We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and not last”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cinnamon Lounge

Cinnamon Lounge
Ranked #186 of 327 Restaurants in St Albans
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Shenley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First and not last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My partner and I live a short distance away from this restaurant but never actually frequented
This restaurant, so we decided to give it a go. Have to say we weren't disappointed. The service we received was great and food delicious. My only complaint was that I felt a little cold in the restaurant and desserts were pre bought frozen desserts. Not for me thank you. Overall an acceptable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acs1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here with friends recent. The service was very good even though the restaurant became quite busy whilst we were deciding what to eat. There was a nice selection of good wine and the normal choice of beers. The menu is not too big and provides a wide range of dishes along with the normal choice of curries. I would recommend the king prawn fantasy dish if you like a bit of spice. A good restaurant that we will go to again. Book if intending on going on a Friday or Saturday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite food! Friendly first class service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have lived locally in St. Albans for the last 10 years and I love Indian food but until cinamon lounge there was of any kind quality sophisticated authentic cuisune. This restaurant has a great range of good honest real Indian cuisine which you will only find in India itself! They use only the best ingredients and this is very obvious from the great taste and flavours from all their dishes. The atmosphere is very relaxed and you always greeted like an old friend. Great fast service always. I can't praise this restaurant enough. It's a shame that there are not more great restaurants like this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saf-xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Possible the best Indian i've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stopped at the Inkeepers Lodge in London Coloney and googled Indians as we didn't fancy pub grub. I'm glad we did because this was a fantastic meal!
We arrived on a busy Saturday night and were greeted warmly. They quickly found us a table despite it being busy and everyone around us looked to be happy and enjoying their food. We had lovely, tasty starters and the mains were divine. I had a minty lamb curry and my partner had the Flamingo - both absolutely gorgeous and very well presented. We shared a bottle of Red and the bill was £43 - you cannot go wrong!
The best bit was the bill which arrived with a choice of jelly beans, choccy strands and hard boiled sweets - a great touch! I could of happily devoured the lot! But I showed some restrain.
Had a great time and the staff were chatty and generally very attentive.
I'd like to say we'd be back but its about a 3 hour drive?! But if I was ever in the area again it would be my first choice.
Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyandWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Going downhill!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Cannot believe this is the same place we used to rave about a year ago! The quality of the food has gone downhill!!!

The staff still friendly and obliging but not sure what has happened to the food!!

Obviously reusing the sauces over and over again causing the bitter taste! Ordered two totally different dishes but the sauces tasted the same!

Manager not too bothered when you complain!

Won't rush back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eyeinthesky9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinnamon Lounge also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cinnamon Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing