We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moor Mill @ Bricket Wood more than a standard Premier Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Moor Mill @ Bricket Wood more than a standard Premier Inn.”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

You know what to expect from a Premier Inn,but this one has the addition of a working mill with ducks,geese,moor hens & fish on the property.
There are train links via Bricket Wood,Radlett,Stanmore or Edgeware Road & a taxi into Radlett costs approximately £5 (one way).There are a couple of pubs, a choice of restaurants & minimarkets/shops in Radlett with Elstree/St Alban's in close proximity also.
We have stayed here many times & have enjoyed the experiences, especially when Chelsea play well & win!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    213
    74
    30
    21
See reviews for
273
179
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our reason for staying was to visit the Harry Potter Studio Tour, this hotel is in a fab location (15 mins from studio) and about the same into St Albans centre.

Our first thoughts when driving up to the hotel was that it didn't look or feel like your usual Premier Inn, the surroundings were lovely. The hotel itself is a wooded panelled building that fits in well with the converted old mill (now the Beefeater Restaurant).

Our greeting at the hotel was excellent, the friendly front of house were so lovely especially to my 18 month old son. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they even offered to keep my sons milk in their staff fridge and it was never a hassle to them to fetch it even when really busy.

We had a family room (room 3)' and this was a good spacious comfortable room, the staff had already sets the travel cot up for us. Much to our surprise (and my sons excitement) our room overlooked a stable with some horses close to our window which made us feel like we were in a country hotel. There was 2 large towels for each of us including my son and plenty of tea and coffee facilities. My only criticism would be the room was a little chilly at times but once the thermostat was cranked up it was fine.

When going to explore the grounds and find the restaurant for dinner, we saw a cute little duck pond with a food dispenser costing 20p for a handful. It's safe to say my son enjoyed this no end and we spent quite a lot if time by the ducks. We also came across a little play area, not a very big one admittedly but great to entertain the little ones for 10 mins or so after dinner.

We then went for an evening meal at the Beefeater, we found this very reasonably priced and the food was very nice. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. The building itself was full of character with a working mill wheel still in use.

Our night was very peaceful and quite, this didn't surprise me giving the location. We had breakfast the next day and it was beautiful, although found it quite pricey at over £8 each. Te next morning we had the continental breakfast which was just as filling.

All in all we had a fantastic stay with trips into St Albans and Willows Farm Village all within 15 minutes of the hotel. If I was visiting the area again I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyN1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here (2 adults, 4 kids) in 2 family rooms! Check in was quick. We were in rooms 8 and 12 which are in the main block. We wanted to be close to Warner Bros Harry Potter studio tour and this suited us fine.

We are seasoned Premier Inn guests so we know what to expect and the rooms were fine. Clean and tidy. We had a double bed and 2 single beds in each room. Plenty of extra pillows. Plenty of towels. Tea and coffee stuff, hairdryer, TV etc.

I found room 8 to be a bit chilly and couldn't get the temperature to stay higher than 18 degrees...it seems to be on a default setting so the heat didn't stay for long. My partner said the same about room 12. But to be fair I like the room cool whilst I sleep and we just got dressed quickly the next morning.

We paid for 2 adults breakfast (all 4 kids were free) usual selection of cereal, fruit juice, toast and of course full english, all hot and plentiful.

Really can't fault this stay it cost us £74 inc breakfast. Probably not the best Premier Inn we've stayed in but no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We arrived late afternoon on a VERY COLD day on Friday 22 February. When we arrived our room it was freezing. My husband went to reception and a young lady came and told us to put the heating on higher. When after sitting for ten min in our coats we went again to say we were VERY cold. The answer we were given was that we could have arrived at 11p.m. and the heating would have been on all that time and us not there. We could have arrived from 2 onwards and I feel the room should have been ready and warm for that time. We said we were not happy and did not wish to stay. This was agreed on but left me in a panick since we had to find another place and knew nothing about the area. My husband had a meeting in the area the following day. Lucky to say we found a warm hotel not far away and payed £2 per night more TO INCLUDE BREAKFAST. My first and last experience of Premier Inn

Room Tip: Did not stay. Dont go in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cymraes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests receive a warm welcome in a clean and comfortable environment, I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be investigated with our Management Team. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed as a family using 2 rooms the night before we went to Harry Potter Studio's, we had a lovely meal in the Beefeater restaurant which has lovely historic features and is built round a working water wheel. A good nights sleep was had even though quite close to the motorway it was not noisy.The breakfast was very nice with buffet cereal, juice, muffins etc and a full english plated up. We were just 15 mins drive from the HP Studio's and a very simple car run. Only regret is we didn't stay 2 nights to make the most of the lovely setting of the hotel and maybe a trip into St Albans.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed at this Premier Inn after a Guy Fawkes display in St Albans (delayed review I know). Off the beaten path with no passing traffic, we were very impressed with the location and character of the building, a real breath of fresh air compared to the lego-like chain hotels of London. The reception welcome was a little cold, night staff just counting down the hours but no real issue there. We dropped off our bags and nipped straight to the on-site restaurant which was definitely our most positive experience of the stay. Designed around an old water mill, this restaurant only added to our surprise at the amount of character a Premier Inn could pack in, and the waiting staff were superb, far exceeding expectations. After a lovely meal we retired to our room which, unfortunately, was cold (as in temperature). We turned the thermostat up to max but the room remained chilly all night. This was perhaps our only complaint of the evening, and not a huge one.

In short, the Premier Inn St Albans is excellent value for money and will knock your socks off if you associate such chain hotels with bleak, generic experiences. If you're inn the area, drop on by.

Chris & Louisa

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_and_Lou_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Room was nice and staff very friendly. Our room had a few down sides, the bathroom door didn't shut properly, luckily we weren't too phased by this but others will be. We also only had 1 towel between 2 adults even though I stated 2 adults on the booking. There was also no shower gel in the dispenser and the shower dripped, of course we couldn't just shut the door to the bathroom to block out the noise because it didn't shut! BUT it was perfect for what we needed. We had a good quiet nights sleep, ate a nice enough meal at the beefeater and it was really easy to get to. Everything you would expect really! Although our top tip is: don't use the milk in the rooms, we had stomach cramps after drinking a few mouthfuls and it tasted awful! Take your own milk if you really want a brew.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewardsyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing