We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chinese restaurant in St. Albans.”

Chi Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #72 of 334 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are delighted to serve you tasty authentic Chinese cuisine with a twist, featuring healthy and delicious creations by our award-winning chef. We take pride in presenting beautifully concocted dishes using premium ingredients. Come try our renowned Crispy Aromatic Duck, and Angus fillet steak in black pepper sauce. We guarantee an excitement of taste buds, and a relaxing dining experience knowing that we strive to provide the best and freshest ingredients in a stylishly renovated space. Our two-floor space entertains with music and performances (Please check our website and Facebook for more information), and we are always more than happy to host your private celebrations, whatever the occasion!
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Chinese restaurant in St. Albans.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

It's difficult to find a Chinese that isn't just your standard takeaway with exactly the same menu as usual. This place has more to offer in terms of menu. It's a nice interior and the staff are very attentive. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagicHourTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for spending time on writing review, your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very pleased to learn that you had a good dinning experience in our establishment, to help us improve our quality of food and service to you in the future. Your opinions are always welcome.

Regards

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    22
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

A great restaurant, lovely atmosphere, yummy food. Fully recommend. Will definitely return. Best chinese in St. Albans.

Helpful?
1 Thank alison_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much for spending your time to write a so positive review on us, we are very please to hear that you had a pleasant dinner experienced with Chi. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good service but disappointing mains”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

very friendly waiters, our orders were taken away, he did forget to bring us some water too but we didn't mind! We got the duck meal deal, the duck was excellent but i was disappointed by the mains. they weren't particularly special and the rice was lukewarm. i noticed another diner commenting on the height of the tables compared to their chairs, i don't think they could get their legs under the table comfortably. luckily we didn't have that problem and the atmosphere in the restaurant was nice but i don't think i'll be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, and giving your precious comments. We are sorry that we had not been able to offer you a satisfactory dinning experience on your last visit, but we will certainly look into those matters you pointed out. Hopefully you can give us another visit in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“at last excellent chinese”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

visited this restaurant on Wednesday night for the 1st time it has only been open a few months
and I am delighted to say that at long last we have a quality Chinese to go to in st albans
the food was excellent as was the service I am happy to recommend this place to anyone.
we will return for certain.
the place is quite small and intimate so I am sure that booking will become necessary

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevej007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
We are very please to hear that you had a good evening with CHI chinese cuisine. You review is very much appreciated, thank you and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good experience all round”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great meal last night with friends and unanimously agreed it was great! The variety of dishes we had: seabass, beef, chicken, mixed veg, dessert - toffee banana were all delicious Like other reviewers, totally agree that it is about time St Albans had a good Chinese - thank you Chi! It was nice to see a familiar face in our waitress who came from the now closed down Pangs Cottage in Radlet. The service was friendly right from when I made the booking through to our evening there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are very pleased to learn that you had a good dinning experience with us, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chi Chinese Cuisine also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
Wheathampstead, St Albans
 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chi Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing