We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place for a birthday lunch on a spring day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely place for a birthday lunch on a spring day”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I wen t with my son on the 2nd April for a birthday lunch at the beautiful St Michaels Manor Hotel in St. Albans.The grounds were in full bloom and the lake sparkling in the spring sun.The Lake Restaurant is light and airy and ideal for a lunch or dinner.With spectacular flower displays within the hotel,it gave a elegant and welcoming air.The food was great.We had sea bass and steak,chicken etc.Food was well prepared and very tasty.The staff were polite and helpful.Both our waiter and waitress were pleasant and accomodating.Afterwards,we had a stroll through the beautiful grounds..a perfect birthday lunch.I have been before to a wedding here and over night stays with my partner all very enjoyable.Cant wait to go again..!

Room Tip: When booking,ring and state exactly what you need. Too the right of the building.. rooms have view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear from someone who has experienced the hotel for many different occasions that we have always met your expectations. For special occasions, an overnight stay, or just a cocktail in our gardens, we take great pride in accommodating all of our guests' requests.

Our gardens are continuing to bloom throughout the summer and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please see our website for all of our special offers and for up to date menus including our Lake Menu at just £22 for three courses including coffee and petit fours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    142
    55
    35
    15
See reviews for
143
229
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited the hotel restaurant for a Mother's Day/Birthday celebration meal. Lakeside restaurant is elegant and modern with classic touches (lovely chandeliers) Service was professional and friendly, food delicious and reasonably priced for the quality. Ambience and views of the grounds superb. A memorable experience soon to be repeated I hope!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosco1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having recently invested over £1m in the last few years, St Michaels Manor has a lovely elegant and homely feeling whilst still accommodating our guests' up to date requirements of a hotel.

We take great pride in our excellent levels of service from all of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were very happy to stay at this hotel for the marriage of our daughter. The staff were warm and made our stay memorable, especially Sean - whose friendly conversation and attentive assistance (taking our heavy luggage up 2 flights of stairs) has not gone unnoticed. He seemed to be absolutely committed to creating good customer relationships and passionate about his job.

Thanks to the management and staff for maintaining this beautiful facility.

Jay K Pillai
Hong Kong

Room Tip: The Pine room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashmi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I had the task of booking a hotel for a stop over for colleagues with various tastes and expectations. Without exception all our party were very pleased with the level of service, cleanliness, breakfast and attention of staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Must have been one of the first days this year that the conservatory actually needed cooling down rather than heating up. Amazing setting looking out over the lake enjoying a great lunch from the Lake Menu. The fish was wonderful followed by a well cooked steak. To finish a selection of cheese and coffee. The house wine was good and the service was excellent. Great to go somewhere with parking in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaldon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked a room for a 1 night stay, including Dinner and Breakfast for a short break for myself and my girlfriend and we were not disappointed!

The Premier Room that we booked was great and looks exactly as it does in the picture. It was very clean, comfortable and well maintained, plus the bed was fantastic and I had one the best nights sleeps I have had in ages.

The 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant in the Hotel was exactly as you would expect, excellent.

The only gripe that I had was that I did request a a Vegan option for my girlfriend when I made the room and dinner reservations, and then double checked they were aware upon check-in on our arrival of which they said yes. Unfortunately they waiting staff were un-aware of this and there was no alternative to the main menu when we came to order.

That being said, they Kitchen and Restaurant staff dealt with the situation very well and we have a very good meal which included an off the menu Vegan desert specially made for her.

Despite the mis-communication over the Vegan options on the menu, i would thoroughly recommend the Hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area and i will certainly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The Chesnut Room overlooks the garden is very clean and comfortable (picture on the Hotel website)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Although this hotel is almost on my doorstep I had never been to it before this visit. The occasion was a friend's birthday celebration attended by me and some of his immediate family. As a 'Blue Badge' user I had hoped to find some convenient 'parking for disabled' bays but saw none and had to take a bit of a walk through the lengthy and very full car park. The rain did not help my disappointment. It was also a pity that I had to ask one of my fellow guests to carry my bags to my room as there seemed to be a shortage of available staff.

After a couple of drinks served in the bar by a very cheerful lady my attitude improved and was further heightened by the excellent service of the restaurant staff and the fine dining which exceeded my expectations.

I had a good night's sleep but was surprised to be woken at 7.30 on Sunday morning by what sounded to be a vacuum cleaner and its user talking over its noise to a colleague.

Unfortunately breakfast that morning rather let the side down. The staff seemed disinterested and needed to be prompted to take our breakfast orders and even had to be reminded that tea, coffee and toast would be welcome.

As I was a friend's guest I did not feel it my place to complain but I hope that the hotel management will read this review and note my comments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,743 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing