We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely authentic Italian restaurant”
Review of Verdi's Trattoria

Verdi's Trattoria
Ranked #44 of 334 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have visited this beautiful little restaurant as a family many many times and have never been disappointed!! The staff have always been competent and polite and there is always a lovely atmosphere! The food has always been of a very high quality and is cooked fresh!! Could not fault this restaurant, definitely one of our favourite places to eat in St. Albans! :)

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hair found in ice cream”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As if finding a hair in your ice cream isn't bad enough - I was then accused by the owner of Verdi's of lying about it (told it must have blown into my ice cream). Unhygienic and terrible customer service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareS824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner - didn't disappoint!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My first visit to this restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of the food and the very attentive service.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alishankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I love this authentic award-winning family-run Italian restaurant!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Probably one of the best restaurants I've eaten at this year for good quality tasty Italian dishes. Love the ingredients they use and very good starter and main course dishes. The setting is good at the corner of a local park and staff are friendly.

The restaurant was very busy during the evening we went and so service wasn't as quick as usual. Disappointed also that the four or five waitress staff seemed elusive and weren't circulating in the restaurant to check meals were ok or if we needed more drinks.

Everything else was 100% and I will definitely be back to sample more of the many, many dishes they offer...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great value”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

If you like BIG portions, go to Verdi's! My husband and I went for dinner on our anniversary weekend. The restaurant is located on the edge of a beautiful park, and it would be perfect for eating outside, but unfortunately it was a bit too cold on the day we went. However, our table was next to the kitchen, and it was great to watch our food being freshly prepared.

The rosemary focaccia was delicious. The pasta dishes were absolutely huge! My husband and I both have large appetites, and we certainly were not disappointed. In fact, it was the first time that I have seen my husband unable to finish his meal! I had pasta with clams, garlic and chilli and it was really tasty. I was especially impressed that it was absolutely crammed with clams, and for only £9!

We hope to come again the next time we are in St Albans.

Helpful?
Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verdi's Trattoria also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Verdi's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing