We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Faultless!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I have not long since returned from a stay at St. Michael's Manor, where the standard of service and accommodation was exceptional. The efficiency, professionalism and friendliness of the staff, which was evident from my initial enquiries right through to my stay itself was superb - second to none.
My room commanded views over the lake and garden, lovely even at this time of the year, and was both very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
I ate in the restaurant, where the service was first rate and the meal itself beautifully presented and delicious. Breakfast was served in the Orangery by attentive and friendly staff and offered a wide selection of both continental and cooked dishes.
A relaxed ambiance combined with such grandeur, together with the Manor's delightful setting and proximity to the town centre surely must make this hotel the perfect choice for a visit to St. Albans.
This stay was booked as a surprise for my elderly Mother who was celebrating her 84th Birthday. She was born in Fishpool Street and knew St. Michael's as the manor house it was long before it became a top class hotel. Our trip was therefore very special and St. Michael's certainly lived up to and far exceeded our expectations.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your review and very kind words. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay for your Mother's celebrations and particularly as she has such strong connections to the hotel.

The team take great pride in the service we provide and creating a welcoming and homely atmosphere at the hotel for all of our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to St Michaels Manor again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    140
    54
    35
    14
See reviews for
139
228
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at St Michaels Manor in January 1964 and to celebrate our Golden wedding anniversary I rang to book a room telling them it was a special occasion and also my husbands 75th birthday .
The hotel is still lovely with magnificent lake views but we were so disappointed to be put in a small attic room up several flights of stairs (no lifts) there was a small shower room (immaculately clean ) but you could hardly turn round it. My husband has had recent knee replacements and really struggled with the stairs so we asked for another room but none available.
The Manager queried whether we really did have our reception there in 1964 as he said he didn't think it was a hotel then. I can assure him we did and that it was a hotel. I have the photos to prove it!!!
On the positive side we enjoyed our (expensive) meal and had delightful and efficient service from a young Czech girl.
The breakfast was very good too.
We just went away feeling sad that having emphasised on the phone the double celebration we had such a poor room tucked away up so many stairs.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We have 30 totally unique and different styles of rooms in the hotel and I am sorry that we were not able to change rooms for you on this occasion. Due to the fact that we are a listed building, regrettably we are unable to have a lift in the hotel but I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back for future celebrations when we can find a more suitable room for you.

Thank you for your compliments regarding your dinner and breakfast. We endeavour to offer the best value for money with our menus and have just launched our new a la carte menu at £34 for three courses, alongside our lake menu for £21 for three courses including coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

On a recommendation I booked in solo for a single night. I asked for a quiet room. It was perfect. Part was luck, there seemed only a few other guests. I'm local so I ate in the restaurant The Lake at the hotel. It was delicious and the service outstanding. My room was on the second floor and I heard no noise at all. The bed was very comfortable. I got a really good deal through a booking agency and didn't expect the grandest room. It was perfect size for 1 or 2. I did have a nose around and there are some very large beautiful rooms. Had a walk around the grounds in the evening and in the morning after breakfast. It was very peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast, again was gorgeous and the service perfect.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank StAlbansKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your kind words to all of the team at the hotel. We have 30 totally unique rooms at the hotel and I am very pleased to hear that we found the perfect room for you. Please do look at our website for all of our latest special offers and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night just prior to xmas and wish it had been longer.

The service was excellent throughout. Our room was of a very good standard and bathroom facilities were exemplary. Very clean with lovely bed sheets and the fluffiest of bath towels and robes.
We ate in the restaurant for dinner and found the level of food quality, of the highest calibre. Plates were very nicely dressed and succulent in taste. A very good breakfast in the morning with an absolute spoiling of choice and selection.

Well done to all staff and employees for ensuring an excellent experience.

This is a hotel that I will definitely be returning to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us last month.

Our head housekeeper treats the hotel like her own home, showing through in the attention to detail within our rooms, and was very pleased to hear your comments. I will also pass on your kind comments to our head chef and his team regarding your dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to St Michaels Manor again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for my wives birthday . Great place with excellent staff and a fantastic whisky collection. The room was at the top floor but was perfectly appointed and a great bathroom. The only very minor down point was that the room was on the warm side but this was easy solved with an open window. Breakfast was one of the best I had in a very long time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheovanEeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the hotel and the team. We are proud of our great whisky collection with currently just under 50 different selections.

I am grateful for your comments on the temperature of the room and also pleased to advise that all of our rooms are fully air conditioned to accommodate each of our guests' personal preferences.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to the hotel again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington S
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

As a regular guest at the Manor (over 100 room night a year), I decided to treat my family to New Year's Eve at the hotel, including the seven course dinner.

Richard, the always excellent GM, kindly upgraded us to a four poster room for the two nights we were there, which was a nice gesture, much appreciated.

The dinner menu consisted of seven courses, starting at 8pm. The timing of service was well thought out, and the entire meal was served over about 3 hours. The menu was quite creative and the quality of the food was superb. My 14-year old son had a "custom" menu put together in consultation between himself and Arek, the Restaurant Manager - another example of the attention to detail that characterises the Manor.

The evening was, however, somewhat marred around midnight. A number of septuagenarian idiots decided to let off industrial-sized confetti bombs. This was despite having been instructed by management not to (apparently they had ruined a Christmas Eve party at the hotel a few years earlier in similar fashion). However, the ignored this request, and also ignored the fact that they were ruining the occasion for 100 other people who had paid £125 per head.

The outcome was the somewhat odd sight of seeing a well-spoken 70 or 80 year old in full black tie garb swearing at the GM as he and his party were ejected, much to the pleasure of the other diners.

It goes to show that you can be a chav at any age or in any income bracket......!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simonr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments. It was wonderful that you chose to celebrate New Year's Eve at St Michaels Manor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again.

We take great pride in our attention to detail and the fact that you choose to stay with us on such a regular basis. Thank you also for your compliments on the special menu that was meticulously created by our Head Chef which I will pass on accordingly.

We are very grateful for your continued support and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to St Michaels Manor again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at St Michael's Manor in October '13. It couldn't have been any more perfect.

A big factor in this was the venue and the staff at St Michaels Manor. Every single member of staff went out their way to be as helpful as possible. In particular Sean and Richard were spectacular. The attention to detail and dedication of the staff was plain to see for all.

The food was delicious and well presented, the bridal suite is outstanding and has a great balcony with a view out on the beautiful gardens and lake. The added personal touches made our day even more special and really highlighted how attentively we had been listened to through the planning stage.

We will certainly visit there again and would whole heartedly recommend this not just a wedding venue but a great hotel for people looking to stay in St. Albans.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranewman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your review, it was an absolute pleasure looking after you and your family and friends for your special day which we will always remember.

We were very grateful to read your comments about the team at St Michaels Manor who all take great pride in looking after our guests at the hotel. On behalf of the team, I wish you both a very happy and prosperous marriage and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,718 reviews
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
14.2 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing