We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A second visit”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband was in the area with his work,and since we had stayed in this hotel last time we decided to come back. I asked for the same room as our last stay for our two nights stay,and was very pleased when my request was granted. The room was clean and met all our needs. The staff are all very friendly and eager to help. We decided to dine at the hotel,on our second night,but the food was just acceptable. I also feel the table and chairs are ready to be replaced. The seats have stains and the tables look tired. A nice tablecloth would hide a lot and give a warmer feel to the place. If the table were bistro style it would be different,but the tables gave a cafe "feel." The lounge area also lacks an atmosphere. Its more of a walk through area. Decided to stay for Sunday lunch before leaving. The meal was presented "school meal style". i.e. everything on the plate ready,and very small portions of veg. Again lacking atmosphere, which is such a pity.
A choice of different bread would be nice at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymraes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Cymraes11,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you returned to stay with us again and were happy with the visit.

Regarding the points raised we have just launched a new menu which I hope you will find to be an improvement the next time you are in town. The hotel does have an ongoing refurbishment programme which will be focused on our Noke restaurant in 2015.

Thanks fro all of your feedback and we do look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    227
    185
    108
    89
See reviews for
140
262
33
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and had the displeasure of enduring a 3 course meal in the restaurant. The portions were tiny and the food was really bad. The room was pretty crappy and I was woken at 5am owing to dire curtains and noise all around. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bd108800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear bd108800,

Thanks for your review.

I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We take all feedback on board and will look in to the points raised.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Albans hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Whilst staying at this hotel, the bathroom floor and bath tub was full of loose grout from the tiles, this resulted in cuts to our feet, when mentioned to reception, nothing was offered , just an apology, not good enough.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for tha suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 71Bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear 71Bertie,

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry to hear that you had an issue with loose grout in your bathroom during your stay.

My General Manager would like to speak with you personally on this, if you could email him at bob.bowry@thistle.co.uk.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As we were visiting the Warner Brothers Studios in Watford we needed a hotel within easy reach!! This hotel provided everything we needed and so much more!!! A mere 4 miles from the studios, this hotel offered superb accommodation which met our every need. Rooms were immaculate, bed linen and towels all appeared to be brand new. Swimming pool with towels supplied, sauna steam n jacuzzi, plus a well equipped gym for guests to use at their leisure. Both dining room and bar menus superb, and same choice for room service. Hotel layout inside a little confusing and we did get lost inside a couple of times, but all good fun and added to the enjoyment of staying in it!! Definitely recommend this one!!!!!

Room Tip: Only 2 floors high, lots of different room types, ours was a twin room which was quite large and VER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Charlotte A,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be of such a high standard.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Came here for my moms birthday, as we had tickets to the Harry potter tour. What a hotel! Absolutely lovely and the staff were more than happy to help with anything. The food is better than great and the beds are luxury. Lovely pool and spa pool too. Love this place and didn't want to leave. Will deffo come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Chelsc1989,

Thanks for your review.

It was fantastic to read such lovely comments. I have fed this back to the team this morning and it has certainly perked up their grey Monday.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times. Rooms clean and comfortable. The downside is they can be quite warm, which is fine in cold weather but not so good when the weather is warm. Even though radiators are off I think the problem is the hot water pipes running through the rooms give of a lot of heat.

The hotel has free Wifi throughout, and actually works well throughout the hotel (which is rare in my experience) so this hotel is desirable if Wifi is important for you.

Hotel has a leisure centre (gym, pool, sauna) which is free for guests.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Macboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Macboy5,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased to read that you are a returning guest and that you find the standard & price of our hotel desirable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was dirty ... Very loud and noisy as there was a wedding going on, people that had been drinking causing a nuisance, shouting swearing music which was loud must have gone on until 2am or something silly, dated inside carpet needs a good clean, prices are a rip off

Wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank razzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear RazzLondon,

Thanks for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us recently.

We take all feedback seriously and I will investigate the points you raised in relation to noisy Wedding guests.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing