We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Albans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Old Fighting Cocks
Ranked #7 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stopped in for a bite and ordered a burger. Burger was tasty though I've had better chips. The interior seemed cozy and clean though the smokers seem to make a bit of a mess outside. Not a bad place for food and drink. Also a little history tie in as they are one of several pubs who claim to be the oldest in England.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank arizona223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

Visited pub on 6th October 2012, dog friendly pub, went there with friends, friendly staff, very busy pub, we didn't have any food as we had already booked a table at the six bells, but from what we saw it looked very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank allyabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

What a lovely surprise to have such good freshly prepared food - we had the whitebait - with crisp light seemingly homemade batter, amazing stuffed mushroom, best fish (really big and flaky) and chips. The beer went down a treat too - we walked the dogs through the park and by the lakes, and then were able to take them to the pub as well!
We also went for Sunday lunch - what a good pub Sunday lunch - with many sorts of vegetables and plenty of good quality meat with tasty home-cooked gravy.
I thoroughly recommend the pub - we went a few years ago and it was average then - we just went for the location and character rather than the food etc. Now under this new management things seem amazing - and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc-and-Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Disregard all the previous reviews that slated this pub, this place is under new ownership, and it shows! Lovely atmosphere, great beer, clean loos, fabulous location, very good staff. Will definitely be visiting often now that we've moved to St Albans.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We used to be here many an evening or afternoon and hadn't been back for about 6 years when we popped in to see some friends play in their music 'open mike' Friday day last month.

So, how is it doing? Well, it is certainly a lot cleaner and smells nicer than we remember, it really was quite grundgy before! There also wasn't so much of the old 'local pub for local people head turning' going on which was nice, now that we are outsiders. For the music evening it was ideal, warm and friendly. I did chuckle at the lovely but highly impractical new upholstery on the chairs and benches - someone has their work but out keeping that lot presentable, but so far so good!

We popped back the following Sunday after a picnic in the park for a quick drink and with it being a sunny day the place was packed. Once we were in the garden though, it became apparent that a good proportion of the folks in there were for a family occasion (Christening I think) and we could quite easily have just sat down at one of their tables! No matter - everyone was having a good time.

It is good to see the place alive and kicking but I do get the feeling that it has an identity crisis and agree with some other reviews that they should have some real ales and interesting bar options for customers - the CAMRA head office is IN ST Albans after all! Perhaps have a look at what similar establishments are doing - like raspberry wine and fruit ciders as specials to offer some interesting alternatives?

We didn't eat so cannot comment on the food but they used to do a wicked roast on Sundays!

Good luck Ye Fighting Cocks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aengusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Popped in on a Thursday lunch time with a friend for a drink and something to eat. The first thing about the menu that struck me was that it was rather limited. No sandwiches, baguettes, etc and it was all very expensive for pub fayre.

Anyhow after a very long wait (25 mins) the homemade burger and chips arrived. Wish I hadn't bothered, it was presented in an awful bread bun and the chips were tasteless and in my opinion, overpriced and not good value for money. I did laugh to myself when I saw the bill 'Gratuities' (must be joking)!

The plus side was that the place was pretty empty inside most of the time. Outside is very scruffy - cigarette butts - yuk!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cat4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

It's almost so busy at weekends (good thing right?) that they can't really cope so mistakes happen. We normally go at about 6:30 or 7pm on a tuesay or wednesdaybas the food is spot on and as its a bit quieter, the service is much better too. The food is great in my opinion, and I'm no real ale drinker but the Beer and wine is always cold so that's what matters right?

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Toby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#4 of 15 in St Albans
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fleuchary House No. 29
Fleuchary House No. 29
#1 of 15 in St Albans
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Fighting Cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Fighting Cocks

Address: 16 Abbey Mill Lane, St Albans AL3 4HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Old Fighting Cocks 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks is Britain's oldest pub, set overlooking Verulamium park lake in the heart of St. Albans. Serving great food great wine and a fine selection of real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Old Fighting Cocks Hotel St. Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing