We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old pub with great breakfast”
Review of The Lower Red Lion

The Lower Red Lion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Albans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lower Red Lion
Ranked #12 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub with great breakfast”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The landlord is very friendly, a new business. Room was spacious and quiet and very comfortable. Large bathroom. Breakfast was next to a wood burning stove in a panelled bar. Large breakfast and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend. The pub is lovely, beautiful old building with log burners and an ideal place for a drink in St Albans. The location is great, in the lovely old part of town and a short walk to the town centre. Would not recommend it for B&B though. The owner has clearly tried to update the rooms and they are kept pretty clean (and the cleaners were really lovely) but it's been done very cheaply and the beds are uncomfortable and much too small, the rooms are far too hot and we couldn't seem to get the radiator to switch off, the bathrooms are awful - the drains smell and the toilet doesn't flush properly (and is really loud for ages afterwards when it does), the shower over the bath didn't work at all and the bath was too small for a proper bath anyway. Not ideal. There are some shared bathrooms which we had to endure on our first night after being told on arrival that someone else was in the ensuite room we had booked months before. The shared bathrooms are pretty unpleasant and the locks are falling off the insides of the doors. You can also hear everything that's going on in the entire building all of the time. It's a shame as when we eventually met the owner he seemed to be a nice guy, and most of the staff - in particular the breakfast lady - are lovely (with the exception of one particularly unhelpful and rude lady). But we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay make sure you have an en-suite but be prepared for the showers to be bro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparkleylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for our first 5 nights on our first trip to England. If you are looking for a clean room...with no extras in a great location to downtown St. Albans....this would be your room. Everything was very clean & housekeeping kept up very well daily. It is a very old historic pub...and they recently tried to update the decor in the room....but kinda missed the mark. Just doesn't look like it fits the style right and unfortunately looks rather cheap. But everything is new. Beds were rather uncomfortable. The shower in the only ensuite room hardly works....I finally just resorted to baths. The toilet worked....but took us awhile to figure out the right process & was very noisy. They were very accommodating with daily breakfasts in fixing it how we would like and whatever time would work for us. Breakfast was good, presented well, and the breakfast staff friendly in the pub. Parking was a bit tricky....you have to get through an EXTREMELY narrow alley to the parking and then hope there is space....but it worked out with some practice. I will say...the proprieter changed some things so we wouldn't have to switch rooms which we thought we were going to have o do. All in all....it was a decent place and the staff was nice. Great location for St.Albans....just could use a little updating and new beds.

Room Tip: There is only one ensuite room....however te shower hardly works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I spent 2 nights at this pub with rooms over this last weekend. The Welcome upon arrival was very warm and friendly. My room was unbelieveably clean and yet pleasantly quirky. Good sized ensuite with bath and shower. Large walk in wardrobe. The whole place was spotless (can you tell this is important to me when choosing a hotel?). Throughout our stay the Staff were excellent and served SCRUMMY breakfasts very cheerfully. If revisiting St. Albans I would prefer to stay here than any "chain hotel". The location is perfect. You can leave your car here for the weekend and walk everywhere. I was warned about the narrow entrance to the hotels small carpark but I got my 4x4 through with care.

Room Tip: Room 2 has an en-suite not all others do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobweb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
425 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Staff were nice, beer was excellent - probably a nice place to stay and eat - but personally found the trendy 90's decor really off putting in such a historic building and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We enjoyed this accommodation because it was ideally located for exploring the town, we didn't have to go out anywhere for a drink and the cooked breakfast next morning was very good. Not all the rooms were ensuite but we were able to choose which one we wanted and we were comfortable. Excellent well kept Addlestones Cloudy Cider.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Location is good, parking poor,rooms very basic, manager ignorant, bar / beer selection poor. My advice , over inflated prices in St Albans for an average town this is the worst of a less than average selection .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lower Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lower Red Lion

Property: The Lower Red Lion
Address: 36 Fishpool Street, St Albans AL3 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing