We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No interest from the owners or staff in the customer or the food being served” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King Harry

The King Harry
Ranked #102 of 323 Restaurants in St Albans
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A royally good pub in St Albans.Welcome to The King Harry, a traditional town pub in St Albans - and the only place where your five-a-day is served up with such style. From our Belgian strawberry beer and blimmin' great Bloody Marys to chef's fresh, seasonal specials and glorious Sunday roasts, you can enjoy an abundance of pubby goodness within these historic walls. There's plenty of comfy seating too. So relax, make yourself at home and relish some seriously tasty food and drink.
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No interest from the owners or staff in the customer or the food being served”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Our second visit for a Sunday lunch in the last few months. Ordered 2 Sunday roast dinners and 2 children's meals. Most of the vegetables appeared processed and cooked from frozen. Freshly prepared leeks and cauliflower was not fresh and was poorly prepared. Kids meals were just about acceptable, but would expect fish fingers and chips to be o.k.
The service from all in the pub/restaurant lacked any sense of passion for the business they were in. Whilst no one was unpleasant, no one seemed to be enjoying their work, or engaging with any of their customers.
A shame, because a nice spot, but needless to say we won't be going back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    53
    20
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Super find outside the main town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Great place, lovely food, welcoming staff and super wine choice by the bar man. Will certainly return again in the new year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great place for a warming soup before shopping, enjoyed it so much went back again later in the day for a mulled wine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fordsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for my Birthday c”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

FANTASTIC !!! Great manager friendly helpful staff lovely food. Nothing was too much trouble. We brought a band and 70 people through the door and their service was nothing short of perfect. Would highly recommend ...... Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Normskiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Heading down-hill.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We first visited here in August. We were highly impressed with the quality of the burgers and posted a glowing review, which, at the time, was absolutely deserved. Sadly, over the past few months, things have changed - and not for the better. From our point of view, the standard has been dropping gradually until, last week, it had gone down to basic, not that great, pub grub.

In the beginning, the burgers here were up to the quality and flavour of those one can get at the boutique burger joints like GBK & Byron. On our last two visits, the quality had fallen to bits. My particular choice, according to the menu, contains caramelised onions. They were missing on both occasions, despite the fact that I requested, whilst ordering last week, that they ensure that they don't forget them again. When my burger arrived, guess what? Yep - no onions! The waitress apologised and went back to the kitchen and brought me some in a pot. My wife's Southern Fried Chicken, initially succulent and perfectly cooked to a golden colour, was served up this time dark brown and over done, with a pickle missing and a generic, soggy cole slaw rather than the home made-style apple slaw advertised on the menu. The chips, which when we first came, were fresh, crisp and seriously tasty were now floppy and bland. We didn't complain any further as time was getting on and we didn't want to hang around while things were replaced and also because it had been made rather obvious that the kitchen staff weren't too happy that we'd arrived close to the time that the kitchen was due to close. Mind you, either you serve food up to an appointed time or you don't. If you want to stop earlier, then advertise an earlier closing time.

This is a disappointing situation. Has the chef left? I only ask because it seems to be that whoever's operating the kitchen at the moment doesn't have much of a care or a clue and is allowing the pub's reputation to disintegrate. We were making regular, burger night visits to the King Harry, driving there from Berkhamsted, and in the beginning the journey was worth it. No more. If we want food of the present quality, we can save time and petrol and go to our local Wetherspoons. What a shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diximix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King Harry also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The King Harry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing