We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

On arriving at Heathrow at 5am after flying for 36hours we were driving to Cambridge and could not check in for another 8 hours. We called into this hotel to ask about breakfast and maybe a chance for a shower. They could not have been more helpful. They offered a special rate room for several hours enabling us to shower,change and have a marvellous breakfast followed by a couple hours of sleep. A lovely helpful place to be thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Susanne09,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that the team accommodated your needs sufficiently well during your brief stay with us.

I hope the remainder of your trip to the UK is just as enjoyable.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    227
    185
    108
    89
See reviews for
140
262
33
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting a friend who lives in St. Albans. The rooms were adequate and the beds were comfortable. We ordered a flatbread and hummus appetizer through room service. They were out of hummus, but were quick to accommodate us by offering an alternative and not charging us Oak Restaurant was also nice. The hotel is too far to walk into the town, but the hotel was helpful in arranging taxi service.

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Recommend you ask for a room that does not face the courtyard so you can open your drapes and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Laura T,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I came to the hotel last Saturday for a wedding and we had mixed feelings on the hotel. Location is a bit strange and a bit hard to find, however we very much enjoyed the 'Oak restaurant.' Two kind young gentlemen on the bar were keen to help and delivered service with a smile, very easy to talk to also. Food not so nice but staff good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Vanessa S,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that overall your experience with us was a good one.

We hope you visit us again the next time you are in the area.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Gifts were dropped of at the hotel on Saturday morning with clear instructions to the receptionist for the balloon/banners to be put up and the gifts put in the room, NONE of these items were in the room when myself and my husband arrived on the Saturday night. I contacted the hotel on Sunday to ask where the items were and was told there had been no items and they wanted to 'call me back tomorrow!' i demanded to speak to a manager who within 10 minutes had the CCTV footage of the items being delivered to the reception and then into the room. The items were NOT in the room when we arrived on the Saturday but the manager told me he had found them on the table in the room on Sunday....when I arrived to pick up items he changed his story and said they were in fact found in lost property! I was promised i would receive an email by the Wednesday explaining what had happened and where the remaining missing items were. I have yet to receive this email after returning from our honeymoon and will be contacting the hotel again. Very poor customer service and very poor communication

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannah3332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Hannah3332014,

Thanks for your review.

Firstly let me apologise that you are still awaiting communication from the hotel.

Can I ask if you could email me directly so that I can get this issue resolved asap. My email is michael.lee2@thistle.co.uk.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Albans hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel would not get any positive recommendations from me. They overcharged me £34.00 for a room, I paid by cash and they used every excuse under the sun not to refund me even a member from their kitchen team was going to give me the 34.00 out of their own pocket bless them. The reception were absolutely snobby as anything worst thing is there was a party of over 10 of us booked into the hotel for a wedding and they actually had no rooms for them saying we didnt book rooms. Even Vishal clearly said to me i should have given my bank details....listen up Vishal i dont trust companies with my bank details and i prefer to pay by cash for everything. This manager Vishal reduced my children to tears all they offered to pay was a 10.00 complimentary taxi. Please dont stop there worst hotel i have ever been in!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leannenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear LeanneNorth,

Thank you for your review.

I understand your complaint was handled by our Duty Manager whilst you were still at the hotel.

I am sorry you felt you were overcharged for your stay however we did try to explain the reason for this and the charges were applied correctly.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked here for my family get together at my cousins, booked through booking.com, slight confusion at desk but help full.
Our room was a bit noisy during night as we were near a door that guests went out for a cigarette in early ours. Didn't stay for breakfast as they wanted £10pp.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear MCT52,

Thanks for your review.

We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

All the best
Micahel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was for my wife a pleasant visit and a good deal. The whole place was generally well thought out for the disabled. Rooms were clean and air con worked and a choice of pillow type,the provision of atable and chairs in the room was a nice touch. Food very good and bar service excellent. Breakfast was very nice well presented with plenty of choice seen a lot worse and few better for the price.

Room Tip: rooms at rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ketles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ketles,

Thanks for your review.

It was very pleasing to read such positive comments about your stay.

We look forward to seeing you and your wife the next time you are in the area.

All the best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St Albans AL2 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing