We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best local Indian restaurant in the area!”
Review of Cinnamon Lounge

Cinnamon Lounge
Ranked #150 of 334 Restaurants in St Albans
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best local Indian restaurant in the area!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We live in Napsbury Park opposite the Cinnamon Lounge and have been coming to the Cinnamon Lounge since it first opened. We come here at least once a month sometimes up to 4 times a month! The staff obviously know us very well and treat us like old friends. We so often see neighbours from Napsbury there, I think half the development eats there! The food never deviates from being fantastic! Always perfectly cooked and always delicious. Seriously, when we occasionally go to other Indian restaurants in the area with friends we always say that we should have gone to the Cinnamon, the food is never as good as theirs. Over the years this restaurant has got busier and busier with locals so I recommend you book in advance for Tuesday (their amazing value Banquet Night) Friday and Saturday nights. My husband is also a bit obsessed with health and hygiene and always checks out restaurants on the government website. Cinnamon Lounge has a score of 5 out of 5 for health and hygiene, the highest score. The only negative is their take away on Saturday nights which we have had long waits for but guess they are really busy. But it is always delivered with a lovely smile and food is always excellent so just order well before you need to eat. I highly recommend this lovely, consistently good, local restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karynpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shenley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First and not last”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My partner and I live a short distance away from this restaurant but never actually frequented
This restaurant, so we decided to give it a go. Have to say we weren't disappointed. The service we received was great and food delicious. My only complaint was that I felt a little cold in the restaurant and desserts were pre bought frozen desserts. Not for me thank you. Overall an acceptable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acs1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here with friends recent. The service was very good even though the restaurant became quite busy whilst we were deciding what to eat. There was a nice selection of good wine and the normal choice of beers. The menu is not too big and provides a wide range of dishes along with the normal choice of curries. I would recommend the king prawn fantasy dish if you like a bit of spice. A good restaurant that we will go to again. Book if intending on going on a Friday or Saturday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite food! Friendly first class service!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have lived locally in St. Albans for the last 10 years and I love Indian food but until cinamon lounge there was of any kind quality sophisticated authentic cuisune. This restaurant has a great range of good honest real Indian cuisine which you will only find in India itself! They use only the best ingredients and this is very obvious from the great taste and flavours from all their dishes. The atmosphere is very relaxed and you always greeted like an old friend. Great fast service always. I can't praise this restaurant enough. It's a shame that there are not more great restaurants like this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saf-xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Possible the best Indian i've ever had!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stopped at the Inkeepers Lodge in London Coloney and googled Indians as we didn't fancy pub grub. I'm glad we did because this was a fantastic meal!
We arrived on a busy Saturday night and were greeted warmly. They quickly found us a table despite it being busy and everyone around us looked to be happy and enjoying their food. We had lovely, tasty starters and the mains were divine. I had a minty lamb curry and my partner had the Flamingo - both absolutely gorgeous and very well presented. We shared a bottle of Red and the bill was £43 - you cannot go wrong!
The best bit was the bill which arrived with a choice of jelly beans, choccy strands and hard boiled sweets - a great touch! I could of happily devoured the lot! But I showed some restrain.
Had a great time and the staff were chatty and generally very attentive.
I'd like to say we'd be back but its about a 3 hour drive?! But if I was ever in the area again it would be my first choice.
Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyandWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinnamon Lounge also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cinnamon Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing