We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on 22nd November as a joint birthday treat. We had a lovely meal in the Lake Restaurant, the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed too much bother. The room was very nice and had beautiful en suite bathroom, my only criticism, the room was far too hot. Would definitely return for another treat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your compliments about our food and service and we're obviously pleased your birthday treat was a success. We’d love to welcome you back.

A good point was raised about the hot bedroom. The core heating of the building takes a while to regulate and sometimes it can permeate into the bedrooms. My apologies for this oversight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

My teen son and I were planning a visit to Warner Bros. Studio to take the Harry Potter tour. This was great timing as it was Hogwarts at Christmas - added bonus. We were going to travel with my friend from my university days and her teen daughter. This hotel is one of the hotels listed on the website - be aware you would not be able to walk to Warner Bros. The hotel offers a Warner Bros. deal but the taxi trip is only one way - not sure how you are supposed to get back, but in the end my friend drove their and back - about 20 mins each way.

We arrived at the hotel early on the day of our arrival, and they stored our luggage while my son and I went to see the town of St Albans and get a bite to eat. The gate to the town is amazing - Peasant's Revolt went through there. We went into the Cathedral and the Abbey of St Albans and had noon communion around the tomb of St Albans. Amazing building, and just a short walk up Fishpool street from the hotel.

We got back and our room (the Elm room was ready). We had two twin beds - smallish room, but comfortable and functional. Separate toilet from the bathroom. Bathroom had a shower with a rain shower head and hand held head. Soap, shampoo, conditioner. Great hairdryer (very fast drying). Water provided each day of our stay.

Breakfast was included in the rate and we could have it either in the dining room or our delivered to our room.

All rooms are upstairs, and the Elm room is on the second floor - no elevator, but Shaun was great and carried our heavy bags up the stairs and provided great directions and maps for getting around the town. Shaun suggested a great Indian restaurant and also helped with getting us a place for a cream tea when the hotel was full on the Sunday afternoon - note, if you want one of their cream teas - make an appointment.

So the Cathedral and Clock Tower were up the road to the right - as were most of the restaurants. A couple of pubs and the Roman museum and wall and mosaic is to the left down the road. Note the pubs are not open for dinner on Sunday night.

My friend and her daughter had the almond room on the third floor - larger room than ours, and again two single beds and separate toilet from the bathroom, but think they had a bath.

Great stay, and after seeing Watford (where Warner Bros. is located) would choose this hotel to stay at for any return visit to see Harry Potter.

Would stay again, and the town has great Roman and English history.

Room Tip: Elm and Almond are rooms with twin beds. If not much luggage, choose the Almond room. If lots of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We very much appreciate the time and dedication this reviewer has taken, along with the tips, not just about the hotel but also about the St Albans area. A good point was raised about the twin rooms, of which we only have a few, but we do also have a few suites and are also able to put extra beds in some of the larger rooms.

This is the first review from a guest that has benefited from our Warner Bros Studio ‘package’. The comment regarding a taxi to the studio (one way) has been something we debated at length and it proved too difficult to include a return as the tours seem to have different lengths and timings. We’re constantly monitoring this though, to see if we can offer both ways.

I have passed on your comment about our helpful staff, which always helps their continued motivation, and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First impression - the room was crowded and the tables put together for our party were not of the same height.
A good variety of teas was offered (but made with tea bags). The sandwiches were made from too thick sliced bread for tea-time fare and the white bread wasn't very good. The fillings were sparse and uninspired, there were 4 varieties. The scones were over-baked and most had collapsed instead of risen evenly. I didn't find a strawberry in my jam! My expectations of "afternoon tea" were not met.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We are pleased that the guest has also taken the time to email the General Manager, who has responded directly. Obviously we’re disappointed that no issues were raised at the time nor did the afternoon tea meet their expectations.

Having taken these comments seriously we examined the security CCTV camera in our lounge, where the Afternoon Tea is normally set. We are somewhat confused by their statement as we observed these four guests, the only table of four that day, sitting comfortably at a single table (for six people) in the best position the lounge has to offer. With a capacity to easily seat 24 people, there were never more than six other people taking tea in the lounge at the same time as these guests.

We served 20 teas on this day, without comments from any guests. The popularity of these teas (around 150 per week) means we take great pride in their importance, yet we are always open to constructive ideas, and ambitiously even try to please ‘all of the people all of the time’. With the latter in mind we have moved away from loose-leaf tea and ‘chunky’ jam.

We would welcome the opportunity to have the guests revisit and redress their concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Have just spent a night at this Hotel and can only recommend it. The room was lovely with a beautiful en suite. We had our evening meal in the Lake restaurant and it was first class the waiters were really nice and cheerful. The grounds at the hotel are fabulous and it was nice to be able walk around the lake and into the park next to it. I would be delighted to return at a later date. The breakfast was also very good. The only slight dowside was that some people do not know how to close their doors quietly. Not the fault of the hotel. The whole staff, from the reception through the bar and waiters were great.

Room Tip: We were in Hornbeam and had lovely views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghGirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your touching review. We have many compliments in our Guest Book that don't reach TripAdvisor. I will, however, take on board your comments about the noisy doors. Despite the fact that we are a lovely old 16th century building we should still be to come up with a suitable solution. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a company lunch for 80 people to celebrate completion of a major project. From the moment we arrived until we departed the service and organisation were very poor. The welcome drinks were set up in a small bar so we had to file in a take a glass ratjher than have staff with trays in reception. The room wasn't ready so there was an extended wait to sit down. Each dish was served to the whole room separately - as a consequence there was a wait of approximately 10 minutes at most tables between the first dish arriving and the last.
A written complaint to the manager, hand delivered, has not received a reply.
No doubt with their location and reputation they have a queue of wedding parties at the door.
I have had far better service from other venues for events of this type and won't be returning

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Iceni_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We are disappointed and surprised to hear of this dissatisfaction as we made every effort to explain to the guest, in advance and on several occasions, the risks of trying to serve 80 people at the same time with different dishes. Despite our insistence that this was the incorrect dining choice our advice was not taken and we were persuaded, against our better judgement, which has obviously proven to have been a mistake.

The General Manager responded to the written complaint as soon as he had a chance to consult with his assistant, who was personally assigned to the group, but went on leave for three weeks before it was received.

We have gained nearly fifty years of expertise in dealing with functions of this size and, as the guest correctly pointed out, a large number of weddings per annum. It’s a shame that their experience has been tarnished as we would love to restore their confidence and show them what we can really do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Have just returned from this simply lovely hotel where my wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary with my sister in law and my brother who was celebrating his birthday. The staff were v friendly, attentive and helpful. The chef deserves a special mention. We had fixed price menu which had good choice and was v good value (£17-£21 per head) and was lovely. We'll all be back!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden although all rooms to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

It's fantastic to see you return to us on such a high note. The Lake Menu, you mention, changes every two weeks to encourage guests to return more often and offers five choices per course at great value and in such a nice setting. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great service from very attentive staff helped by it being a Monday and not too busy. We all sat in the lounge whilst selecting three course from their set menu for £21. Sat through lunch with the sun coming through the conservatory and nearly forgot we were there to work! wine was excellent choice by our guest - Crozes Hermit. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaldon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
6.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
561 reviews
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
14.2 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £140 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing