We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe, Calme et Volupté”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Bergschenhoek, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxe, Calme et Volupté”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It is always difficult to judge of the services of a hotel that is using a very old house as its infrastructure. You can't really expect the internet or all installations to be top notch, as every 20th century feature has been sort of bolted on a building that was not designed for it.

In the case of the St Michael's Manor in St Albans though, they have done a great job of it (And the internet works very well!). This is really an ideal destination for those lovers of "old and beautiful". The manor is well preserved, elegant and comfortable, and surrounded by inspiring and harmonious gardens.

The staff is discrete and extremely professional, an example of British hostelry at its best.
We stayed with 2 young children and have received excellent and attentive service from everyone. The room was clean and functional, including the cleverly modernized bathroom. The room we had was facing West so took the full sun all afternoon and was quite hot by end of the evening. Not to worry about, the air con is very silent and effective.

The hotel does not have a gym, but is 100m from the beautiful Verulamium park, in which there is all the space needed for a great work out.

We did not test the restaurant for dinner, but had breakfast twice, and it was just great. Bio products, variations of British breakfast served very quickly and hot, and it all tasted delicious.

Oh yes... and the mini shampoo and conditioner in the room are Paraben free! That's really rare!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the lobby and main entrance in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibaut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    142
    55
    35
    15
See reviews for
143
229
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
aston
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We visited St Michaels for a cream tea this week. The staff were very helpful and polite - we changed our order on arrival which was no problem. The surroundings are beautiful. Many thanks to all who made us so welcome, and for a delightful afternoon tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Loved this hotel, rooms are clean and beautiful, we stayed in Mulberry, it had a four poster bed and the ensuite was hidden in the cupboards! If you want a treat and have no worries about spending money then stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanegarneruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here with our baby son in order to attend our friends' wedding and had a marvellous time. In a nutshell, this is a very posh hotel and hence had a price tag to match - but as a one-off treat, it was worth the expense. The orangery made a beautiful setting for the wedding ceremony and the gardens and lake are just delightful. This place has the look and feel of an opulent country house hotel but with the added benefit of being easy walking distance from the cathedral and the city centre.

Our room (called "Hornbeam") was a decent size, with a view of the garden, and there was plenty of space for a large cot to accommodate our baby. The bathroom was also large and luxurious, with loads of fluffy towels. Breakfast was generous and delicious and the wait staff were attentive. Would recommend this hotel if you're willing to splash out a bit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sognoditalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

we have just spent overnight stay at st. michaels for a wedding reception. Everything was 'spot on'! and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The setting is beautiful, take time to walk round the lake, it is worth it!

The wedding reception was very good as well.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a view over the gardens , they are so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We hired a conference room for some internal meetings followed by an over night stay and were very well looked after throughout.
Delicious pastries on arrival and a super hot buffet brought in at lunch time, the 7 of us were unable to get through it all, though we gave it our best!
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and all done with a smile.
We all commented how super the rooms were. I was in the attic above the conservatory, a lovely room with wonderful views of the lake. The bathroom had lots of towels, dressing gowns and toiletries and some thoughtful touches of bottled water and good single filter coffees.
The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in!
Breakfast was a relaxed affair with delicious yoghurts, pastries and an extensive range of hot food and they looked after our ever whim.
The weather didn't allow it, but there is a super patio area looking down over very looked after gardens down to the river.
Good central location, plenty of parking and nicely tucked away off the main road so a nice quiet spot.
I would highly recommend this hotel, it would be nice to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckslady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It's quite difficult to put into words how well the whole event was handled at this fantastic venue. I must add that this is not the result of the rosy afterglow of a young couples big day, but of a couple of an age where we know better and the onslaught of positive responses from friends and family. In order to make this less rambling we've broken the explanation down;

Venue - As good as it looks in the pictures, no manipulation, it is that attractive. It's the detail though that's impressive, from the fixtures and fittings to the fact it's scrupulously clean and well maintained. The rooms were again of high quality with lovely touches, over 15 rooms were booked with not one complaint, which from the Bride and Grooms view was very satisfying.

Food - Just quality, the guests were surprised that 100+ meals could be delivered so quickly and of such high standard. The options prior to the wedding were fantastic and the (apparently refitted kitchen) did a wonderful job. The evening buffet was totally on the mark and again wonderful options some of which we would never had considered, but on reflection were inspired.

Staff - Here is where it all comes together, the staff were amazing. From our wedding co-ordinator Lauren, the front of house staff, they all work efficiently and with energy and most importantly with a smile on their faces. Even when we spectacularly messed up our seating plan it wasn't long before they had us back on track and as mentioned earlier still delivered our food to such a quality.

In summary St Michaels Manor may not be the cheapest place to hold your wedding, but if you want a quality service and a team of people who will reduce the stress of the big day and ensure your guests are treated wonderfully I'll doubt you'll find better options.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,741 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing