We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best take-a-away coffee in St Albans”
Review of Hatch on the Go

Hatch on the Go
Ranked #36 of 332 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
467 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“The best take-a-away coffee in St Albans”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just had an excellent cappuccino from Hatch. The cappuccino was just the right temperature (so you could drink it soon after purchase), was tasty, had a nice smooth / velvety texture, was just the right strength and was finished with a light dusting of chocolate. In every aspect the cappuccino was 10 out 10. There was also a selection of cakes, food and some Tunnock’s Caramel biscuits (50p) and some Tunnock’s chocolate & marshmallow tea cakes (70p).

Hatch is just a small shop (near Costa in the Malting’s shopping arcade). It has no indoor seating, but there are a number of tables and a couple of benches outside.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING coffee”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hatch is a fabulous little cafe. I am so pleased that I came across it. It beats the other local coffee shops hands-down in taste, value and service. These guys know how to make coffee.

The sandwiches, cakes and soups are also delicious. This is definitely my favourite cafe in St Albans. If it's sunny (doesn't matter if it's cold - wear a jacket) sitting outside on the benches with a cup of great coffee is an absolute treat.

HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town & amazing food!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I work in St Albans, every day I seek out lunch from one of the many food selling outlets, but Hatch is the best one of the lot! Excellent coffee made by someone who appears to love what they're doing. The brownies are awesome and the sandwiches are straight out of a classic New York Deli. Love it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best hot chocolate”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hatch is for me the best coffee place in St Albans. I have been a number of times and coffee is always excellent and to a very high standard and very reasonably priced. Even better though is the hot chocolate which is insanely good - made from chocolate rather than powder. From now on whenever I am back in St Albans, this will be the only place I go to get my hot drinks and I will have to sample their food

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SEF1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“THE best ever brownies!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I travel to this place weekly just to get my hands on the most amazing brownies ever! Recommend to all the brownie lovers out there!

Helpful?
Thank Year2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hatch on the Go also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hatch on the Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing