We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightfully civilized venue and an excellent delicious champagne afternoon tea. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Our visit celebrated my mother's ninety first birthday. St Michaels Manor's setting is delightful; it proved to be ideal for our champagne afternoon tea celebration. The décor of the room, where we celebrated my mother's birthday, was relaxing and just perfect.

The food was presented most attractively and served in the traditional manner on tiered serving plates. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were delicious and more than sufficient to leave us all replete. The tea served was high quality and absolutely delicious; it was served in copious quantities in attractive large tea pots and refills were available too. The champagne was good quality and my mother was presented with a further complimentary glass, a very thoughtful touch which was appreciated.

The unrushed service was attentive but without being intrusive. All in all, we all had a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable afternoon. We can all thoroughly recommend afternoon tea at this venue.

Room Tip: Afternoon tea starts at 3.30 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellyrollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have just stayed one night at St Micheal's Manor Hotel, where I found it to be a most pleasant experience. Upon arrival the staff was warm and welcoming and very polite. Hotel decor is tasteful and within keeping with the building. Breakfast is served in the orangery over looking the grounds, which are beautiful. Great location for restaurants and the cathedral. After checking out of the hotel, they phoned us to tell us i had left a book behind in the room, which they put in the post and it was delivered the very next day, back home. Nothing was too much trouble, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lovely looking hotel and have wanted to stay here for years when we lived in Hertfordshire but never did so took the opportunity when we came back up from Devon for friends birthdays. Nice room, great reception staff and room service tea was lovely. However staff in other areas not so good - lots of them loitering about in corridors chatting and service at breakfast was not great either. Clean sheets dumped in corridors in morning before vacating room. Should probably have said something at the time but didn't want to ruin a weekend. Overall not great value for money. I always thought it was a five star hotel but the three stars on the board is probably all it merits at this moment - at least for our weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nice little hotel. staff friendly , good food . Decent car park ..close to town amenities as well . Boutique style hotel. With a nice bar area and pleasant staff. Worth staying at when in St Albans. Only stayed one time but overall it is very clean and no real outside noises due to its quiet location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkinghrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a conference - the meeting rooms were comfortable and ideal for our small group, with a linked breakout room. The staff were all really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was very comfortable, and it felt like a weekend away rather than work. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was delicious. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Our family of 6 stayed for a weekend. The room was spacious and clean with a fabulous bathroom with a rain head shower. We had a lovely breakfast here . Beautiful grounds and is ideally situated for a 10 minute walk to St. Albans town centre and Cathedral.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A lovely period hotel which has a lot of character. The rooms were very modern and very clean. Also the room had some very nice touches such having its own cafetiere and supply of sweets. Had eggs royale for breakfast which was served perfectly.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Smoulson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,829 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £151 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing