We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ardmore House(St Albans)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Hotel(St Albans)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans(St Albans)(Great Value!)
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel(St Albans)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
178 London Road(St Albans)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,592)
Filter reviews
2,592 results
Traveller rating
1,364
648
279
159
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,364
648
279
159
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breakafternoon teacocktail loungefull body massagespa areabreakfast and lunchexecutive roomhead butlerterrace barbrasserie restaurantlovely spaspa staffsteam roombirthday treatrelaxing weekendsandwichesmy mum
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 2,592 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed one night and did not dine in the hotel as we were meeting friends. The deluxe room was very average for this level of hotel. Nothing special about it at all. Bed was comfy, bedroom was clean. Bathroom needed updating and the water coming from the tap was very slow, it took at good half hour to fill the bath. Didn't feel the bathroom was up to spec or perfectly clean. Breakfast in the Brasserie was quite an experience, it was more like a motorway service station, everybody was crammed in, people had to wait for tables to become free, noise levels was extremely high and the breakfast itself was ordinary. Checkin/out staff and concierge staff smiley and helpful. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank etskni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We held our company strategy day at Sopwell House last week and what a wonderful day/evening it was. The Hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, the breakfast was plentiful and gardens are manicured to perfection. The conference went without a hitch, this was largely due to the staff who were incredibly attentive ensuring everything went as planned.

The evening reception was fabulous, the 3 course dinner was tasty and beautifully presented, it really was service with a smile.

Thank you to all at Sopwell house for a truly fantastic two days, we will most certainly be back in future.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute we walked in the hotel we liked it..they had a card and a desert in room for anniversary ..we ate in restaurant on Saturday night..food was lovely.. And breakfast was one off the nicest I've had..

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 3vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sopwell House is well worth a stay! The spa and pool are great, although the weights room needs improving - it doesnt have enough room to use the free weights, there is, however, plenty of cardio equipment to keep you occupied.

The rooms are nice with VERY comfortable beds. I found it quiet and peaceful - just what you need. It is a reasonably big hotel, so if you're not paying attention, you could end up lost although the staff are great and will point you in the right direction. The grounds are very well cared for and on a sunny day, just fantastic to walk around. Food is pretty good too and the breakfast.....mmmmm - supurb!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank NorthamptonSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Living quite close to the hotel, whenever spas get brought up in conversation Sopwell House is the first local one which people mention so i was expecting a lot from my stay. Unfortunately this wasn’t up to scratch when it comes to service.

Hotel lovely and clean, good excellent standard but service standards is the gap.

Receptionist at reception very friendly however continuously whispered everything, Both of us have excellent hearing but neither my partner and I could hear her when she spoke and she didn’t get much louder when we asked her to speak up a bit.

When sitting in the bar waiting for the bill for a Diet Coke I had to wait 45 minutes for the bill despite the bar being rather empty and going to the bar myself and offering to sign the receipt at the bar but instead had to wait. 4th time going to the bar to ask it finally came.

Final bit is around compulsory service charges - £3.20 for a bottle of coke to which I went down to the bar from my room was passed the bottle at the bar and took back to my room. I feel this is over priced.

As I said hotel is lovely however staff service standards certainly do need to improve to meet the lovely environment they are working in.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesanddamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan E, Deputy General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sopwell House and for sharing your experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and found it lovely.

For the benefit of our readers, our service charge is entirely discretionary and this information is printed on each menu for our guest information. Kindly be advised that we compare our prices to similar establishments in the area and we are no more expensive than anyone else. Finally, I am sorry that you were not able to hear our Receptionist and please do be assured that your feedback has been shared with the team.

I do hope that we have cleared up some confusion for your and would be delighted to welcome you back to Sopwell House in the near future, perhaps to visit our award winning Restaurant which is offering outstanding dinner tasting menus.

With warm regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews