We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely a fault!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Barely a fault!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked a room for a 1 night stay, including Dinner and Breakfast for a short break for myself and my girlfriend and we were not disappointed!

The Premier Room that we booked was great and looks exactly as it does in the picture. It was very clean, comfortable and well maintained, plus the bed was fantastic and I had one the best nights sleeps I have had in ages.

The 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant in the Hotel was exactly as you would expect, excellent.

The only gripe that I had was that I did request a a Vegan option for my girlfriend when I made the room and dinner reservations, and then double checked they were aware upon check-in on our arrival of which they said yes. Unfortunately they waiting staff were un-aware of this and there was no alternative to the main menu when we came to order.

That being said, they Kitchen and Restaurant staff dealt with the situation very well and we have a very good meal which included an off the menu Vegan desert specially made for her.

Despite the mis-communication over the Vegan options on the menu, i would thoroughly recommend the Hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area and i will certainly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The Chesnut Room overlooks the garden is very clean and comfortable (picture on the Hotel website)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    140
    54
    35
    14
See reviews for
139
228
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Although this hotel is almost on my doorstep I had never been to it before this visit. The occasion was a friend's birthday celebration attended by me and some of his immediate family. As a 'Blue Badge' user I had hoped to find some convenient 'parking for disabled' bays but saw none and had to take a bit of a walk through the lengthy and very full car park. The rain did not help my disappointment. It was also a pity that I had to ask one of my fellow guests to carry my bags to my room as there seemed to be a shortage of available staff.

After a couple of drinks served in the bar by a very cheerful lady my attitude improved and was further heightened by the excellent service of the restaurant staff and the fine dining which exceeded my expectations.

I had a good night's sleep but was surprised to be woken at 7.30 on Sunday morning by what sounded to be a vacuum cleaner and its user talking over its noise to a colleague.

Unfortunately breakfast that morning rather let the side down. The staff seemed disinterested and needed to be prompted to take our breakfast orders and even had to be reminded that tea, coffee and toast would be welcome.

As I was a friend's guest I did not feel it my place to complain but I hope that the hotel management will read this review and note my comments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I booked this hotel as a treat for my other halfs birthday. Before we arrived i went earlier in the day and dropped off a cake and asked if they would leave in the room as a surprise which they were more than happy to do for me and they ended up setting it out beautifully for me! The hotel is very easy to find, has a great car park and within a perfect distance from the shops and restaurants in town. The grounds are stunning and very peaceful. On arrival we were shown to our room and all staff wished my other half a happy birthday. Our room was a great size, had a lovely big comfortable bed and lots of lovely added extras. Even though we slept in we were still able to order breakfast to our room. There was lots of choice, service was very quick and when it came it was presented very well and was great all round! The atmosphere of this hotel is lovely, my other half and I felt so relaxed the one evening we stayed there and we didnt want to leave. We are already planning our next stay and cant wait to go back. I would definetly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casperherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we were delighted to be able to look after you both for such a special occasion. We take pride in our service and always try to go the extra mile creating a elegant and homely atmosphere at the hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that you were only able to stay for the one evening but we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Please see our website for all of our latest special offers and the best rates available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are lovely and the atmosphere is wonderful too. The view from the room and restaurant were stunning. It is expensive but your'e paying for quality. We would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

We are lucky to have a beautiful setting in 5 acres of manicured gardens, including our lake. We are very proud of the food, service and atmosphere in The Lake Restaurant overlooking our grounds and with 30 individually styled rooms, we are able to find the perfect room for each of our guests' requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, please see our website for all of our latest special offers and the best rates available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Have been to St Michael's Manor many times over the years and really must commend the management and staff for all that they do. Beautiful surroundings, great views and old fashioned lake with carp and fake heron to boot.
Worth popping in for tea, high tea, dinner or even overnight.
Lovely place anytime of the year.

Room Tip: New block further from the main road. Manor pretty classy and older in style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review and praise for the hotel. We take great pride in our service and the quality of the hotel and we are very grateful for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future occasion and perhaps even the real resident heron will be here to greet you also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you want to see St Albans this is the ideal location. Easy to find, good car park and friendly staff. We stayed for just one night and overall we did enjoy our stay. The hotel is a mixture of being a classy manor house, modern refurbished rooms and en suites to match. Unfortunately there is a feel of tiredness in a number of areas albeit well maintained and equipped. The grounds are lovely but as there was so much rain, we could not take advantage. We stayed on a Monday and it was very quiet in the hotel, there only seemed to be three or four other residence. Our room was right at the top of the hotel - 2nd floor loft room. The view from one of the two windows was the air conditioning plant positioned a metre or so from the window. I suppose we were a bit disappointed about the room and would have preferred a room on the first floor, but our room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was fine in terms of the quality of food and amount. However the service was very slow and we had to remind both the waiter and waitress about things, but it did not spoil things. I think we would come back because of the location and friendly staff but I think it is a little expensive.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a top floor loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverfoxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to return to St Michaels Manor on your next visit to St Albans.

I was sorry to hear that you thought that there are a number of areas with a feel of tiredness. Over the past three years, we have renovated the whole of the hotel and bedrooms in keeping with both the age of the building and also up to date features for the modern traveller.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast which we will certainly take on board and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We have the benefit of having 30 totally individual rooms at St Michaels Manor and please do not hesitate to contact me directly to make any reservations so that I can ensure that we have the perfect room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband booked us in to St Michael's Manor for a Valentine's meal and overnight stay. Unfortunately, his flight home was delayed so we were late arriving. He called them to advise and they were very accommodating and put our table back by half an hour. On arrival we were directed to our room; this was on the other side of the restaurant and meant walking through the restaurant (full of diners) to reach it. This felt odd and not exactly creating a great ambience for the diners. Even a screen at the edge of the restaurant would make a huge difference. We have stayed in this hotel before, but many years ago and it has had a re-furb since then. Our room was very tastefully decorated and I loved the fact that the bathroom was behind the same mirrored doors as the wardrobe and cupboard so it all blended together. We had a lovely view of the lake from our room and it was so peaceful we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. In the morning we turned up for breakfast at 9.45am to be told that it ended at 9.30 (a piece of information I obviously didn't take in at check-in). This did seem a tad early for a weekend, but in any event the waiter told us that they would make an exception and serve us. There was a good choice of food, albeit the buffet was all but finished. The food for our dinner the night before was good, but we would like to return and choose from the A la Carte (since it was Valentine's there were only two choices for each course). The staff were very good and attentive whilst not being annoying. Overall we had a very good evening and overnight stay and will definitely return in the summer when we can enjoy the surroundings more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. I was also pleased to hear that we were able to be flexible on a couple of occasions regarding your dinner reservation and breakfast, we do appreciate that plans can change and we always do our utmost to accommodate your requests.

Our rooms in the garden wing are indeed fabulous and we are grateful for your comments regarding the access to these through the dining room.

Thank you for your compliments on your dinner and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to try our a la carte menu in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,725 reviews
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
14.2 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing