We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Albans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tankerfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have just come back from our stay at Tankerfield House in St Albans & it truly was a lovely stay!!!
The bed & breakfast is absolutely superb. Lovely, old, quirky house right in the middle of St Albans. Jacqui is a wonderful host and makes you feel very welcome. We stayed in the green room which was fabulous, this has a separate sitting room and large bathroom which is wonderful. The bed was very comfortable and we had a very good sleep. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast by Alberto was wonderful, very tasty and fresh :)
We parked in the School car park which was more or less opposite Tankerfield House, it was £2 for four hours (we did stay overnight in the car park & weren't given a ticket).
I would definitely recommend Tankerfield House, we will most certainly be returning!!

We visited Harry Potter Land & would also recommend, an absolutely incredible experience (only 20 minute drive from St Albans). The Cathedral is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

have just returned from my third visit staying at tankerfield house. what a gem of a b and b. I just love the quirkiness of this place. I have stayed in all rooms now and I am not sure which one is my favourite....they are all individual. Jacqui is a most welcoming and helpful hostess while alberto serves the most amazing breakfasts superb. will be staying at tankerfield house again when visiting st.albans.

Room Tip: white room has double window aspect. blue room has a separate sitting area and the red room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for a night a couple of weeks ago in The White Room. Lovely room, lovely hosts, lovely breakfast, really great location. The house itself is rather special too. Was a real pleasure to stay. Much nicer than chain hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

my wife and I stayed at Tankerfield last year for two weeks and were very well taken care of. It has a wonderful location across from the Cathedral and the accommodations were very welcoming. Also enjoyed the breakfast options each morning. We are planning on returning this year and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4921bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The land-lady/proprietor, Jacqueline, was very welcoming and pleasant ... she treated us like royalty. The building, furnishings and decor are stunningly beautiful and it couldn't be in a better, more central spot. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markgarveymarkgarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I had a great night away here back in March. Perfect location for a walk in the park and also the shops, bars and restaurants.

Great value for money and the welcome was really good - sorry I have forgotten your names now but we will be back!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My Dad and I stayed here over Christmas as we were visiting my sister in St Albans. The house is really lovely and our rooms were excellent - clean and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was delicious and we were made to feel very welcome. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fleuchary House No. 29
Fleuchary House No. 29
#1 of 15 in St Albans
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#3 of 15 in St Albans
438 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Dairy Flamstead
The Old Dairy Flamstead
#1 of 1 in Flamstead
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerfield House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Romeland Hill, St Albans AL3 4ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankerfield House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankerfield House is a splendid Georgian bed and breakfast located in the heart of St. Albans' historic Romeland. Our en-suite rooms are bright and spacious with the most beautiful views in St. Albans overlooking the Cathedral, the historic Abbey Gateway and the entrance to Roman Verulamium. The city centre is a five minute walk away, where you will find shops, restaurants, pubs and bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing