We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.”

Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral
Ranked #96 of 333 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Abbot's Kitchen is a great place to enjoy breakfast, lunch or refreshments throughout the day. Our ethos is to use nothing but the finest quality ingredients from local suppliers and to provide exceptional service. Our menu is packed full of tasty, freshly prepared dishes - from Childwickbury goats cheese with marinated dates and red onion marmalade to our mouth-watering slow roasted feather blade of beef, as well as artisan breads and daily baked treats. We keep our food miles low, source FairTrade products whenever possible and are committed to encouraging healthy eating for our younger guests.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Cafe menu all poshed up and restricting, before the change was really lovely here a vast range of foods including children's animal lunch boxes. They did not even serve jacket potatoes and simpler dishes, even the staff new not so friendly nor helpful. Which in all a right let down, the Cafe was once very very good before going down hill, thank goodness a new cafe called the Secret Garden which will try out again. Staff there more friendlier and menu brilliant, fresh cream teas any time, amazing foods.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, Manager at Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Although this particular guest stated 'never again' we invited her back to give us another try. On the house of course which she duly accepted and came back within days of this invite.

Of course not every one likes changes that have to happen in order for a business to keep running. We certainly haven't intentionally 'poshed up', it is always such a terrible shame that when you attempt cooking freshly cooked good food its described as posh. Unfortunately with any transitional period you have to make sacrifices as to what you put on a menu until you find your feet. I would like to add that many people do not believe we have 'gone down hill'.

It is also such a shame that you chose not say anything directly too us as of course we could have catered for anything that you would like, you didn't actually have anything to eat until we offered it too you on the house which I hope you enjoyed of course.

I do hope that after tasting what we have to offer that you will come to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    41
    16
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Stunning Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,267 helpful votes
“Great Service, Lovely Food, Excellant Value”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a lovely relaxing restaurant to enjoy a peaceful lunch (or anytime). The restaurant had a lovely ambience which felt very appropriate for the surrounding with the polite, friendly and efficient staff adding to the overall atmosphere.
Although we didn't have the specials, they were very well presented and looked superb, in fact had we been hungrier we definitely would have sampled them. We did however have the coffee, pastries, sandwiches (served on top quality bread) cheese/biscuits and the sticky toffee pudding. All of which were excellent and consisted of top quality locally sourced produce. It was a nice touch to add a list of the local suppliers on the menu. I have to say that for the quality of the food the value was excellent and we can definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goanjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, Manager at Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It's wonderful when guests notice the effort you go to source fantastic local produce.
Very glad to hear you were tempted by the food around you and i am so glad you stopped to have something yummy to eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food served in peaceful location”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Slow Roasted Feather Blade of Beef was an absolute delight. The taste and texture of the beef brought back childhood memories of home cooked family meals and was served with a modern take on bubble and squeak. It was old fashioned cooking at its best with a modern twist.

The Chef understands the process required for gluten free cooking and it was refreshing to be able to eat food from the main menu that was safe and did not make me feel as though my diet was a problem.

The Abbots Kitchen is a short walk from the hustle and bustle of the busy town centre especially when the street market is in full swing. It is a refuge that allows you to recharge your batteries and gather your thoughts. It feels as though it is 'Far From the Madding Crowd'.

The new table service in the Abbots Kitchen takes the stress out of dinning and offers real value for money .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, Manager at Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your afternoon!

It's always very nice when you hear that people have enjoyed their time with you.

I hope we shall see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shame could be better!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I can here this morning only had a sandwich and a cuppa my little one a cake and a milk, staff not friendly at all polite but not friendly. The food was fine I enjoyed my sandwich, my daughters cake dry out old I think but it was only a cake wasn't gonna make a big thing out of it. Would I go back yes it wasn't the worst it just lacks a little life and happiness in there it's such a shame.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liza m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, Manager at Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We apologise that you didn't enjoy your time with us.

However we are always trying to better ourselves so we appreciate any feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MENU CHANGES”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and i have been regular visitors to abbots kitchen now for many years and have seen many changes since our first visit.
The food and service have always been good here and the transition to table service as given the place an upmarket feel to it ,the management have done a good job in the transformation from basic cafeteria to restaurant.
I feel this place can give a lot of the local competition a look into how a lunchtime restaurant should be run -WELL DONE

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOD13132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, Manager at Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for you review

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Abbot's Kitchen at St Albans Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing