We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sopwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sopwell House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Upon arrival we checked into our room which sadly wasn't ready yet but this was not a problem as I was part of the wedding party and only wanted to know where the bar was. Check in staff were friendly and very helpful, as were all of the staff. The building, inside and out is very well kept and is a lovely place without a doubt. The food was amazing.. I'm not a fan of lamb but it was melt in the mouth, very tasty and just right! We then had a hog roast for the evening and that again was the best I've ever tasted! Slowly cooked, really soft and the best I've ever had! Well done chefs (I believe your names were james and mark) top marks! :) the only downside was the bed in my room which was two singles pushed together and felt like two singles mattress as I woke up slightly wedged in the middle of both beds..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingmonkey224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    523
    238
    138
    112
See reviews for
407
762
47
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It's a great place for cocktails they have a great bar and sitting rooms to enjoy with partner or friends. I loved it with both!
Food is fab, service does lack occasionally.
I've done an overnight spa stay which was fantastic price and value.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajfoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here afew weeks ago with partner first arrival was lovely and receptionist staff very helpful and friendly. Room was nice and big and clean. Had several spa treatments whilst we were there and all were above average the spa was very clean and again all the staff were very friendly and helpful. My only annoyance would be that if you get to the swimming pool late other guests reserve beds with their towels but are no where to be seen so there are no beds available.
We visited both restaurants whilst we were there and the food at both was great along with the service albeit a little on the pricey side.
My only other downside to sopwell house is the shower in the room was soooooo bad it dribbled out i have long hair so was impossible to wash my hair. I complained (politely) twice about this but nothing was done and gave up in the end. Considering the amount i paid for my two night stay i would have expected this to be fixed straight away.
Would definitely recommend this hotel on the whole i do think it could do with alittle TLC to a few parts of the building but overall would go again and had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been to Sopwell House few times and loved it every time! A true gem! The staff is very attentive and nothing is too much trouble.

Afternoon tea room is very cosy and warm and the cakes are lovely.

The atmosphere at the restaurant was very pleasant too and we enjoyed our dinner.

Will definitely come back! I've heard good things about the SPA so will try next time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZemG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After a long hard day of visiting Harry potter world, we arrived at Sopwell house, a friendly face greeted us with a complimentary upgrade. We then went to the room which turned out to be a suite with a beautiful view! Our only mistake is that we didn't take full advantage of the spa facilities which we are planning to do in the next couple of months. Overall wonderful stay, beautiful hotel and couldn't of asked for better staff. Made to feel very welcome and definitely will be returning.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was the first time me or my wife had been for a spa break. Sopwell House offers fantastic value for money. All the staff were very professional and could not have been more helpful. The spa treatments were good value and the spa facilities were well maintained. The dinner breakfast and lunch were high quality and made our 24 hour stay that bit more perfect. We will definately look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryannecrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were in St Albans to tour the area as we prepare for a move. The Hotel is located in a tranquil location with beautiful gardens and surroundings. The food, service and setting were fantastic. Having stayed at many hotels/resorts around the world my wife ranks Sopwell House as her favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms ha a great view of the country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
6.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
5.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Property: Sopwell House
Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the 2015 Conde Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category 'Best for Meetings' recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing