We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing spa weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sopwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sopwell House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing spa weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I organised my friends hen weekend at Sopwell and we had an amazing time. The hotel was fabulous and they helped organise the event very well. The staff and management were very professional, ,welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were delicious and the food of a very high standard. Our rooms were modern and very luxurious-we all slept very well!! We were all pampered at the newly refurbished spa and particularly loved the massages and facials. The sun was shining so we were able to spend time exploring the stunning grounds and lounging with a coffee on the patio. I can't wait to return at a later date.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justink77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    535
    241
    138
    117
See reviews for
430
782
47
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with a friend for an overnight spa break. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and courteous. Our room was lovely we had a superior twin which had a lovely view of the gardens. The spa facilities were great, loved the outside sunbathing area it was like being on holiday. Pool area was lovely and clean. The food was also very well done with an interesting selection available to us on our package. Would recommend to anyone for either a girls night or a romantic break

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank denjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Held a business event at Sopwell House Hotel recently and felt compelled to review the place on Trip Advisor to share the experience - am very impressed by the staff, facilities and service!
As an event organiser you need to trust your venues to take care every everything in fine detail - at Sopwell House they do this and some! Everything I needed was in place and nothing was too much trouble for the excellent events team who could not do enough for you and seem to be anticpating our needs the entire time we were at the hotel. This was particularly important when dealing with high profile guests and security issues realting to their visit.
The conference rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard and are contemporary and functional - available for all type and size events giving us flexibility for any last minute changes.
My guests gave me very posotive feedback about the quality of the food which was very well presented and was delicious and served on time.
I will not hesitate to use this venue again for busines events - very reliable, high standards and impressive location. Well done team Sopwell House, see you again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I booked the best room in the hotel for my wife's birthday, the Executive suite. Apparently there are only 3 of these and they are all on the 1st floor east side facing the parking lot! They have small balconies which get a little bit of sun but are mostly shaded by the trees. Our expectations of this room based on the pictures and description were high, but after a late check in as they were very busy, the first room we tried was disappointing as it overlooked the car park. We moved to the other end and mostly had car park but if you stood on one foot and pressed your face up against the glass, you could see some lawn.

The outside spa area was small and there weren't enough lounger beds to accomodate the crowds that flocked outside on a hot day. The lunch outside of the brasserie was very nice as was our dinner inside at the same restaurant but the staff seemed overwhelmed everywhere in the hotel causing delays everywhere. The final sign of this when we ordered breakfast in the room which was very average and it took 1hr20 after a promised 30mins, When it arrived it was cold as was the watery coffee.

The saving grace of our birthday getaway was Grazia, the guest relations lady who totally understands service and was very attentive. She changed our room quickly, sent us Champagne for dinner and had breakfast taken off. The hotel has much potential since its refurbishment and looks very nice but they must think about creating better positioned suites and work on their service and food quality, especially breakfast to be a regular for our weekend getaways.

Room Tip: The execuitve suites all face the car park so if you have expectations of overlooking the lovely St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russco5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here night before Royal Ascot last week.Chosen as we had our wedding reception held here thirty years ago! Still lovely to see the old house still there.We were delighted to be upgraded to a luxury suite.Lovely comfy bed and bathroom was large and modern,great shower and separate bath.Four poster bed,giant plasma screen t.v.,sofa,desk,balconyetc.etc.Mercedes on reception and Davide in particular were most helpful and courteous but as were all staff that we spoke to.Wish I had stayed for longer.Hope we will be back soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at Sopwell House for a Spa escape in Feb this year & really enjoyed our stay. Lovely Hotel grounds, beautiful building inside & out plus an excellent Spa area, one of the nicest we've used. I had a full body massage which was great. Very nice bedroom, spacious and plush. Food was good, breakfast buffet good quality. We had dinner in the main restaurant which was just ok. Nothing terribly wrong just a bit average for the price we paid! Great cocktails and cocktail bar! Would definitely stay again for the Spa facilities & quite fancy trying their Afternoon Tea which looked delicious!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank selena_crosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at Sopwell house 2 or 3 times over the last couple of years. On this occasion I am pleased to say that it seemed to have lifted its standards. Part of this was clearly due to the refurbishment program that has seen significant investment in a number of the rooms and in the Spa area.

The service at reception was slick and professional at check in/out and although I didn't eat in the Brasserie restaurant, room service and the buffet breakfast met my expectations.
The bar food service in the Terrace on Sunday afternoon was a little slow but this was probably due to a large group arriving for afternoon tea.

Like many hotels in and around the London area, Sopwell House employs a number of Eastern European staff. This in my opinion has definitely improved the overall quality of the service here since my last visit. The Bed and Breakfast rates at the weekend were what you should expect this close to London ( B&B £194/ £154) and don't really represent good value for money. Note that it is a lot cheaper to stay on a Sunday !!

Room Tip: Room 262 was quiet and located conveniently close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
6.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Property: Sopwell House
Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the 2015 Conde Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category 'Best for Meetings' recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing