also had a tear in it. The drawer of the desk would not stay shut unless the chair was pushed right up against it or a card was jammed into it. No choice of tea and the milk had not been replenished from the last guest. Bed very comfortable although room was very hot. Hotel was very busy so at breakfast next morning we were unable to sit in the dining room and had to sit at a low table in the lounge. The food I have to say was excellent even though they were so busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

just had to comment - met for an important business meeting - all kinds of last minute requests - Staff were really brilliant ( rare these days I'm afraid ) Really glad I found this place a gem
I am very hard to please - but honestly I was blown away

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rooboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked this at the very last minute and managed to get a twin room for £55....cheaper than nearby Premier Inns and much much nicer. Room was well appointed with nice toiletries, fluffy towels and comfy beds/pillows. only downside was the room was very very hot, however when we mentioned this we were told that the hotel is putting air-con in all rooms on a rolling programme. Lovely bar and lounge area and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and well featured. Found it to be good value for money, but a little further out of town than expected. All rooms appear to be well insulated against sound and light (good thick curtains) well appointed with features.

Comfortable beds and spacious rooms with Bath and Shower in the en-suite. Hotel has Gym, Spa and indoor swimming pool and whilst not personally used, all looked to be in good condition and in regular, but not overcrowded use.

A little further ut of town than we would like, but close enough for the taxi to not be too expensive. About 20-25 mins from Warner Brothers Studios for the Harry Potter Studio Tour.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are away from the busy road / junction that fronts the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajwalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I spent one night here on business. Location is not great, just by a big roundabout. The hotel has a pretty exterior, and one of the downsides is that all room are quite a lobg walk away from reception (and a few up and downs). Rooms are clean and a good size, with no decor to talk about. Bed comfortable. Bathroom large with a bath/power shower. We had dinner at the bar, and the food was very cheap, not bad but uninspired: we had to wait a long time to be served, and then again a long time to get the bill. Room prize on the another hand is very reasonable and it includes free wifi, so overall an ok experience, just not 4 star one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stay here on a regular basis and have found all the deluxe rooms well furnished with plenty of space. In particular two tub chairs and table. The towels are particularly large which is very pleasing.
My personal complaint is that the beds are very hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing