We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times. Rooms clean and comfortable. The downside is they can be quite warm, which is fine in cold weather but not so good when the weather is warm. Even though radiators are off I think the problem is the hot water pipes running through the rooms give of a lot of heat.

The hotel has free Wifi throughout, and actually works well throughout the hotel (which is rare in my experience) so this hotel is desirable if Wifi is important for you.

Hotel has a leisure centre (gym, pool, sauna) which is free for guests.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Macboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Macboy5,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased to read that you are a returning guest and that you find the standard & price of our hotel desirable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    218
    180
    102
    85
See reviews for
130
255
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was dirty ... Very loud and noisy as there was a wedding going on, people that had been drinking causing a nuisance, shouting swearing music which was loud must have gone on until 2am or something silly, dated inside carpet needs a good clean, prices are a rip off

Wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank razzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear RazzLondon,

Thanks for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us recently.

We take all feedback seriously and I will investigate the points you raised in relation to noisy Wedding guests.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Only stayed here for one night, but it's such a lovely hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms where clean and very comfortable. The bed slept amazingly :)

The breakfast is recommended, so much choice and it was all fresh and delicious! would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenstar88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Greenstar88_12,

Thanks for your review.

It was very pleasing to read such fantastic comments regarding our Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We didn't pay a lot for our room, £65. It was a standard twin. It was clean and fairly comfortable. Here's the problem, the standard rooms don't have air con and face the busy road (there had to be a catch). We visited in April, and the rooms were inexplicably boiling. We had to open the windows = big road noise all night. If this isn't a problem, then fine. No real gripe other than the temperature and road noise. Probably wouldn't stay again because of heat and road noise. We we offered a deluxe room, with air con, for £20 extra, I'm not sure if that was per person. We decided not to. Can't comment on breakfast as we passed on that.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aroomsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Aroomsomewhere,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay us except for the room being a little hot for you. So you are aware the upgraded price you were quoted was for the room and not per person.

I hope the next time you are in town you stay with us and sample the breakfast this time.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

My usual Hatfield hotel had a wedding party and would only offer me their rack rate; so I opted for the Noke. Best decision I've made in a long time.

The hotel is built up around an only county style house; the room was comfortable and well appointed. There were windows overlooking a large grassed courtyard (thankfully the bathroom windows are frosted!). Able to have both open to get fresh air although the room temperature controls were easy to operate.

Breakfast was offered from 7am at weekends (massive tick from me) and was well present and the hot food looked freshly cooked as was indeed 'hot' the fried eggs were runny.

Dinner could be taken 'bistro' style in the bar or more formal in the restaurant. Opted to put on a pair of slacks and a shirt and eat more formally; A very good range on the set menu and service was very good. Will swap this for my regular Hatfield hotel in future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christines_Friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Christines_Friend,

Thanks for your review.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you will be back to see us again soon.

We take all feedback seriously and it is great to have such positive comments to share with the team.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Have stayed here twice now on business and definitely wouldn't stay again. I only came back as I thought I would give it another go. I won't be staying again.

The main issue with this hotel is that it's impossible to sleep as they rooms are extremely warm. This was on both occasions. You only have tiny windows which don't let much air in. The radiators were off so I have no idea why it is so hot but it's unbearable.

The first time I stayed, the hot tub wasn't working and the restaurant was closed. I arrived at around 4pm on a Sunday and could only get cold sandwiches after travelling for hours.

The second time, I put my card out for breakfast to be delivered and nobody collected it. I had to call reception and have it delivered. When it arrived it wasn't even what I had asked for.

The actual hotel is nice and clean, so it's a real shame that it is let down by these issues.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter which room you choose - they all seem to be too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB_5855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear DB_5855,

Thanks for your review.

Apologies that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Hotel. It would seem we fell short of our usually high standards in a few areas during your stay and this will be investigated.

I am pleased to read however that you found the hotel to be very clean and of a high standard in general.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Albans hotels

Amsterdam, Nl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here in December last year because of the low online rate and had such a good time I specifically chose the Noke on my subsequent visit to St Alban's! I have travelled the world, stayed in some of the best and a few of the worst the industry has to offer. I have never, but never experienced such a friendly crew!

From check in to check out ALL the staff are friendly, helpful, attentive and give the impression that they enjoy working in the hospitality game.

Rooms were clean, as was the bathroom suite. No minibars or other nonsense but a several bottles of mineral water and an adequate supply of coffee and tea. Complimentary, of course.

One downside. The first time we were there we ate in the bar-restaurant. Once, but never again. Not a big problem as there are Chinese and Indian restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast (full English) was fine.

A big up to Tom for tolerating my bizarre sense of humour, Christine for making the most decorative coffee concoctions you could imagine and Gemma and Monika on reception for just being wonderfully considerate of newly-arrived guests.

A serious tip of the hat to one person I didn't meet; the manager. Sir or madam, I would be proud to have a team as good as yours. I can only assume you lead by example as this level of quality can not be achieved by coercion.

I'll be back :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillVanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Bill Van Amsterdam,

Thanks for your review.

It was great to read such high praise of the team and your stay in general. I have passed on the feedback to the whole hotel team and specifically the individuals mentioned.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing