We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Interesting and creative food at a fair price. Fish was amazing. Fantastic surroundings. The grounds are just stunning. Quite quiet for a Friday night but couldn't get booked for Saturday as it was full. So make sure you book.

Room Tip: We didn't stay over so cannot rate the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review and comments regarding our food in The Lake Restaurant. We are very proud of the different selections across all of our menus which combine traditional flavours with modern culinary techniques and all at very good value.

Dinner reservations for a Saturday evening are strongly recommended in advance and we hope to be able to welcome you back at the weekend soon. In the meantime, please do see our special offers on our website including our new Friday Fish & Fizz promotion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    144
    56
    35
    15
See reviews for
143
231
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My partner and I were given some vouchers to stay at St Michaels Manor, so I tried to book a standard room but was allocated a luxury room so for £145 we had a dark, airless room with a very small bed, right at the front of the hotel next to the road. Our breakfast next morning was disappointing, mainly due to disinterested staff. There were no cereal bowls and we asked for toast, but we're not offered any butter. The night before we had been served by a very friendly barman and that was the saving grace of our stay. I would not be in a hurry to recommend this hotel or want to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am very grateful for your comments which I have addressed with our management team and are vital for us to continuously improve our service and offerings at the hotel.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of restoring your confidence in us soon and please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to make any future reservations. Richard Marrett rmarrett@stmichaelsmanor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at St Michael's Manor hotel last week for a night. It was a lovely hotel, very clean and very comfortable. The grounds are lovely and the food was delicious. I look forward to returning with my family over the summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review and it is a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have 30 individually designed rooms spread between our main house and garden wing that we are always able to find a lovely room for each of our guests' requirements.

Thank you for your compliments on the food and grounds, we take pride in our excellent levels of service and quality of food and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I wen t with my son on the 2nd April for a birthday lunch at the beautiful St Michaels Manor Hotel in St. Albans.The grounds were in full bloom and the lake sparkling in the spring sun.The Lake Restaurant is light and airy and ideal for a lunch or dinner.With spectacular flower displays within the hotel,it gave a elegant and welcoming air.The food was great.We had sea bass and steak,chicken etc.Food was well prepared and very tasty.The staff were polite and helpful.Both our waiter and waitress were pleasant and accomodating.Afterwards,we had a stroll through the beautiful grounds..a perfect birthday lunch.I have been before to a wedding here and over night stays with my partner all very enjoyable.Cant wait to go again..!

Room Tip: When booking,ring and state exactly what you need. Too the right of the building.. rooms have view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear from someone who has experienced the hotel for many different occasions that we have always met your expectations. For special occasions, an overnight stay, or just a cocktail in our gardens, we take great pride in accommodating all of our guests' requests.

Our gardens are continuing to bloom throughout the summer and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please see our website for all of our special offers and for up to date menus including our Lake Menu at just £22 for three courses including coffee and petit fours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited the hotel restaurant for a Mother's Day/Birthday celebration meal. Lakeside restaurant is elegant and modern with classic touches (lovely chandeliers) Service was professional and friendly, food delicious and reasonably priced for the quality. Ambience and views of the grounds superb. A memorable experience soon to be repeated I hope!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosco1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having recently invested over £1m in the last few years, St Michaels Manor has a lovely elegant and homely feeling whilst still accommodating our guests' up to date requirements of a hotel.

We take great pride in our excellent levels of service from all of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were very happy to stay at this hotel for the marriage of our daughter. The staff were warm and made our stay memorable, especially Sean - whose friendly conversation and attentive assistance (taking our heavy luggage up 2 flights of stairs) has not gone unnoticed. He seemed to be absolutely committed to creating good customer relationships and passionate about his job.

Thanks to the management and staff for maintaining this beautiful facility.

Jay K Pillai
Hong Kong

Room Tip: The Pine room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashmi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I had the task of booking a hotel for a stop over for colleagues with various tastes and expectations. Without exception all our party were very pleased with the level of service, cleanliness, breakfast and attention of staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,757 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing