We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location and gorgeous food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location and gorgeous food.”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I must say that I hadn't particularly booked to visit St Albans or St Michael's Manor itself and it was only due to a 'meeting of friends' that I found myself there this past weekend. I'm a fairly well travelled nearly 45 year old and appreciate good taste, good service, good food etc. St Michael's Manor did not disappoint on any level. In fact I would say I felt exceptionally spoilt but totally relaxed as it was without the pretentiousness atmosphere that many hotels allure to.
The room (Magnolia) was divine with an enormous bed, great and newly fitted bathroom, complete with sitting room area ( a suite), all beautifully ( and probably newly) redecorated. Our 8 year old was very happy to be in this room and watch TV/DVD whilst we indulged in more grown up things like wining and dining, in the knowledge that he was able to contact us if necessary!
We dined in the restaurant in the evening and I can honestly say that the meal was memorable as one of the most delicious meals I have ever had. The pork belly with scallops to start, followed by the duck with fois gras, ending with the crème brulee with walnut and sage, all just absolutely divine and complemented by fabulous wine recommended by staff who were very courteous. The side dish of sweet potato chips with chorizo were so.... delicious too!
The hotel building was itself was a beautiful grade II listed building which has obviously been owned by the same family for many decades, hence the very personal touches regarding the many historical photographs present in the foyer and the general decor. It all adds to the charm and individuality of St Michael's Manor. I highly recommend a stay here, I for sure will be visiting again. Book and enjoy!

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchbulldog1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    144
    56
    35
    15
See reviews for
143
231
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Stayed with family the night before my son's graduation as a treat for the special occasion and we weren't disappointed. The evening meal was a joy and the service just right. After the meal we wanted to sample a brandy and whisky, the Maitre d' knew his stuff and advised well. The bedrooms we had both had character rather than being a bland anywhere, any hotel style. Some of the decor is tired but there was a painter working around downstairs so obviously the hotel are keeping the maintenance going.
Overall recommend for pleasure and business for those with a flexible expense account.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravel4Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We ve been with my wife in many places ,but we were really surprised about quality of food.Me and my wife had a pollock risotto from a LAKE MENU and a lamb from A la carte menu,which was absolutelly fabolous.The person who took our order havent seen any problems that we combine two menus ,was more than happy to bring even a bowl of crisps and olives without any questions,trick was there that he probably overheard my conversation with my wife when drink order taken.That person answered our questions about food,hotel ad local park as made to do that profesional explanation.we looking forward to come back again,we love that place

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauloli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We have just got back from a particularly enjoyable short break in St Albans. The staff at St Michael's Manor were excellent. The food was superb. We both had scallops on belly pork followed by duck, as recommended by the head waiter. Good choice. We loved to room and we hope to stay there again.

Our 9 year old loved the Roman Museum. We will have to go back as there is lots more history to explore.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshpoacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Booked a night in St Michaels Manor in order to propose to my now finace. From the moment I first made contact, the staff (Emma and Lauran in particular) were more then helpful and went out of there way to make the day extra special and memerable. Emma and Jack even went to the trouble of scrubbing down and setting up the Summer house with candles and Champagne for the special moment. The Mulbury room was beautiful and perfect in every way with 4 poster "most comfortable in the world" bed. The room also opened up to the beatifuly maintained lake and garden. We later enjoyed dinner at the resturant which was also lovely. Overall a great place which exceeded both our expectations. Thanks again to all the staff who went out of there way to make our moment extra special.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Booked late - great room and terrific food - breakfast exceptional - freshly cooked
A very relaxing stay - looking forward to coming back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We booked this hotel after recommendation from friends that it was very nice. The whole stay was very disappointing. We stayed in the Oak room which is the first room at the top of the stairs. The room was very tired and decorated in dark and dingy colours. There was an inter connecting door to the next room so you could hear every conversation that they had. We wandered downstairs but decided against staying for dinner as the whole place lacked ambiance. We later returned and had a glass of wine in the bar and asked if they had any olives to have with the wine. The answer was no and no alternatives were offered. From th website the hotel looks like it is set back in beautiful grounds. The hotel is in fact right on the roadside. The entrance lobby and reception is very tired looking (looked like an old peoples home) the reception staff did not give any information regarding time of breakfast, availability of tables for dinner etc. If you are unfortunate enought to stay at this hotel please ensure that you are not in the Oak room as all night long we were kept awake by the night porters at reception laughing and telling each other rude jokes. I did mention this to the reception staff in the morning who said that they would note the comment. We ordered breakfast to come to the room which was very poor. We stay at 4/5 star hotels all over hertfordshire at least twice a month and will not be coming back to this one. At £175 per night it was not cheap and was very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffGoddard, Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
Personal recommendation is extremely important to us so we naturally take this guest’s experience seriously. Strangely it has not been possible to determine the name of the guest or when they stayed so we are unable to qualify the complaint fully, nevertheless we have taken on board the criticism and acted upon it.

Oak is a very popular bedroom, with a regular cliental, and we have never had any complaints before. However we have an industrious bedroom refurbishment policy and will be reviewing these comments in light of this and possibly bringing the redecoration forward sooner. Furthermore we don’t employ two night porters at the same time so can only assume that the conversations where overheard from the street. As such experienced travelers I am sure these guests would have realized that it would have been no trouble at all to move them to another bedroom had they mentioned their disappointment at the time, either in respect of the room décor or the noise.

The lobby and Reception are being redecorated as early as next week, notices of which have been on display for some time in the main entrance. All of the other public areas will be refurbished over the next five months. Following the recent bar refurbishment we, in fact, introduced olives, crisps and home-made cheese straws to accompany drinks upon request and they are actually on our Bar Menu. A couple of years ago we introduced an informative bedroom Guest Information Pack which, amongst many other things, includes dining times and room service. In fact they are so popular they keep getting stolen! Our web site gets over 2,500 hits per week and it would not be in our interest to mislead people about the location or position of the hotel within the grounds, as suggested. Had this been the case I’m sure we would have had complaints before, particularly from the 50+ wedding parties we have every year.

We take our complaints policy very seriously and we make a written record of anything mentioned to any staff so we can act upon it immediately. If a complaint comes to light that hasn’t been reported, as in this case, then it may result in a loss or reduction of tips to the staff. We aim to provide the St Michael’s Manor Experience and learn continual improvement through guest feedback so would welcome the opportunity to invite these guests back to try and change their impression of St Alban’s favorite hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,759 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St Albans AL3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing