We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
364
173
65
39
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
173
65
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room luxury room afternoon tea beautiful hotel beautiful grounds wedding venue eggs benedict wedding reception no lift wonderful wedding main course verulamium park sunday lunch following morning lovely setting cooked to perfection town centre
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lovely looking hotel and have wanted to stay here for years when we lived in Hertfordshire but never did so took the opportunity when we came back up from Devon for friends birthdays. Nice room, great reception staff and room service tea was lovely. However staff in other areas not so good - lots of them loitering about in corridors chatting and service at breakfast was not great either. Clean sheets dumped in corridors in morning before vacating room. Should probably have said something at the time but didn't want to ruin a weekend. Overall not great value for money. I always thought it was a five star hotel but the three stars on the board is probably all it merits at this moment - at least for our weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nice little hotel. staff friendly , good food . Decent car park ..close to town amenities as well . Boutique style hotel. With a nice bar area and pleasant staff. Worth staying at when in St Albans. Only stayed one time but overall it is very clean and no real outside noises due to its quiet location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkinghrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a conference - the meeting rooms were comfortable and ideal for our small group, with a linked breakout room. The staff were all really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was very comfortable, and it felt like a weekend away rather than work. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was delicious. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Our family of 6 stayed for a weekend. The room was spacious and clean with a fabulous bathroom with a rain head shower. We had a lovely breakfast here . Beautiful grounds and is ideally situated for a 10 minute walk to St. Albans town centre and Cathedral.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A lovely period hotel which has a lot of character. The rooms were very modern and very clean. Also the room had some very nice touches such having its own cafetiere and supply of sweets. Had eggs royale for breakfast which was served perfectly.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Smoulson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews