We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not as classy as I had hoped....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you want to see St Albans this is the ideal location. Easy to find, good car park and friendly staff. We stayed for just one night and overall we did enjoy our stay. The hotel is a mixture of being a classy manor house, modern refurbished rooms and en suites to match. Unfortunately there is a feel of tiredness in a number of areas albeit well maintained and equipped. The grounds are lovely but as there was so much rain, we could not take advantage. We stayed on a Monday and it was very quiet in the hotel, there only seemed to be three or four other residence. Our room was right at the top of the hotel - 2nd floor loft room. The view from one of the two windows was the air conditioning plant positioned a metre or so from the window. I suppose we were a bit disappointed about the room and would have preferred a room on the first floor, but our room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was fine in terms of the quality of food and amount. However the service was very slow and we had to remind both the waiter and waitress about things, but it did not spoil things. I think we would come back because of the location and friendly staff but I think it is a little expensive.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a top floor loft room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silverfoxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to return to St Michaels Manor on your next visit to St Albans.

I was sorry to hear that you thought that there are a number of areas with a feel of tiredness. Over the past three years, we have renovated the whole of the hotel and bedrooms in keeping with both the age of the building and also up to date features for the modern traveller.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast which we will certainly take on board and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We have the benefit of having 30 totally individual rooms at St Michaels Manor and please do not hesitate to contact me directly to make any reservations so that I can ensure that we have the perfect room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for St Michael's Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband booked us in to St Michael's Manor for a Valentine's meal and overnight stay. Unfortunately, his flight home was delayed so we were late arriving. He called them to advise and they were very accommodating and put our table back by half an hour. On arrival we were directed to our room; this was on the other side of the restaurant and meant walking through the restaurant (full of diners) to reach it. This felt odd and not exactly creating a great ambience for the diners. Even a screen at the edge of the restaurant would make a huge difference. We have stayed in this hotel before, but many years ago and it has had a re-furb since then. Our room was very tastefully decorated and I loved the fact that the bathroom was behind the same mirrored doors as the wardrobe and cupboard so it all blended together. We had a lovely view of the lake from our room and it was so peaceful we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. In the morning we turned up for breakfast at 9.45am to be told that it ended at 9.30 (a piece of information I obviously didn't take in at check-in). This did seem a tad early for a weekend, but in any event the waiter told us that they would make an exception and serve us. There was a good choice of food, albeit the buffet was all but finished. The food for our dinner the night before was good, but we would like to return and choose from the A la Carte (since it was Valentine's there were only two choices for each course). The staff were very good and attentive whilst not being annoying. Overall we had a very good evening and overnight stay and will definitely return in the summer when we can enjoy the surroundings more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. I was also pleased to hear that we were able to be flexible on a couple of occasions regarding your dinner reservation and breakfast, we do appreciate that plans can change and we always do our utmost to accommodate your requests.

Our rooms in the garden wing are indeed fabulous and we are grateful for your comments regarding the access to these through the dining room.

Thank you for your compliments on your dinner and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to try our a la carte menu in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I'm finally writing this after a long drawn out issue with the hotels management has been resolved. We attended our friends sons wedding and the place (venue + food)was great, sadly the same can't (from our perspective)be said about some of the staff and the hotels upper management. We had an issue on the night which was handled in such a way that we were made to feel that,despite being the wronged persons, we were the guilty party. We escalated this to the manager the following day but didn't feel we were at all being dealt with sympathetically. A long email conversation then ensued which eventually ended with one of the hotels directors becoming involved. It's finally been sort but my advice is : Great hotel, Great location but let's hope you don't have any issues that need dealing with,as for us that's where it all fell down.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Adrian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very grateful for your compliments regarding the hotel and food and glad that you enjoyed attending the wedding of your friend’s son.

I was sorry to read that despite our best efforts to go the extra mile you still feel aggrieved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

faultless stay. immaculate and modern room. lovely meal in the evening, service very good at every level. super breakfast, probably a bit too much. excellent VFM and the best four star hotel we've stayed in to date. lovely setting too, despite the drab weather. thoroughly recommend.and we'll definitely be back again

Room Tip: ask for a room with a rain shower.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review and kind compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly your comment that St Michaels Manor is the best four star hotel that you have stayed in.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, please do look at our website for all of our latest special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A secret gem hidden away on the edge of town with gardens reaching down to the river. Will be great in the summer weather with large terraces and stunning views. A large property, NO LIFT, well decorated, large public areas. Private parking. Decent kitchen serving "normal British" food. Bedrooms well appointed, country style decor, comfortable bed,good bathroom, perhaps a little small. Downsides....staff attentive but all look so miserable, poor reception desk (just a large hole in a wall) , bar needs refurbishment. Breakfast was well presented and good. This hotel,I understand, is privately owned and management need to review the reception ambiance. First impressions count, a small investment could reap a large reward. If the location is good for you then well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room, unless you like climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangeMonteCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review and kind compliments regarding your stay. We are also grateful for your suggestions as to how we can improve the hotel and will certainly take these on board.

Regrettably we are unable to have a lift at the hotel due to listed building restraints however we are always happy to discuss each of our guests' specific requirements to ensure that we have the perfect room for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you are staying in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

It soon becomes obvious that this is a privately owned and run top quality hotel. Whoever put this place together has travelled, tried the best and brought some of this experience to St Michaels Manor. Subtle touches of class here and there all add up to a very individually styled hotel.
My breakfast was excellent with the best ingredients served by pleasant attentive staff. Can't wait to come back and try the extensive Lakeside restaurant dinner menu. Marvellous, well done who ever you are!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We take great pride in St Michaels Manor and having been owned by the same family since the early 1960s, we are able to take advantage of their great level of experience in running a quintessentially English manor house hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel and restaurant. Please do not hesitate to look at our website for all of our special offers and best rates available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from spending a night at this hotel and I was so impressed. My only complaint was that our room was a bit too warm, but I solved that by turning the heating off. Simple. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the shower was brilliant and everything was clean. The breakfast was delicious - especially the sausages - and the fish we ate last night was cooked to perfection. The staff are lovely especially the lady with the very long hair who runs the bar. Sadly the staff could do nothing about the weather which was awful but we will most definitely go again. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at St Michaels Manor. All of your kind comments have been shared with the team and thank you for the special mention for Liz at the bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, perhaps in the warmer months when you will be able to enjoy our fantastic gardens in the sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,780 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £114 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing