We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sopwell House For Business”
Review of Sopwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sopwell House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sopwell House For Business”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I recently held a 7 person meeting using the facilities at Sopwell House and I have to say the whole experience was faultless

The meeting room was excellent, service fantastic and the food was outrageous. My delegates assumed I had spent far more than I did!

Room Tip: Stayed a few times - never a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
It was very much appreciated to receive your kind comments about a business meeting you held recently with us, and we are very glad that you and your delegates had an enjoyable time with us. We do of course hope that you will visit us again in the near future at which time we will be delighted to welcome you.

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    556
    248
    141
    126
See reviews for
459
817
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A group of us had a wonderful overnight stay at Sopwell House. We had a day at the spa with 2 wonderful treatments, an excellent buffet lunch and an incredible 3 course meal. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was lovely with a beautiful view and the beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. Overall, our stay was delightful and I would highly recommend the overnight spa experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay, and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your treatments, lunch and meal. I am of course always pleased to read that my staff have met our guests expectations and beyond, and I hope you and your friends will give us the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here for one night due to a company event. I had a decent sized room and as a few of use were staying I managed to see some other rooms too, including a couple in the mews which were a very generous size! My bed was very comfortable and had a bathroom with a separate bath and shower (unfortunately the show was at a fixed height, which is always frustrating if you are taller than the shower). The bar area was spacious and a good place to work (earlier) and relax (later).

The biggest problem I had was the distance from the reception / bar area to my room (the hotel is deceptively large), but on the plus side it did mean it was a very quiet night and I wasn't disturbed.

Breakfast was decent and the service was good, in fact all the staff I dealt with during my stay were very polite and efficient.

Although I didn't use the facilities, the pool and spa looked very good - ideal for a lazy weekend. If you book in advance it looks like there are some very reasonable deals to be had here.

Recommended if you're looking for a business venue (or somewhere to relax at the weekend) near St. Albans and you have a car to get there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you so much for the comments you submitted regarding a recent stay with us during a company event. I was pleased to read that there were some positive points about your stay, and have taken note of the not so positive ones, and would like to assure you that they will be addressed and will be raised with the relevantg departments and staff concerned.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Sopwell House again in the future, at which time we hope to meet all your expectations.
Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The prices are ridiculous for the quality of service, the standard of cleanliness and general overall experience. I cannot warn people strongly enough about this. I was in a cupboard (albeit not under the stairs) near the lift which made so much noise - along with a wedding party that went on into the small hours. I realise people have to have fun - but I did not get a wink of sleep. I rang the desk at one in the morning and said something next morning but a begrudging sorry doesn't hack it at these prices.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. I was of course sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I have recently been appointed by the owner in order to make some major property improvements, re-directing the staff, training etc.. I would very much like the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made, and indeed give me the pleasure to welcome you back to Sopwell House.

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spodling
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Perfectly nicely fitted out rooms, but the overall hotel lacked atmosphere - hard to say why. Felt too much like a business hotel but dressed up as a country hotel.

Room Tip: Main building rooms better - others in my party said those in the annex are cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spodling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I spent 2 nights here at a conference. This is the second time I've stayed at Sopwell House for the same event and it has been lovely each time. The hotel is in the country but easy to get to by taxi from the station. It is full of football memorabilia which is fascinating and adds to the charm since it is a very old, historic building with new bits added on.

The food is excellent, both in the normal hotel and in the conference centre, and the service is friendly and professional. There is a lovely open fire in the reception area with seating round about. The bar is snug and pleasant. My colleague and zi arrived quite late the night before the event and had a very well cooked steak and nice wine in the restaurant.

My room was quite small both times I've stayed but that is fine when you aren't spending much time in it. My only gripe is that it was cold. Granted, it was exceptionally cold weather, but I normally find hotels too hot. I couldn't find any source of heat at all. I know I should have phoned to get it sorted, but it should be easy to find instructions in the room.

I'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you very much for the kind comments you posted on the Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you found your room to be cold, and my team would have been delighted to have tried to sort it out for you. We look forward to welcoming you again to Sopwell as you mentioned, and endeavour to restore your confidence in us.

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Although we live locally, my husband and I stayed here on our wedding night for a treat. We arrived late to find a bottle of champagne in the room which was a very nice touch. The room was good & breakfast was excellent. Service was friendly and we were pleased with everything.

We shall return for our anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mell0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
6.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,741 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
6.8 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Property: Sopwell House
Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the 2015 Conde Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category 'Best for Meetings' recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing