We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant mistake ...”
Review of Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill - CLOSED

Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, British, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Olive Tree Lounge Bar and Grill is your local Bistro. Located in the heart of St. Albans, just minutes away from the City station. Get a drink while you peruse our wonderfully detailed menu. Each dish deliciously prepared by our chefs. Olive Tree Lounge is your epitome of casual with class. We strive to provide an excellent service, catering to each and to all our customers efficiently and with the highest standards of presentation when served. Family dining Great food Bar Great customer service Romantic setting Enjoyable experience Great dining Free WIFI Desserts Quality Presentation
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant mistake ...”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend brought a deal on groupon not realising this was in st Albans, living in uxbridge it took 40 mins to drive there but have to say it was a really nice meal. Garlic bread and mixed bread for starter was lovely. (Waiter even let me know some of my olives were spicy .. Which I did appreciate!) Then we shared a steak with lobster, neither of us had tried this before but it was really nice and would definitely have it again. The waiter was very helpful and cracked the claws for us and was polite as well. Service was very quick. Having eaten starters and the main in 1 hour. Finished off with a latte which was also very nice. Didn't have a dessert as nothing I liked the look of so maybe just re look at that part of the menu but other than that I couldn't fault it. The restaurant itself was really modern, clean and quiet which was good and all staff we met were friendly. We would go back and also suggest to others if in the area. Even though this was a mistake when brought - I'm glad we went here, Shame it's not closer to home! Thank you for a nice meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTL14, Manager at Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Dear Crystal5, Thank you for your nice review and taking the time to write it. We are glad that you made the pleasant mistake of booking with us. We hope to see you soon thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    42
    13
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and customer service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As a food connosierre I thought the food was well priced. I had the groupon lobster and steak. The lobster was about 15cm in length and the steak was a rib eye. The hand made chips were awesome. I had my steak medium rare but found it a tad bit chewy considering they were supposed to be hung 28days. The presentation was fab and was assured no meals were frozen, not even the calamari. I had the seared scallops which was served on a frit base with mushy peas this on the whole tasted a bit bland but very fish n chips taste. I would recommend a sweeter and tangier accompaniment. The Portuguese waiter was well trained and I tested him so wen the staff know thier menu and kitchen I'm happy! I would recommend this place the desserts were amazing. The duck is not halal but very rarely available in halal most of the time! I would try the lamb next time. The dauphinois was pretty good too. The food looks less but when u eat properly with all accompaniment it is fab!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaheen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTL14, Manager at Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Dear Shaheen N, Thank you very much for your nice review. I am sure the Chef will be more than happy about your comments on the food. Looking forward to having you back soon at the Olive Tree Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best place in St Albans”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have been to pretty much every restaurant in St Albans and I have to say this is by far the best, went here last night for my 2nd wedding anniversary, having got a great deal on groupon, and not only is the food very well priced but stunning as well, the lobster, steak, sides and calamari were the best I have had not just in St Albans but ever, the lobster was tender and meaty, the steak was perfection and the chips were crispy but soft at the same time, as a good cook myself I was jealous. The service was amazing, the wine list was fantastic, a beautiful Chilean for £18 was a bargain and you could not look for a better place, I will be coming back here again and again and will be recommending to all my friends and family.....love it

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTL14, Manager at Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words about Olive Tree Lounge. We are doing our best to ensure we provide our customers with what they are looking for. We look forward to serving you again in the future! Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not a great evening”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is not the place to go if you want a relaxing Saturday night. On calling for a reservation we were told 8.45pm. On arrival the restaurant had a few tables with people and one large table with about 25-30 guests. The large party was very noisy and we moved tables but being a smallish restaurant the noise was still terrible. We waited quite a while for menus and the food when it eventually came was mediocre. I had the lamb cutlets and wasn't asked how I like it cooked. Consequently they came very pink which isn't my favourite way to eat lamb. My one tip before you book is to make sure there are no big parties on the evening you wish to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTL14, Manager at Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We apologise for the service you have received, we take every critique constructively in order to ensure we can get it right next time and for our future customers.
We apologise again and hope to see you in the where we have improved in these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I can't understand how anyone could give this place a bad review.
Me and my friend went for dinner here for the first time last night and was pleasantly surprised, the decor is lovely, the staff are amazing and the food is beautiful! I was very happy with the presentation of the food. We had scallops and a cheese and tomato tart for starters neither of which I could fault then We both ordered steak and lobster with sides for the main course. It was delicious the waiter even helped us crack the lobster claw as we couldn't. I will definitely be visiting again! The food and staff are a credit to this place truly worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTL14, Manager at Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We hope to see you more regularly. And we are overwhelmed with all the great reviews. We strive to give you the highest level of service and food and we are glad you had a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Tree Lounge - Bar | Grill also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing