We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from our sons wedding held at the wonderful St Michael's Manor. What a perfectly stunning setting for a truly romantic wedding. The interior does not disappoint either -beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished. Our bedroom was extremely comfortable and quiet with a luxurious feel. We found the staff to be vey friendly and helpful in fact nothing was too much trouble. The food throughout the entire weekend was delicious and the service was first class. We are so impressed with this venue, we really could not fault it. We would not hesitate in recommending this venue for a wedding, anniversary, or indeed for the perfect break. Thank you so much for helping to make our sons wedding fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I recently went for a midweek special occasion dinner: we paid about 65 pounds for 3 courses each and including a bottle of wine and coffee. A fair price, given the quality ambiance. However, the portion sizes of the food (starter, main and pudding) were tiny: seriously small. For this reason, and this reason alone, a rating of 3 stars (out of 5). We probably wouldn't return. For this reason alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReviewingHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at St Michael's Manor for a late September family wedding.
What a perfect, romantic setting. Couldn't fault a thing, the food is delicious, staff friendly and attentive- especially the Restaurant Manager and his bar staff.
The wedding breakfast was delicious and a great party had by all afterwards.

We stayed in a fabulous room, named Fir, balcony overlooking the grounds, pure luxury.
The breakfast...probably the best we've ever had! Eggs Royale, definitely recommend.

We'd come back again in a heartbeat, thank you St Michael's Manor!

Room Tip: Fir is a stunning room overlooking the lake and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for our friend's wedding and we were really impressed. The house and grounds are stunning and the staff really friendly.

As a wedding venue it is ideal- you have the run of the whole estate and it has a personal feel to it. The food was lovely and the setting stunning.

We stayed in one of the larger rooms, with a separate sofa and tv area and monster bathroom- perfect. The bed was comfortable and the decor designer.

In the morning we both had the full English breakfast which was really tasty and not pretentious at all.

Would return for a very luxurious treat, ideal for anniversaries.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Wide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My Husband and I got married in Sep 2012 and held our wedding reception at the Hotel as exclusive hire which was just excellent. We returned this year to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary by having an evening meal and staying over. We were warmly welcomed back and given an upgrade to one of the luxury suites. Once in our room we found a lovely note and bottle of bubbly from the hotel staff. We were given a great table for our meal and had Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on our dessert plates which was a lovely touch. The staff were so attentive, warm and friendly and felt that they couldn't do enough for us. The food was heaven and the room and grounds were truly wonderful. It was so special to enjoy a quiet stay at the Manor. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prochile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Held my daughters wedding here and I have to say that everything was perfect. The staff were excellent and always there to cater for our every need. The location and setting and general layout of the hotel is excellent for weddings and there is an excellent atmosphere about the hotel which makes it feel like you are hosting an event in your own private country house. Every member of staff was faultless and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Many thanks to richard, lauren and all their excellent team for all their hard work in making our daughters wedding so wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ag10051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our son's wedding with lots of Family and Friends also staying in the Hotel.
The Staff work so hard turning the fabulous garden room into three different venues , ceremony, wedding breakfast then evening reception without us even being aware.
we all agreed the staff and how accomodating they were really made the weekend special.
It is a beautiful place made better by the people who work there.
HoweverI would agree with one reviewer , if staying in the suite above the wedding venue with children it could be noisy if you are not part of the wedding party.Love the place, as been said before.

Room Tip: We stayind in Beech, which ovelooked the quiet road.Bed was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,806 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £127 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing