We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating”
Review of Verulamium Museum

Verulamium Museum
Ranked #5 of 49 things to do in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've visited this museum numerous times and it never gets old. The displays are well set out and interesting. There are interactive elements to keep kids (and adults) engaged throughout. The skeleton with accompanying video of his story is the highlight. Locals can get in for free.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    101
    24
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pity about the Parking”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Wonderful museum but it's a pity that parking is so difficult and expensive.

A great improvement on the old museum (which I visited in the 70s)

There were lavatories but I did NOT see a bathroom; I'm NOT sure why anybody would want a bathroom at a museum. We visited a Roman Bath-house in a ”replica“ roman town in the Netherlands a few years ago but visitors were NOT allowed to bathe.

Staff told us about the Roman Theatre a short walk away but NOT that it was run by a different organisation with a separate entrance fee. If we had known we would have gone on a different day.

I will go again (but on a day without school parties)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colonel_JB_Ormsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and fascinating”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Makes (mostly roman) history interesting with not too much too read, but enough to while away a few hours. Fun exhibits for the kids too

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A real sense of History”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

As in any museum, the artefacts are fascinating and well displayed. Unfortunately our visit was shared with a crowd of unruly children that forced us to cut it short.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and very well informed. The car park was handy and reasonably priced too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoyFancuttBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“interest guaranteed”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The exhibits are amazing and so many housed in a relatively small museum. Question sheets given to children at reception desk adds to their interest and enjoyment. Well worth a visit before or after a walk round the lake to see other roman ruins.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verulamium Museum also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Verulamium Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing