We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa weekend-fab treatments, spa like sardines...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sopwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sopwell House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spa weekend-fab treatments, spa like sardines...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I cannot fault the hotel, rooms and staff at Sopwell House. I went for a spa weekend. We had a package deal which included 2 x 25min treatments, overnight stay, dinner, breakfast and lunch.

On arrival I was impressed by the reception area, lots of seating and lots of staff around to take your luggage to store. Check in was from 3, however our room was not ready. Slightly absurd I thought as room check out was at 11am! We had treatments booked in at 3pm and 4pm for our group so some of us left for those while others checked in. My room was ready shortly after 3 but others still had to wait quite a while longer.

Rooms were well presented and equipped, comfy beds and clean. Sky tv in rooms. Heated towel rails in bathroom but could do with more hooks to hang robes on.

Spa - We arrived for our treatments, were given slippers and a towel but told there were no robes left. The towels were TINY especially if you are 6 months pregnant! Not great for covering up. The therapists were very efficient, rooms were beautiful and clearly been recently refurbished. I had back, neck and shoulder plus mini facial. It was fantastic.

Changing rooms were rather crammed and lockers were a nightmare. The pool/spa area was like a load of sardines crammed in. Nowhere to sit, nowhere to put your robe and slippers (if you got one!) and people seemed to be very touchy about "their area of the bench" even if they were in the sauna or steam room. Pool was pretty chilly too.

All food was fantastic especially lunch in the brasserie. Puddings were gorgeous. Can't fault the food. Service on drinks wasn't great tho and took forever.

Drink prices=EXTORTIONATE!!!!! £7.50 for a non-alcoholic cocktail, £8.50 for a glass of wine. £2.60 for a TINY glass of coke. Ridiculous really. I drank a lot of water.

Staff were friendly and helpful, it was a nice hotel but as a spa weekend the facilities and space were at fault. Just not enough room for all the extra groups they pile in for day spas etc.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cmorr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review of Sopwell House and I am pleased that overall you seemed to thoroughly enjoy your experience – in particular the rooms, spa treatments, food and our warm and friendly team of staff.

I am also pleased you noticed our newly refurbished spa treatment rooms which are looking just gorgeous and that this added to your experience.

I have noted all your constructive feedback which I will pass to the team for corrective action where applicable so thank you for your valuable comments.

I hope we can warmly welcome you back in the not too distant future and thank you for choosing Sopwell House.

Kind regards



Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    525
    238
    138
    112
See reviews for
413
766
47
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Arrived on a Sunday to check in at 3pm with a girlfriend. Staff all very welcoming and professional. Room was perfect for a one night stay with a lovely bathroom and flat panel TV. Bed was quite soft and room as little hot so I personally found it a little hard to sleep but that was my personal discomfort. The spa itself is very clean and newly refurbished, very nice and simple facilities. My only advice would be to get more rest loungers as both days people were struggling to find a place to put their things and chill into between using the facilities and treatments. Treatment and therapists were lovely and enjoyed them all. Customer care is 5, my friend wasn't satisfied with a particular treatment and wasn't given the full hour so a full refund was given for that treatment. Food was amazing, breakfast, lunch and dinner was all great. Not like some spas where it's "healthy" portions. Overall, the venue, staff and treatments were amazing and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a spa break. I will 100% be returning.

Room Tip: We had the superior twin room which was a great size for two friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your superb review of Sopwell House following your recent visit.
I could not ask for more than a ‘perfect spa break’ and so I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed all our facilities and services.

We are very lucky to have such a wonderful team who thrive on providing excellent service and so we are all very appreciative of your rewarding feedback.

Thank you for sharing your experience and also for your personal recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for an evening event. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Food amazing. Grounds vast and nice to wander around. Problems are, not enough seating in the 2 bars. Taken up by non residents having afternoon tea, spa overcrowded and seats/relaxers all had towels on but in the hour we were in there not used. Room average, chipped bath, no bottled water in room. Not what I've experienced in a room of this price in similar hotels. Also hat to wait over an hour for our room to be ready.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of Sopwell House and for your constructive feedback.

I am glad our warm and friendly team enhanced your stay and thank you also for your fabulous feedback regarding our beautiful grounds and the food which our passionate Executive Chef and his team are always grateful for.

I am sorry you had to wait for your room on this occasion which is very unusual. We are in the final stages of our refurbishment and so I hope on your next stay you will also see a vast difference in the standard of your room.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I hope we can warmly welcome you back to Sopwell House in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Afternoon tea was served in a comfortable, tastefully decorated and comfortable room. We had a nice quiet spot in the corner overlooking the gardens. The staff were friendly and prompt, and we weren't kept waiting. The afternoon tea was very nice, sandwiches were cucumber, smoked salmon, tuna, egg and cream cheese, all very good. The scones were warm and you got a decent amount of clotted cream and spreads. I think what made this a better afternoon tea that some others was the variety of cakes you got, there was something to suit everyone from chocolate eclairs, fruit tarts, mini battenberg, chocolate cake etc. The champagne was very nice, and the tea was Twinings so I was happy.

My only comment is towards the end of our afternoon tea somebody switched the music on and it was like listening to demos playing on a keyboard. It wasn't relaxing and it was a bit naff. If they need to play music maybe some soft piano tunes would suffice.

I would definitely recommend this place and I would take family here as I think it is reasonable value and very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tel77C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Afternoon Tea at Sopwell House.

Afternoon Tea is one of our specialities and we are very lucky to have superb pastry chefs who take so much pride in delivering a wonderful experience.

I am delighted you had a lovely time and I hope you have the chance to try our chocolate inspired version of Afternoon Tea being introduced over the Easter break (see website for details).

In relation to the music you refer to, I take on board your comments fully and we already have plans to introduce our resident pianist for extended hours.

Thank you once again for your fabulous feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was out second visit as a group of four friends to Sopwell House.
Unfortunately this time we were only able to stay for 24 hours but it was still a very enjoyable break.
All the staff are friendly, efficient and eager to please
Rooms - nicely decorated and equipped ( although ours felt a little on the small side it was fine for a one night stay)
Food - Good choice
Spa - The treatments rooms have just been given a make-over and they look great. They're well equipped and staff are excellent - one of the best massages I've had in a long time.
Bar - good atmosphere and some well made cocktails
Setting - We were lucky enough to have sunny weather and this is where the hotel really comes into its own - pretty gardens and a lovely terrace to have drinks on.
Great value for money
We hope to be back - for longer next time

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luctons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very rewarding review of Sopwell House following your recent stay, particularly as a returning guest.

I am so pleased you and your friends had another enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you so well.

We are certainly very lucky to be able to show off our beautiful grounds which are looking just gorgeous at the moment and so I am pleased the sun was shining for you on this occasion.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we can warmly welcome you back for an even longer stay on your next visit.

Kind regards

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Didn't stay overnight and did the signature spa day package with some friends. Having been to quite a few spas I though this was overpriced for what you get. For £125 I got 3 treatments and a buffet lunch and use of the spac facilities such as gym, swimming poll, sauna etc which at the time seemed good value for money but quickly discovered wasn't really. The treatments included a body salt scrub, a shoulder, neck and back massage and a facial. Each 25 min long & done one after the other. Bud after looking at my watch if you include the shower and all the waiting around you only really get a 15 min treatment for each one so thought this was cheeky. Also the spa bag they give you after is a rubbish quuality mini shampoo and conditioner which didn't even foam in my hair. Food was average. Good mushroom soup but the rest was pretty mediocre. Stale bread, salad and a chicken dish which tasted like wine and cream and not much else. I was relaxed and lived the setting of sopwell house but wouldn't say you get value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shiv2012123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Sopwell House although I was disappointed that your experience did not exceed your expectations on this occasion.

We believe our fantastically popular Spa Days are excellent value for money however it is important all our clients understand treatment times will include an element of consultation which is usually approximately 5 minutes depending on the client. This is standard practice in all good Spas and ensures your therapist can meet your individual requirements.

Our travel bags offered as part of our packages include well known ESPA products which is a luxury brand supplying the world’s leading Spas so again, I am sorry you did not personally enjoy these as they are usually well received.

However, I am pleased you still left the hotel relaxed and seemed to love the hotel and grounds and so I do hope you will return again with your friends sometime in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Afternoon tea at Sopwell is a treat for all. Tea this time was served in the sumptuous library ( I have been before for tea in the conservatory ) non intrusive excellent service & delicious food.
I have been going to Sopwell for quite a few years either as a day Spa guest, staying overnight on a Spa break or just eating in either of the 2 restaurants & of course having afternoon tea. The service from all staff has always been excellent and the rooms comfy, clean & quiet. Prices for this quality hotel are reasonable compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Princesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sopwell House, particularly as such a regular and loyal visitor.

Our Afternoon Tea is certainly very popular and I hope you have the opportunity to come and try the chocolate inspired version we have introduced for the Easter period – it is delicious!

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences.

Warm regards

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
6.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.6 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
5.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Property: Sopwell House
Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the 2015 Conde Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category 'Best for Meetings' recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing