We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PROBABLY the Chinese food in St Albans.”

Chi Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #75 of 333 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are delighted to serve you tasty authentic Chinese cuisine with a twist, featuring healthy and delicious creations by our award-winning chef. We take pride in presenting beautifully concocted dishes using premium ingredients. Come try our renowned Crispy Aromatic Duck, and Angus fillet steak in black pepper sauce. We guarantee an excitement of taste buds, and a relaxing dining experience knowing that we strive to provide the best and freshest ingredients in a stylishly renovated space. Our two-floor space entertains with music and performances (Please check our website and Facebook for more information), and we are always more than happy to host your private celebrations, whatever the occasion!
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“PROBABLY the Chinese food in St Albans.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We have avoided this restaurant for some years having had an awful meal there (under previous management) . HOWEVER, recent reviews have tempted us back. I'm glad we tried.

The atmosphere is somewhat lacking and the silver painted tables are somewhat shabby, but the food more than makes up for this. Every dish delivered was beautifully cooked and very tasty. If they could improve on their service (we had almost finished our meal when the last dish arrived) it would be even better.

This is best probably the best Chinese food in St Albans.

Helpful?
1 Thank SCBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are glad you came back to give us a try, and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the food. Thank you for your generous feedback, we are definitely working on the service and timing to serve you better on your next visit. Best wishes and looking forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    22
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“First impressions very good”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Chi for the first time on Saturday night and was very pleased. Friendly welcome, pleasant staff, good menu choice and when served food was hot, very tasty and very well cooked. The crispy duck was particularly good. Very happy to recommend and will certainly be visiting again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikey-G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
The pleasure is all ours! Great food, good people and happy customers is what we believe in. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the dinner at Chi and will be more than happy to take care of you again. Many thanks and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Lunch”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I had a quick lunch there. The food was okay. The menu seems quite extensive and has good authentic chinese dishes which are impressive. I am quite bored with all these English Chinese dishes, so I am pleased that we have the real deal in St Albans. I have not tried them yet but will definitely do so but probably just to order take away (reason given below).

The staff were polite and the atmosphere was pleasant.

One negative comment is the tables - the design mean you can't really sit comfortable. I don't think they are the right tables for the restaurant. To me it is a big issue, as it doesn't matter how nice the food is, you need to sit comfortably to enjoy it.

I would have given very good if it wasn't for the tables.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your constructive comment. We are glad the food and service met your expectations and regret your dining experience had not been perfect. We are looking at a few solutions to address the table issue, and hopefully will have it resolved very soon. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks again and please check back with us in a few weeks and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“At last a decent Chinese in St Albans ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Having lived in St Albans for 25 years we have always had to go out of town for a Chinese restaurant. Alas not now. Having found Chi reviews on TA we thought we would give it a try.

Easy to book and when we arrived we were promptly seated. The restaurant was busy too.

Drinks order was taken and I'm quite fussy when it comes to my beer, firstly in a Chinese I like Chinese beer and I like it ice cold. I could not have been more pleased the beer was absolutely ice cold.

We opted for 2 starter dishes of a chicken and squid dish which were devine and then a 1/4 of Peking duck. My only observation is that the duck looked like it had been on a diet but there was enough and it was really good.

For our main course we kept but simple, Kom Po chicken and Lamb Chops with some Singapore noodles. The portion sizes were good, the food was hot fresh and exceptionally good. The lamb fell off the bone and the chicken was succulent.

So 3 course Chinese dinner with drinks and service £54. Not only exceptional food but reasonably priced. Also 5 star food and hygiene rating on the door.

Hope Chi goes from strength to strength and they keep the same quality and standards as I will return v soon. Best Chinese in St Albans!!

Helpful?
Thank r50lts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are thrilled to hear your generous comments and our team is very happy to know that you had a pleasant dining experience from start to finish. It is our privilege to be part of a great community at St. Albans, and we will deliver nothing short of the best and contribute a little excitement to the local food scene. Many thanks and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Chinese restaurant in St. Albans.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

It's difficult to find a Chinese that isn't just your standard takeaway with exactly the same menu as usual. This place has more to offer in terms of menu. It's a nice interior and the staff are very attentive. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagicHourTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi C, Manager at Chi Chinese Cuisine, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for spending time on writing review, your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very pleased to learn that you had a good dinning experience in our establishment, to help us improve our quality of food and service to you in the future. Your opinions are always welcome.

Regards

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chi Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Wheathampstead, St Albans
Wheathampstead, St Albans
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chi Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing