We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best plaice to be!”

The Ridgeway Fish Bar
Ranked #83 of 336 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Absolutely love The Ridgeway...don't actually live in St Albans itself but do travel for the the fish and chips!

Service is fantastic, it's clear that a lot of effort, commitment and heart goes into the running of the shop!

Never a bad experience as far as the food goes. Having been a bit of a fussy eater my entire life it's hard to find somewhere I really enjoy but the food is always cooked to perfection and definately wouldn't go elsewhere!

It's fish lickin' good! Would recommend any day!



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Demteke1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for The Ridgeway Fish Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I drive past closer chip shops to my home to go here. generous portions, top quality ingredients. The service is friendly and attentive. I have bought my food from here for years and and I have never had a bad meal. It can get busy at times but that proves how good the food is. Battered fish is tasty , light and not greasy, chips always taste fresh and pies are top quality, brilliant sauces as well. We have used them to cater for big social / corporate occasions and the owners have never let us down.I would not go anywhere else now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wonderinstarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

In a nutshell:

Fish - cod was thin, batter too thick and overcooked.

Chips - cold, undercooked and limp.

Mushy peas - soup like texture with very few peas although did taste of peas.

Complete disappointment. This was early doors on Good Friday thus I wouldn't expect the fish quality to be unusual, but maybe they had had a poor delivery.

Chap in front when asked if he wanted salt and vinegar, replied lots and lots and lots of both !!

Service was very friendly and very efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nagasaki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielTheRidgeway, Owner at The Ridgeway Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi there, thank you for your response. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us, and would like to apologise as this is not our usual standard. I will be the first one to admit that we can make mistakes and we do everything possible to ensure that these are very limited. I hope to serve you again soon and make sure you have a better experience with us. Thank you
Daniel (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Daniel and his crew go out of there way to be helpful and cook the best fish and chips and kebabs. They do get busy but food is cooked fresh and is worth the wait a special mention to Peter who knows my order off by heart

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hoofie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Ridgeway Fish bar serves well cooked fish and chips which afe tasty and not overly greasy. The portions are generous and good value. It is the well deserved recipients of a number of awards. They are proud to use local spuds and sustainable fish stocks
One problem- Its not in The Ridgeway but Wycombe Place/ Sherwood Avenue!!!!

2  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ridgeway Fish Bar also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Ridgeway Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing